• Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Apr 4, 2011
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. It traverses a spacious, synth-dusted soundworld many future-dreampop miles from their girl-group and grit beginnings; the ambition will be a sonic shock to those who wanted the band to stay the 'working-class heroes' they wryly joke about being. It shouldn't, really.
  2. Apr 7, 2011
    90
    As lyrically profound as ever, yet with a tinge of detached romantiscm. Pioneers they remain.
  3. Apr 7, 2011
    80
    U2 producer Flood marshals the band's bulldozing energy into an altogether slicker sort of bombast, and admittedly there are moments (Dream Dream Dreaming and the seemingly endless build-up of Lots Sometimes) where the songs sound in danger of losing their way in the middle of it all.
  4. I've expressed a fair amount of negativity toward Euphoric Heartbreak, but Glasvegas are an endearing, though a bit try-hard, band, and Euphoric Heartbreak is an endearing, though a bit try-hard, album.
  5. May 6, 2011
    70
    Euphoric///Heartbreak is not an easy listen--as I've already alluded to, it's a convincing notion that this four-piece remain incapable of that--and while it is more theatrically anthemic than the first album, it is feels equally credible and sincere.
  6. Apr 29, 2011
    70
    Whether he's drunk on optimism or writhing in psychic pain, his relentless quest for enlightenment is gripping and inspiring.
  7. Apr 8, 2011
    70
    Neither a triumph nor a calamity, EUPHORIC HEARTBREAK delivers just enough to make you believe Glasvegas may still have that perfect album in them some day.
  8. Apr 7, 2011
    70
    EUPHORIC HEARTBREAK should at very least cement Glasvegas' status as one of our most intriguing mainstream indie/rock groups and given a chance by those of a more cynical standpoint they might just find themselves enjoying the titular sensations the record promises and, for the most part, successfully delivers.
  9. Apr 7, 2011
    70
    Euphoric Heartbreak is a more accomplished, interesting piece of work; a brutal but exhilarating listen. Yet without the hype that surrounded its predecessor, and with a distinct change of tact, it might struggle to find its natural home.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    I think it takes a few listens to fully appreciate this album. Sure, it is owerblown. I mean really owerblown. But so what?? Once in a whileI think it takes a few listens to fully appreciate this album. Sure, it is owerblown. I mean really owerblown. But so what?? Once in a while you need something to make you feel a bit dreamy and romantic and pompous and whatever this music sounds like. That's what makes this record stand out - it's designed for certain moments. A gem. Full Review »
  2. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    A stunning effort from the Glaswegian band. A step in the right direction by bringing in the new drummer, it gives a much more professionalA stunning effort from the Glaswegian band. A step in the right direction by bringing in the new drummer, it gives a much more professional feel to the music knowing that the drummer is an actual musician. Highlights of the album would be 'Euphoria, Take My Hand' and 'Lots Sometimes' which I could imagine being a real gem when played live. Full Review »