User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 2, 2012
    In "Elephants... Teeth Sinking Into Heart" Rachael Yamagata approaches heartbreak from a darker and developed perspective - in comparison with her debut album "Happenstance" - as one who's been through heartache and is aware of the dangers and deceptions of love, yet finds herself in a place where she's willing to try. Blues, experimental rock ballads (characterized by the constant, but never unappealing reverberating guitar) and her signature piano pop make "Elephants... Teeth Sinking Into Heart" a complete album that should not be missed by anyone. Expand

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. The first disc, Elephants, pitches its tent closer to the Happenstance camp with lushly textured ballads, while Teeth Sinking Into Heart plays up the singer's debt to rock artists like PJ Harvey. The latter CD is the biggest surprise here, as it displays a swaggering confidence that wasn't as evident on Yamagata's previous releases.
  2. On the first part (Elephants), she sticks to brooding breakup ballads with long, languid piano chords and lush string arrangements, the perfect soundtrack for the lovesick....The mood changes radically on the second part, when Yamagata emerges with gritty, garage-rock tunes a la PJ Harvey, delivering defiant hooks with the energy of someone taking revenge.
  3. The result is a slog that'll have you reaching for the happy pills. That said, Yamagata's delivery is gorgeous.