Eminem Presents: The Re-Up

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 127 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 127
  2. Negative: 27 out of 127

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 11, 2015
    8
    ok.............................................................................................................................................................
  2. May 8, 2015
    7
    Good album, all of the beats are decent and there is a few great ones, the guests are in general very good, but Eminem clearly was on his all-time low on this album, it is named after him, but he is barely there and when he is, it is just physically. 2004-2008 was a rough time for him and it really shows on the quality of his music, but still, that guy is a musical genius, he can't makeGood album, all of the beats are decent and there is a few great ones, the guests are in general very good, but Eminem clearly was on his all-time low on this album, it is named after him, but he is barely there and when he is, it is just physically. 2004-2008 was a rough time for him and it really shows on the quality of his music, but still, that guy is a musical genius, he can't make bad music... Expand
  3. Mar 21, 2015
    9
    9/10 .................................................................................................................................................
  4. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    Im going to go ahead and EXPOSE METACRITIC AS GARBAGE real quick, if anyone wants to stick around...

    Eminem goes unforgiving hard-as-nails in-your-face and mad-as-hell on MMLP1, and Metacritic slams him for being over the top. They claim the classic was a 78, and Yeezus, the ten song experimental embarrassment that Kanye can't get over 3.2 stars on Itunes, is an 85. Ok, fine. He
    Im going to go ahead and EXPOSE METACRITIC AS GARBAGE real quick, if anyone wants to stick around...

    Eminem goes unforgiving hard-as-nails in-your-face and mad-as-hell on MMLP1, and Metacritic slams him for being over the top. They claim the classic was a 78, and Yeezus, the ten song experimental embarrassment that Kanye can't get over 3.2 stars on Itunes, is an 85. Ok, fine.

    He lightens up on The Eminem Show, and Metacritic says it's too soft and they've heard it all before. 75.

    He mixes in other artists and dumbs down the "Slim Shady" persona on The Reup, and they absolutely trash it and say he's lost his voice. 50. A 50, supposedly a worse album than IANAHB 2.
    Do You Sense the Bullsh.it Yet.....

    He brings back Slim Shady as violent yet comedic as ever on Relapse, and they say he's forcing the issue. 59.

    He changes his content for the more mature, stays witty, address' his past demons and shows immense growth as an artist on Recovery, and they say he's boring. 63.

    THEN, on MMLP2, he combines Recovery, MMLP, and the Eminem Show in an experimental, mature, hard-as-nails, yet emotional reflection on his career, and they give it a 73. Thats 7 points worse than Teflon Don, by Rick Ross.

