Era Extrana

Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Oct 18, 2011
    60
    A three-part instrumental piece, named "Heart: Attach," brings a pleasant filmic quality to an album that elsewhere trades a little too heavily on nostalgia. [Nov 2011, p.94]
  2. Sep 20, 2011
    60
    While Palomo advances his songwriting by attempting a concept album, he fails to vary the songs enough to allow their inner essence to shine, to glow, to hook inside the listener, to haunt them.
  3. Sep 9, 2011
    60
    Complaining about a lack of hooks can be painted as unrefined, but frankly Era Extra├▒a hasn't shown me why it deserves hallowed deconstruction, it may be weightier, but there's absolutely no question which Neon Indian album has the most stick.
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    50
    That an artist's introversion sometimes has to come at the expense of catchy songs is fine. It's the record's lack of variation (a la playful ditties like "Laughing Gas") that weighs down the proverbial whole.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Feb 22, 2013
    9
    Whereas Psychic Chasms played on the more summer ridden, upbeat agenda, Era Extrana carries a sound that plays with cloudier tones. Its also aWhereas Psychic Chasms played on the more summer ridden, upbeat agenda, Era Extrana carries a sound that plays with cloudier tones. Its also a louder record at moments, displaying moments of energetic arena rock and noisy guitar riffs. The love of video games is still present and a welcoming flirtation with a bit of a dancier tone, particularly with "Polish Girl" and "Suns Irrupt." This is a wonderful follow-up that shows creative determination to make interesting music. Full Review »
  2. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    This album pushes Neon Indian's sound forward in a good direction. It continues to explore dreamy psychedelic electric textures, but theThis album pushes Neon Indian's sound forward in a good direction. It continues to explore dreamy psychedelic electric textures, but the production has been upped a bit and the songs are more emotional. They continue to infuse amazing interludes into a coherent album as they did on Psychic Chasms, but it is so much more fluid and engaging here. I listened to Psychic Chasms a lot, but this is just a huge step beyond that. Highlights to me are "Era Extrana" and "Future Sick", but the entire album is really top notch space pop in my opinion. Darker, more developed, and more enjoyable. I think Neon Indian aced it with this album. Full Review »
  3. Jan 8, 2012
    8
    It's a little odd for me how this album sounded muck alike MGMT's Oracular Spectacular. Despite that, it is a powerful continuation to theIt's a little odd for me how this album sounded muck alike MGMT's Oracular Spectacular. Despite that, it is a powerful continuation to the excellent "Psychic Chasms", but, in a second listening, the songs sound the same, like if they little pieces of a huge story. Can't wait for their third album. Full Review »