EP-1 - Pixies
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 14, 2013
    8
    Eh? I don't get it? Why all the negativity? I thought there were 4 great songs here, very Trompe le Monde with modern production. I just don't... Is it bitterness at Kim Deal leaving? Is it the fear that they will ruin their legacy? I don't know, I don't understand why it's being slated. What is this nonsense about their legacy anyway? Nobody was worried when MBV came out, everyone wasEh? I don't get it? Why all the negativity? I thought there were 4 great songs here, very Trompe le Monde with modern production. I just don't... Is it bitterness at Kim Deal leaving? Is it the fear that they will ruin their legacy? I don't know, I don't understand why it's being slated. What is this nonsense about their legacy anyway? Nobody was worried when MBV came out, everyone was euphoric and slightly demented with excitement, no talk about ruining the legacy of Loveless then, so why now? A band reforms, makes some music, it sounds good.... It doesn't risk ruinin gtheir legacy in any way, those albums are not going anywhere. Wake up in 2013 people Expand
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    The haters raise the issue of Pixies' "legacy." What is that legacy? An evolution of increasingly intricate, textured songs with impossibly gorgeous hooks. That's what you get with this EP. Even the relatively weak What Goes Boom stands up to heavy repeat listening. Indie Cindy will be the standout on this set deservedly so, it's instantly addicting, demanding repeat listenings fromThe haters raise the issue of Pixies' "legacy." What is that legacy? An evolution of increasingly intricate, textured songs with impossibly gorgeous hooks. That's what you get with this EP. Even the relatively weak What Goes Boom stands up to heavy repeat listening. Indie Cindy will be the standout on this set deservedly so, it's instantly addicting, demanding repeat listenings from the get go but Another Toe may be the most lovely bubble gum song (and you haters, remember "Here Comes Your Man" and "Digging for Fire"? Bubble gum!) ever made deceptively simple on the first listen, and it just grows, like a rose, on repeat listens. Thank you Pixies! Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    7
    Most of the reviews of this record are garbage. If you're expecting The Pixies to sound like they did on their first 2 records... forget it. Change your expectations. If you've been following Frank Black over the years this EP makes complete sense and is truly enjoyable. This one is more for fans of songs in the vein of Abstract Plain than for those expecting more Crackity Jones. This EPMost of the reviews of this record are garbage. If you're expecting The Pixies to sound like they did on their first 2 records... forget it. Change your expectations. If you've been following Frank Black over the years this EP makes complete sense and is truly enjoyable. This one is more for fans of songs in the vein of Abstract Plain than for those expecting more Crackity Jones. This EP is a nice treat and bodes well for the future of the band's now more mature song-writing styles, which may not be everyone's thing. Expand
  4. Sep 19, 2013
    7
    While I agree it is not the best stuff they have done, Indie City and Andro Queen are pretty top notch tunes. What Goes Boom and Another Toe in the Ocean are the weaker songs, but still a good, honest effort. Franks lyrics still make you think and Joey Santiago still rules on guitar. 7.5/10
  5. Oct 13, 2013
    8
    Why have the critics slammed this? I think they've got it totally wrong, I love it. This is actually a very enjoyable set of songs from the Pixies. Andro Queen is a very pretty song, not typical Pixies but still a great song. The processed vocals lend it a spacy, out-of-world vibe. Indie Cindie has more of the shifting dynamic emelemts of a Pixies song, it would not be out of place onWhy have the critics slammed this? I think they've got it totally wrong, I love it. This is actually a very enjoyable set of songs from the Pixies. Andro Queen is a very pretty song, not typical Pixies but still a great song. The processed vocals lend it a spacy, out-of-world vibe. Indie Cindie has more of the shifting dynamic emelemts of a Pixies song, it would not be out of place on Tromp Le Monde. Another Toe in the Ocean is slightly filler-ish but still pretty decent and stands up just fine as part of this 4 set EP. What Goes Boom is a heavier crunchier Pixies song, again it would fit in quite well on Tromp Le Monde. Overall it's a very enjoyable set of songs, well worthy of the Pixies name. I'm a bit lukewarm on Black's solo stuff but this new Pixies stuff is good. The critics that are looking back at the past glories with rose tinted glasses need to be taken with a pinch of salt. I hope the Pixies put out more stuff like this because they definately still got it! Expand
  6. Jul 23, 2014
    8
    I hope Black Francis doesn't read his reviews, otherwise he may decide putting out new Pixies material just isn't worth the hassle. If that happens, we'll all be worse off. The more I listen to new Pixies material the more I like it. Having seen it played live has further enhanced it. EP1 follows Trompe Le Monde perfectly and the material on show here is not a million miles from that lastI hope Black Francis doesn't read his reviews, otherwise he may decide putting out new Pixies material just isn't worth the hassle. If that happens, we'll all be worse off. The more I listen to new Pixies material the more I like it. Having seen it played live has further enhanced it. EP1 follows Trompe Le Monde perfectly and the material on show here is not a million miles from that last Pixies album. I think the track sequencing is the biggest flaw I find with this release. "Andro Queen" and "Another Toe" are decent space rock and indie rock respectively but pale next to the other two tracks on the release. "Indie Cindy" is the EP's standout track and certainly doesn't sound out of place when played live next to the old Pixies stuff. "What Goes Boom" is typical later Pixies. heavy rock verse followed by pop rock chorus. I will say this for all the new Pixies music - if another band had released this stuff without the burden of a legacy such as the Pixies, then it would be critically received with open arms. Expand
  7. Jan 10, 2014
    8
    Great EP. Really don't get where all the critical hate is coming from. If you like Pixies at all, don't hesitate in picking this up. Does it have the same bite as some of their earlier material? Not at all. But that doesn't preclude it from being great.
  8. Apr 2, 2014
    8
    This short taste of what the pixies can do these days sounded way off base to me at first. But after a few more listens it definitely grew on me. It sounds a bit more like Tromp le monde and Frank Blacks solo stuff than their earlier albums. Although I don't think the band could regain that raw twisted sound of there first albums as they are older now and music changes with life. TheThis short taste of what the pixies can do these days sounded way off base to me at first. But after a few more listens it definitely grew on me. It sounds a bit more like Tromp le monde and Frank Blacks solo stuff than their earlier albums. Although I don't think the band could regain that raw twisted sound of there first albums as they are older now and music changes with life. The absence of Kim Deal is always going to effect their music for me, her haunting backing vocals was one of the things that drew me to the pixies originally. All in all not a bad start I loved "another Toe in the ocean". Expand
  9. Sep 27, 2013
    3
    I have been listening to the Pixies for more than a decade and I must say, the Pixies never sounded this weak and uninspired. It is not just Kim Deal absence that is felt here, the (trippy) lyrics, the guitar sound (that amazing guitar sound, remember?), everything else is just unappealing. In fact, these songs are closer to Frank Black solo material than Pixies related. The thing is,I have been listening to the Pixies for more than a decade and I must say, the Pixies never sounded this weak and uninspired. It is not just Kim Deal absence that is felt here, the (trippy) lyrics, the guitar sound (that amazing guitar sound, remember?), everything else is just unappealing. In fact, these songs are closer to Frank Black solo material than Pixies related. The thing is, calling his fellow musicians to play a Frank Black album doesn't make it a Pixies one, at all. It's ok if a band changes their sound, trying to pursue something new, but in this album my rock and roll heroes failed miserably, and I can accept that. Expand
  10. Oct 16, 2013
    7
    Agreeing with other user reviews. This EP is pretty solid, if not quite reaching the heights of their classic era. Kim Deal's presence is definitely missed, but then again she was barely there on records like Trompe le Monde anyway. Trompe is actually the perfect comparison point for this EP. Those songs were solid, if not Doolittle-quality awesomeness. At any rate, this EP is far from theAgreeing with other user reviews. This EP is pretty solid, if not quite reaching the heights of their classic era. Kim Deal's presence is definitely missed, but then again she was barely there on records like Trompe le Monde anyway. Trompe is actually the perfect comparison point for this EP. Those songs were solid, if not Doolittle-quality awesomeness. At any rate, this EP is far from the embarrassment that most critics make it out to be. I've been enjoying it for the past few weeks, and am excited for what else the Pixies have in store. Expand
  11. Jan 14, 2014
    8
    Great tunes as usual from Frank Black and cohorts, even without Kim Deal. It doesn't sound just like the Pixies did 20 years ago and it doesn't need to. The point is that the Pixies are back together and making music and, amazingly, they still rock. Some, including most critics it seems, won't be able to get over a re-invigorated Pixies 20 years later, no matter what they do. Others, whoGreat tunes as usual from Frank Black and cohorts, even without Kim Deal. It doesn't sound just like the Pixies did 20 years ago and it doesn't need to. The point is that the Pixies are back together and making music and, amazingly, they still rock. Some, including most critics it seems, won't be able to get over a re-invigorated Pixies 20 years later, no matter what they do. Others, who do like Frank Black's solo stuff also, though not as much as the Pixies, will find this to be great new Frank Black + material and pretty damn good new Pixies material. My fave track on this one is "What Goes Boom" and I think this EP is better than EP2 but I like both. Excited to eventually see them live playing these songs and the classics. I'm really happy for the band to be taking the leap and making new material despite the criticism, expectations, and general naysaying. This is the Pixies, and it's not at all like Smashing Pumpkins 2.0. Expand
  12. Jan 22, 2014
    3
    There were a couple songs that sounded like decent but generic rock, then at least one ("Indie Cindy") where the lyrics seemed so off and bad that it just made me cringe. It's hard to pinpoint exactly what is missing here, but there just a depth and cohesion in their older work that is totally lacking on this EP.
  13. Feb 6, 2014
    8
    The band is older, more mature.......different. The problem with disappearing for so long is that the fans cling to the old stuff and make it hard for new material to bust through. Nobody wants to hear The Rolling Stones new stuff when they perform. This is definitely different, like possibly a different band even, but they are beautiful songs, forsaking punk for a mellow, melodic sound.The band is older, more mature.......different. The problem with disappearing for so long is that the fans cling to the old stuff and make it hard for new material to bust through. Nobody wants to hear The Rolling Stones new stuff when they perform. This is definitely different, like possibly a different band even, but they are beautiful songs, forsaking punk for a mellow, melodic sound. Seeing them live for the first time in a week! Expand
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Jan 16, 2014
    50
    EP1 was a mixed bag.
  2. Dec 4, 2013
    60
    More late-or post-Pixies than early-Pixies, then. [Nov-Dec 2013, p.101]
  3. While it doesn’t reach the impossibly high standards of their back catalogue, there’s enough promise to suggest there are good times ahead.