    METACRITIC: WHAT THE ACTUAL ARE YOU DOING.
    Expand
  5. Apr 12, 2013
    0
    WTF is this because I know its not like Eminem at all. Fans everywhere should be pissed by this album that brought Eminem to his feet. Again this album DOES NOT have the Eminem feel.
  6. Feb 4, 2012
    5
    this was ok but Eminem, didnt deliver as much as he should of. I love his work but this was worse than Relapse (Not that Relapse Is Bad most people think it is) I like some songs from D12 & Ca$his too bad Ca$his left Shady Records. Em if you make another mixtape with Shady Write better lyrics
  7. Oct 13, 2010
    7
    After being inactive for two years since Encore (he wasnt totally inactive, he produced for some other artists) and only dropping three new songs on a compilation album, its obvious hearing about this album brought about some major excitement. To the dismay of that excitement, you see very little of what you were excited about: hearing a lot from Eminem. Despite that element of possibleAfter being inactive for two years since Encore (he wasnt totally inactive, he produced for some other artists) and only dropping three new songs on a compilation album, its obvious hearing about this album brought about some major excitement. To the dismay of that excitement, you see very little of what you were excited about: hearing a lot from Eminem. Despite that element of possible disappointment, you do get a few fresh new faces and also some familiar ones which you may actually be glad to see (especially if you are a fan of Aftermath/Shady/Interscope). The new faces are Bobby Creekwater and Ca$his both of whom show an amount of promise. Creekwater is your smooth-spoken rapper with a laid back flow which is all his own as he builds it with major attitude and cleverness which he displays well on his only solo cut "There He Is". His cameo on the Smack That remix was even a step ahead, as Creekwater shows some craftiness. Ca$his, the more swaggering of the two new faces, gets two solo cuts: "Everything Is Shady" & "Talkin All That" which sound a bit too similar and dry. Ca$his shines his best on the remix of "Cry Now" in which he really brings it to the point where it seems he wasnt even trying his best on his solo cuts. As for your familiar faces, Eminem doesnt really disappoint here. Only problems here are some collabos. The title track & "Jimmy Crack Corn" couldve been done by Em alone, being that 50 Cent doesnt being anything special in either song. Fortunately we get Eminem all alone for the final track "No Apologies" which is quite a good track which sees Em slightly returning to The Eminem Show-style agression. The members of D12 are overall ok on this album. "Whatever You Want" proves to be the best song conjured by the group while "Murder" is mediocre at best. The tribute to Proof may have been short (clocking in at only 58 seconds) unlike some short tracks, it isnt useless, boring filler. Some wonder why there arent any mash-ups with original Proof songs and the members of D12. The answer being Eminem deemed it not "fair to them (the new artists) or to the memory of Proof to mix them up". One of the biggest and best tracks on the album is "By My Side" by Stat Quo, who displays a sketchy yet interesting flow accompanied by a sort of call-response finish chrous which is tiresomely catchy and fits greatly with the entire song. While this isnt a full length solo Eminem comeback, it still is worth a listen. Expand
  8. TristD
    Feb 3, 2010
    6
    Too bad eminem couldn't be on all the raps.
  9. DreH
    Jun 23, 2009
    2
    Being a fan of Eminem does not make this a good album.
  10. DavidV.
    Sep 18, 2007
    10
    Way better then what it got!!!
  11. AnthonyH.
    Sep 10, 2007
    9
    For a mixtape this is pretty hot. Lyrically the other guy's bring nothing new or creative except for Obie Trice, but the beats save them. But Eminem owns on No Apologies it's one of the best tracks ive ever heard period.
  12. GaryP
    May 4, 2007
    10
    It is the best em album i've ever heard although it could have used more solo eminem songs this one is a definite keeper and is gonna be a huge hit Songs worth listening We're Bac The Re-up You Don't Know Jimmy Crack Corn Murder Pistol pistol remix Whatever you want By My Side We Ride for Shady Smack That Remix Public Enemy #1 Get Low Shake That Remix Ski Mask Way Remix Cry It is the best em album i've ever heard although it could have used more solo eminem songs this one is a definite keeper and is gonna be a huge hit Songs worth listening We're Bac The Re-up You Don't Know Jimmy Crack Corn Murder Pistol pistol remix Whatever you want By My Side We Ride for Shady Smack That Remix Public Enemy #1 Get Low Shake That Remix Ski Mask Way Remix Cry Now Remix No Apologies( The Best eminem song ever) Buy this CD Expand
  13. HondoJ
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    Mr. Mathers returns to drop some serious science on all suckah MC's who still doubt his rhyming skillz. Even the most jaded and cynical hip-hop fan will be compelled to proclaim Em's latest effort as completely dope, and some may even say it is the bomb.
  14. jasonc
    Feb 19, 2007
    9
    they have got the most best rapers in the world rapping all together. it's the buissnes.
  15. ewardg
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    i like the elbombs
  16. MicahY
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    I am extremely disapointed with the reviews of this album. I think Eminem is one of the most talented and innovative artists in Hip-Hop. I agree that some of the tracks should be skipped over but the ones that he is on prove to be both lyrically and performally some of the best I've heard....compared to the rest of the new-age hip-hop pop era.
  17. MikeS.
    Jan 29, 2007
    0
    Eminem is a shadow of his former self and continues to lessen his quality of material with each release
  18. TimL
    Jan 26, 2007
    0
    Honestly it's quite satirical that the people giving this album a 10 can't spell artist right. I can usually listen to music I don't like, and make it through... but this was just ridiculously bad. I had to turn it off. Also, should it really get title of an "eminem album" if he only appears on a few songs?
  19. CJKing
    Jan 23, 2007
    10
    Awesome album
  20. AlexS
    Jan 21, 2007
    0
    a friend lent this to me, i listened for about 10 seconds, fast forward, skip, fast forward.... nothing... it was all a big joke i guess. good thing i didnt buy it.
  21. elbartos
    Jan 19, 2007
    10
    you must have respect for the true arttiest
  22. JohnF
    Jan 16, 2007
    10
    Fa sho
  23. bbb
    Jan 15, 2007
    1
    nothing new....same old thug mentality....they are now officially "has beens" ...i want my money back. yawn...
  24. DennisHopper
    Jan 14, 2007
    0
    This is epically bad.
  25. RandyB
    Jan 8, 2007
    10
    Literally one of the best. I have listened to few albums as good than this masterpiece.
  26. samm
    Dec 26, 2006
    3
    trash
  27. ChrisW
    Dec 25, 2006
    8
    Why are we reviewing a Mixtape? These are mostly demos and studio sessions that were worth saving along with a few hidden gems. This is not to be taken seriously as an artist album. The flow on this mixtape is good and has some great experiental pieces by talented rappers. Solid performances.
  28. ZiftK.
    Dec 22, 2006
    5
    Just not enough Eminem. I know it's not an album just for him, but, the only good thing is Eminem, and i'll even give it to 50. overall, very mediocre, only a few good songs. Download a few songs, this one's not worth your money.
  29. SeanC
    Dec 18, 2006
    10
    50 cent, Emienm, Cashis and Banks it doesn't get betta
  30. ayla
    Dec 15, 2006
    10
    really enjoyed everyone on the album not just the big rappers like eminem and 50 but songs by the newest shady rappers are very good too. overall i would say a good compilation album.
  31. BigTomCasual
    Dec 13, 2006
    7
    It still feels like EM is still searching for something to inspire him again. The mixtape approach is pretty good for now, until he gets enough passion/creativity going for a potential whole album. Overall, there is a lot of throw-away here, but some of tracks are great. "No Apologies" is like a new take on "Rock Bottom".
  32. ShaunM
    Dec 13, 2006
    7
    This album is aiight, kinda tired of 50 singing and I'm not a fan of stat or any member of D-12 so that should tell you something about my rating. I like the tracks with the new guy Bobby Creekwater and Cashis is cool. The Eminem tracks are heaters and can't go worng with an Akon track. If your a fan of any of the Shady or G-Unit members you should definately pick this album up.
  33. StevenM
    Dec 13, 2006
    5
    After listening to this album 2wice over fully and a few songs (the one's with eminem in particular) i have to say im very dissapointed. The opening track with Em/Obie/Cashis/BobbyCreek is blazing! If all the tracks on this tape was like this i would easily giv it a 9 or 10 but unfortunatly they're not. Tracks with the lesser known MCs are solid raps, but for songs that stand After listening to this album 2wice over fully and a few songs (the one's with eminem in particular) i have to say im very dissapointed. The opening track with Em/Obie/Cashis/BobbyCreek is blazing! If all the tracks on this tape was like this i would easily giv it a 9 or 10 but unfortunatly they're not. Tracks with the lesser known MCs are solid raps, but for songs that stand out on there own, there is nothing really shining.. When i listen to Eminem, i really enjoy his technique, but his subject matter and fake-gangster bravado seems unfitting and pretentious just to fit in with the rest of his camp. 4 or 5 great songs but the rest are throwaways, which is not good enough from the most prestegius roster in hip-hop 2day..BRING ON NAS'S New LP, Hip Hop isnt dead but with weakness like this - it sure is on its last legs in the mainstream Stevemodeen@aol.com Expand
  34. JohnD
    Dec 13, 2006
    2
    One of the worst albums of the year. Insulting to the intelligence, and fails to live up to its concept (50 Cent leaves the new kids on the block in the dust, making us not care about the fresh meat, which this album was designed to show off).
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. The Re-Up has plenty of that serious heat that influenced Eminem to go aboveground with the release.
  2. Billboard
    70
    Despite meticulous production, "The Re-Up" retains some of the spare, raw feel of an underground release. [16 Dec 2006]
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    There's plenty of unfocused bluster here, but enough taut cuts to make up for the cameos from... D12. [15 Dec 2006, p.87]