Eminem Presents: The Re-Up Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Originally intended as an underground mixtape, this Eminem-curated disc--which includes 7 songs performed by Mr. Mathers himself, as well as cuts featuring 50 Cent, Lloyd Banks, Obie Trice and Bizarre--wound up with an official release.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. There's plenty of unfocused bluster here, but enough taut cuts to make up for the cameos from... D12. [15 Dec 2006, p.87]
  2. A glorified mix-tape... sprawling with lots of throwaway songs and loaded with interludes
  3. The Re-Up has plenty of that serious heat that influenced Eminem to go aboveground with the release.
  4. Like a neglectful party host, [Eminem] keeps disappearing, leaving you to have your ear bent by some crashing dullard.
  5. If they've kept the good stuff back in the hope of better times, the decision was misguided; but if this is the best they can manage, the portents are, in the original sense of the word, ill.
  6. It's a crew album--of course it sucks. The depressing thing is how much. [28 Dec 2006, p.114]
  7. On his few appearances on “The Re-Up,” Em sounds completely lost, grasping for a new subject for his roving mind, or even for a reason to keep rapping.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 31
  2. Negative: 9 out of 31
  1. Dec 15, 2013
    Im going to go ahead and EXPOSE METACRITIC AS GARBAGE real quick, if anyone wants to stick around...

    Eminem goes unforgiving hard-as-nails
    in-your-face and mad-as-hell on MMLP1, and Metacritic slams him for being over the top. They claim the classic was a 78, and Yeezus, the ten song experimental embarrassment that Kanye can't get over 3.2 stars on Itunes, is an 85. Ok, fine.

    He lightens up on The Eminem Show, and Metacritic says it's too soft and they've heard it all before. 75.

    He mixes in other artists and dumbs down the "Slim Shady" persona on The Reup, and they absolutely trash it and say he's lost his voice. 50. A 50, supposedly a worse album than IANAHB 2.
    Do You Sense the Bullsh.it Yet.....

    He brings back Slim Shady as violent yet comedic as ever on Relapse, and they say he's forcing the issue. 59.

    He changes his content for the more mature, stays witty, address' his past demons and shows immense growth as an artist on Recovery, and they say he's boring. 63.

    THEN, on MMLP2, he combines Recovery, MMLP, and the Eminem Show in an experimental, mature, hard-as-nails, yet emotional reflection on his career, and they give it a 73. Thats 7 points worse than Teflon Don, by Rick Ross.

  2. Oct 13, 2010
    After being inactive for two years since Encore (he wasnt totally inactive, he produced for some other artists) and only dropping three new songs on a compilation album, its obvious hearing about this album brought about some major excitement. To the dismay of that excitement, you see very little of what you were excited about: hearing a lot from Eminem. Despite that element of possible disappointment, you do get a few fresh new faces and also some familiar ones which you may actually be glad to see (especially if you are a fan of Aftermath/Shady/Interscope). The new faces are Bobby Creekwater and Ca$his both of whom show an amount of promise. Creekwater is your smooth-spoken rapper with a laid back flow which is all his own as he builds it with major attitude and cleverness which he displays well on his only solo cut "There He Is". His cameo on the Smack That remix was even a step ahead, as Creekwater shows some craftiness. Ca$his, the more swaggering of the two new faces, gets two solo cuts: "Everything Is Shady" & "Talkin All That" which sound a bit too similar and dry. Ca$his shines his best on the remix of "Cry Now" in which he really brings it to the point where it seems he wasnt even trying his best on his solo cuts. As for your familiar faces, Eminem doesnt really disappoint here. Only problems here are some collabos. The title track & "Jimmy Crack Corn" couldve been done by Em alone, being that 50 Cent doesnt being anything special in either song. Fortunately we get Eminem all alone for the final track "No Apologies" which is quite a good track which sees Em slightly returning to The Eminem Show-style agression. The members of D12 are overall ok on this album. "Whatever You Want" proves to be the best song conjured by the group while "Murder" is mediocre at best. The tribute to Proof may have been short (clocking in at only 58 seconds) unlike some short tracks, it isnt useless, boring filler. Some wonder why there arent any mash-ups with original Proof songs and the members of D12. The answer being Eminem deemed it not "fair to them (the new artists) or to the memory of Proof to mix them up". One of the biggest and best tracks on the album is "By My Side" by Stat Quo, who displays a sketchy yet interesting flow accompanied by a sort of call-response finish chrous which is tiresomely catchy and fits greatly with the entire song. While this isnt a full length solo Eminem comeback, it still is worth a listen. Expand
  3. Feb 4, 2012
    this was ok but Eminem, didnt deliver as much as he should of. I love his work but this was worse than Relapse (Not that Relapse Is Bad most people think it is) I like some songs from D12 & Ca$his too bad Ca$his left Shady Records. Em if you make another mixtape with Shady Write better lyrics Expand
  4. Apr 12, 2013
    WTF is this because I know its not like Eminem at all. Fans everywhere should be pissed by this album that brought Eminem to his feet. Again this album DOES NOT have the Eminem feel. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews