Everyday

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Feb 27, 2001
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 71
  2. Negative: 7 out of 71

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. raVen
    Aug 3, 2003
    8
    I don't buy the argument that when an established group built around a solid grassroots center decides to change their sound, (even for just one album) and that change brings in a whole new set of fans, said group has officially "sold out." First of all, (and you can call me naive) I was under the impression that sharing great music with others was a good thing. I'm a dMb I don't buy the argument that when an established group built around a solid grassroots center decides to change their sound, (even for just one album) and that change brings in a whole new set of fans, said group has officially "sold out." First of all, (and you can call me naive) I was under the impression that sharing great music with others was a good thing. I'm a dMb fan--it's a good club. And if Everyday gets somebody down to just one of their concerts, I say so much the better. The proof of Everyday's validity is found in the fact that its critics were expecting it to be THE SAME. To some, a club is no good unless some people are left out, and these people read Dave's dabble in the pop circles as a betrayal. (These same people assume that Dave, Roi, Carter, Boyd, and Stefan sit around writing music for THEM, not themselves). In this sense, fans treat their favorite groups like many treat their heros, friends, and politicians: "I want everybody else to like you as much as I do, but I don't want you to be 'popular' and play to the majority." Everyday is no Crash, to be sure. It's quicker, less complex, and the radio stations all played the singles like they'd discovered something new. But it was never supposed to be a duplicate of what had already been achieved. As Dave once said: "That'd be like saying a thing, then not saying it for awhile, and then saying it again... ...and people'd be like, 'why'd he say that again?'" Everyday is just fine with me, and I continue to enjoy the evolution (and, in this case, revolution) of my favorite band. Expand
  2. BillyW.
    Nov 7, 2001
    10
    I am a huge DMB fan, so I would give anything of their's a ten, but this album is awesome. Nearly every song has it's own little thing about it that makes it awesome. And although there are no Boyd Tinsley violin jams, or Carter drum solos, or Leroi sax solos, the CD is still worth getting. Another great release by the always impressive Dave Matthews Band.
  3. JasonJ.
    Oct 2, 2001
    3
    dave has joined the ranks of many other artists before him sold out to main stream pop music. so much for the guy who played in his plaid pj bottoms and opened for the Dead in 95. the new album cover looks like an ad for abercrombie and fitch.
  4. EdD.
    Jul 5, 2001
    7
    He should of stuck with the older type of music that he plays instead of jumping into rock.
  5. DomS.
    Aug 10, 2003
    0
    "dude, it's dave, it's a ten"...ranney, someone should methodically exterminate you and everyone like you. "dave" hasn't put out anything good since "Before These Crowded Streets," and between there and now, the decline has been suicidal. This is bland, worthless crap, and someone needs to end it all quickly before we get another nauseating helping of Dave and Co.'s "dude, it's dave, it's a ten"...ranney, someone should methodically exterminate you and everyone like you. "dave" hasn't put out anything good since "Before These Crowded Streets," and between there and now, the decline has been suicidal. This is bland, worthless crap, and someone needs to end it all quickly before we get another nauseating helping of Dave and Co.'s dross. If I hear him say something about "all we need is love" one more time, I'm going to break his guitar-dancing legs. Expand
  6. Darlene
    Jan 9, 2005
    9
    In the spirit of love and positive enerergy I think this CD is great. "everday" is my anthem! Bring it on in Jesus name :)
  7. saraj
    Feb 10, 2005
    10
    i love david matthews there the shit!
  8. StefanT.
    Oct 1, 2001
    5
    I can't say that it's a horrible album; So Right, Everyday, and Angel seem to be great concert material. However, the album seems processed and horribly thought out. DMB better not fall down to the typical acts of Matchbox 20 or Creed. You never saw a jam band like Phish or Grateful Dead conform to the mainstream rock, and sadly enough it has happened to a classic jam band. The I can't say that it's a horrible album; So Right, Everyday, and Angel seem to be great concert material. However, the album seems processed and horribly thought out. DMB better not fall down to the typical acts of Matchbox 20 or Creed. You never saw a jam band like Phish or Grateful Dead conform to the mainstream rock, and sadly enough it has happened to a classic jam band. The album cannot compare with the Lillywhite Sessions, which in my opinion is the best Dave Matthews album ever. Expand
  9. AshleyG.
    Dec 2, 2001
    8
    All of DMB's albums are different in one way or another. This one is more collected and organized, but still the DMB we all know and love. They always come out with something new but always keep us happy
  10. Grant
    Oct 30, 2001
    10
    This is a remarkable album, with an incredible new sound. Dave and the guys have pulled it off again. Song after song is pure brilliance. The new beats and more focused aspect is amazing. Even though there are not as many instrumentals as we have become to expect, the band does not leave you disappointed.
  11. John
    Oct 4, 2001
    6
    Everyday has its catchy songs, but this is not one of the best DMB records. I don't understand why Dave felt he needed to go to Glen and change the sound of the band. Gone are the long solos that we as DMB fans are accustomed to. I really believe Lillywhite sessions would have been their best album if they had released it. That is a true Dave Matthews Band record. I will continue to Everyday has its catchy songs, but this is not one of the best DMB records. I don't understand why Dave felt he needed to go to Glen and change the sound of the band. Gone are the long solos that we as DMB fans are accustomed to. I really believe Lillywhite sessions would have been their best album if they had released it. That is a true Dave Matthews Band record. I will continue to buy their CD's...i just hope they go back to their original, rocking sound. None of this pop stuff. They don't need more fans. But I'm glad they came out with Everyday. some of the songs are going to be DMB classics. But their old stuff is by far much better. I hope their next CD is like another Lillywhite Sessions. See you later Glen Ballard...go back to your pop bands. Expand
  12. BobM
    Jul 23, 2001
    5
    I'm disappointed to think the album that was to be released (with songs such as "Bartender", "Diggin' a Ditch") was passed over for "Everyday". At least he plays some of the unreleased songs in concert>
  13. MikeS.
    Aug 17, 2001
    4
    As far as attaining a sleek sound, Dave has accomplished the task. However, the majority of the songs are melodramatic and lack the creativity characteristic of the, until recently, unique songwriter. I am severely disappointed in the album especially since it was released in place of the Lilywhite Sessions, which had extreme promise of being the group's greatest musical success. As far as attaining a sleek sound, Dave has accomplished the task. However, the majority of the songs are melodramatic and lack the creativity characteristic of the, until recently, unique songwriter. I am severely disappointed in the album especially since it was released in place of the Lilywhite Sessions, which had extreme promise of being the group's greatest musical success. Unfortunately, Dave seems to have taken the easy route into mainstream boredom with music that sounds even less enthusiastic and fresh than Matchbox Twenty and Sugar Ray. Expand
  14. ChrisK.
    Aug 22, 2001
    10
    every song on this album is great!!
  15. JuvenalF.
    Aug 27, 2001
    6
    I'm disapointed.Dave Matthews is going where the other pop artists are.He had is placesound and he is losing it with "Everyday".DMB its not a pop band,they invented a new sound and now they are a common pop band.Still the cd has some good songs
  16. AmyR.
    Aug 7, 2001
    6
    I don't blame Glen Ballard for this music, he did what he was told: make upbeat pop tunes. I blame BMG and other collaborators for discouraging the music that came from the gut of Dave Matthews in the unreleased album. Fans were robbed of what could've been the bands' best album.
  17. NobleT.
    Jan 30, 2002
    6
    Since I love the band, I have to be honest. I am highly disappointed and prefer to listen to Crash and the others. The way that their music was in the past was something original and great. Please don't settle for this. And although I will continue to listen to and buy DMB music, I would much rather have the jam sessions that I have grown to want, know and LOVE.
  18. DaveMatthewsbandfanatic?????????
    Mar 10, 2002
    7
    This was a good album but i think that they were a lot better in the 90's i don't really like the new style they have now.
  19. JohnP
    Jun 1, 2005
    0
    The most influential album since "Sports" by Huey Lewis and the News
  20. KimH
    Jul 2, 2005
    8
    Honestly, this album deserves an 8 and im not saying that because it came from Dave or If i didnt come from dave. I could care less about the person who wrote it its all about the quality of the music and in my opinion this is a great cd. Im a DMB fan and i love all there songs but there were a couple not so great songs then there were a couple just GREAT! songs and a few here and there Honestly, this album deserves an 8 and im not saying that because it came from Dave or If i didnt come from dave. I could care less about the person who wrote it its all about the quality of the music and in my opinion this is a great cd. Im a DMB fan and i love all there songs but there were a couple not so great songs then there were a couple just GREAT! songs and a few here and there in the middle. This cd is very enjoyable to listen to. Expand
  21. Paulos
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    It's a great album! Thank You DMB for Your music!
  22. MikeP.
    Nov 23, 2001
    6
    I knew the album came out in the spring, and I heard alotta bad stuff about it. So to not sour my taste for Dave I held out on not buying t till november. After listening to it, I've realized that it is a good rock album, but a sub-par dave album. It just seems to calculated. I know that I could gently be put to sleep by any other tender dave album, but the songs don't gel well. I knew the album came out in the spring, and I heard alotta bad stuff about it. So to not sour my taste for Dave I held out on not buying t till november. After listening to it, I've realized that it is a good rock album, but a sub-par dave album. It just seems to calculated. I know that I could gently be put to sleep by any other tender dave album, but the songs don't gel well. They are all over the place and they don't roll into each other like in Before These Crowded Streets. On the other hand, some tracks are unbelievable, but on the whole, Everyday disappoints me. Expand
  23. Adam
    Nov 8, 2001
    7
    Not the DMB I know. The tricky chords, and masterful musicianship is still there but the khaki-wearing, faded t-shirt sporting, necklace-hording of Matthews has seemed to slip between the cracks of mainstream. PLEASE BRING BACK THE JAM-BAND THAT I KNOW!!
  24. J.Lane
    Oct 19, 2001
    6
    Although this album has its future classics, i am mostly disappointed in this album. I do not understand why they did not release Lillywhite Sessions, which in my opinion, would have been the best DMB album yet. I feel bad that Dave went to Glen Ballard. That moron messed up the whole rocking sound of DMB that we as fans have come to love. No long solos or anything like it . they Although this album has its future classics, i am mostly disappointed in this album. I do not understand why they did not release Lillywhite Sessions, which in my opinion, would have been the best DMB album yet. I feel bad that Dave went to Glen Ballard. That moron messed up the whole rocking sound of DMB that we as fans have come to love. No long solos or anything like it . they didn't need more fans, especially teenie boppers that don't realize how talented they are. Go back to the original sound that made them famous and get rid of that Ballard jerk...let him go back to the pop bands that sellout to mainstream rock and pop. i will continue to buy DMB albums, i just hope they go back to their original sound. Expand
  25. KateK.
    Oct 23, 2001
    6
    I love DMB, but this album doesn't show the heart and spirit that made the band famous. It's far too controlled and formulated.
  26. RogerR.
    May 18, 2001
    9
    genius work, amazing
  27. JoshG.
    May 20, 2001
    8
    This isn't Dave's finest hour, but, again his style appeals to the large "groupie" following
  28. Sasha
    Jul 22, 2001
    10
    I love Dave so I'm going to stick by him through thick and thin. This album isn't one of the best, it's definitely not as awesome as the older stuff, but that's just because of Ballard's influence I'm sure. In concert, Dave will do his own thing and make these songs sound just as badass as every other song on every other album.
  29. AshleyK.
    Jul 9, 2001
    6
    I'm a dedicated Dave fan so I would never say that I hate any of his music, but I would much rather listen to his old stuff then Everyday. Everyday is soo different from anything the band ever did. I think Ballard forced them into making a more mature album and it doesn't appeal to DMB's true fans who enjoy the 20 minute long jam sessions =)
  30. DavidJ.
    Aug 2, 2001
    10
    Excellent work!!!
  31. M.J.Scrivens
    Aug 7, 2001
    10
    all I can say is how cool is it to hear Dave play electric??
  32. RamleeO.
    Oct 16, 2002
    7
    Everyday, shows the DMB as a pop-smart ensemble who blend satire, angst and euphoria with tatsefully and intelligently structured production. It does not however, capture the essence of what these five artists are capable of. Some strong moments but an ordinary follow-up to BTCS.
  33. Hannah
    Feb 3, 2002
    9
    I am a huge fan of DMB. I have every CD, Concert CD... I was a little disappointed but it's still a great CD.
  34. PeteF.
    Apr 11, 2002
    10
    Dave already established himself as an immensely talented musician with beautiful lyrics. Now it has come time to push his border. I think its the challenge of every artist to change their style, and if you can do it sucessfully (like this album) then you can prove yourself in the long run.
  35. fishN/A
    Oct 16, 2003
    7
    i think that this a pretty good cd, a side of dmb that hasnt been seen, yet as said before there arent any really great solos, i think it lacks the ground-breaking quality that cds like under the table and crash produced. i do like this cd, but there is something missing, i think dave is changing, and as he and the band does, so will the music, and i hope somehow they can get it to their i think that this a pretty good cd, a side of dmb that hasnt been seen, yet as said before there arent any really great solos, i think it lacks the ground-breaking quality that cds like under the table and crash produced. i do like this cd, but there is something missing, i think dave is changing, and as he and the band does, so will the music, and i hope somehow they can get it to their "oldschool" stuff. this cd and busted stuff are too commercial, and some devil isnt good without the band(i think some devil is worse than this cd) and i hope dmb can dig down and pull out some songs like their old ones, with a twist of their new style. Expand
  36. melissam.
    Nov 17, 2004
    9
    if anyone can't give this cd is atleast a 8 isn't a true dave fan and needs to keep his or her comments to themselves bc this cd seriously ROCKED! i think it's one of his best, personally. so, Dom S. , Jenny P. , Jeffery D. who rated this cd as a 0 just proved they have no knowledge of true music and in my humble opinion have NO TASTE in music. DAVE MATTHEWS BAND ROCCCCCCKS!!!!!
  37. TomC
    Apr 17, 2004
    9
    So underrated, I agreed it was average on first listen but on closer inspection fantastic (except for sleep to dream her). So Right could easily be the best DMB song ever!
  38. AnhV.
    Oct 11, 2005
    5
    I'm a big DMB fan, but when I listened to this album for the first time, I was deeply dissappointed. It just lacks their usual intensity, density and complexity, etc. Ballard's arrangements obviously don't work that well for the DMB sound.
  39. JohnnyM
    Jul 27, 2005
    10
    This CD captures Daves true feelings. Its a good reflection of him and his Band, and oh by the way the music sounds pretty good too.
  40. EricB
    Apr 7, 2006
    10
    For anyone who really knows what good music is;pretty much a music majoir like myself, would have to know that Dave Matthews is increadably musicly talented, and anyone who differs is most likely some emo head that shouldn't even open there mouths!!
  41. JacobS.
    Oct 17, 2001
    10
    This is the sweetest album I've ever heard
  42. EricT.
    Oct 27, 2001
    8
    a little different than the normal dmb, but still as good as hoped.
  43. JesssicaM.
    Jun 17, 2001
    10
    Ballard's a dumbass. He convinced Dave and the band that his cd's audience wasn't as indulgent as those of his live shows- thereby making the songs shorter and robbing them of their wonderful character. I'm sure it will be marvelous live, though. Nevertheless, it's Dave, and I'll never leave him. I give him a 10.
  44. Kristen
    Jul 17, 2001
    8
    It's not the band's best work, but I'm a major fan, and I still enjoy the "different" CD.
  45. WillJ.
    Sep 14, 2001
    2
    They sold out to mainstream rock!!!! This album is a disappointment.
  46. Cookie----------
    Feb 16, 2002
    5
    I've been a huge fan of DMB for many years, long before they became well known at all. Their concerts rock out and are some of the best I've attended. I really don't like this cd at all. It sounds canned. Some critics seem to focus on the instrumental solos and jam sessions and find them to be too long or overdone. However, for all of us true DMB fans, the jams are what I've been a huge fan of DMB for many years, long before they became well known at all. Their concerts rock out and are some of the best I've attended. I really don't like this cd at all. It sounds canned. Some critics seem to focus on the instrumental solos and jam sessions and find them to be too long or overdone. However, for all of us true DMB fans, the jams are what make the band great. I think Dave should remain true to his own musicianship and rock on like he always has. Expand
  47. menoneayerbeeswax
    Feb 18, 2002
    7
    A good cd, but I think some of their past records beat it. It has a strange twist.
  48. JeffreyD.
    Mar 28, 2002
    0
    Terrible. So uninspired that it makes me ill. Matthews has obviouly been doing too much crack, b/c his brain has obviously melted into goo. He hasn't made a halfway decent record since "Crash", and his latest is by far his worst. Just disgusting.
  49. Kyle
    Apr 21, 2002
    7
    Definetly not the best. But I really like the new sound and enjoy hearing the new style. I hope to hear some more of the jams like his earlier cds in the future.
  50. Ranney
    Apr 21, 2002
    10
    dude, it's dave, it's a ten.
  51. JennyP.
    Jul 14, 2002
    0
    if anybody else had put out this album it would have gotten a 9 but because it's from dave it deserves no more than a 0. unfortunately success has taught him to cater to the TRL crowd and because of this he has alienated the fans that originally made him famous. Rolling Stone and MTV can have him and this terrible poppy simplistic album if they want them. for the rest of us, i think if anybody else had put out this album it would have gotten a 9 but because it's from dave it deserves no more than a 0. unfortunately success has taught him to cater to the TRL crowd and because of this he has alienated the fans that originally made him famous. Rolling Stone and MTV can have him and this terrible poppy simplistic album if they want them. for the rest of us, i think we'd prefer to have carter and boyd and the rest of the boys back to rock us into the night with those great jams, sophisticated rhythms and innuendo-laden lyrics. not that bomb of love bull. we miss you dave. please come home. Expand
  52. BrianC
    Feb 21, 2005
    9
    I really thought that this was a great album for the group. They really produced more of a rock feel then any other. Great album.
  53. JennL
    Mar 25, 2005
    10
    Dave always finds his way into everyones heart. It's hard to listen to a song and NOT fall in love with his band. I'm a fan for life and this is just one of his MANY great creations. :)
  54. Ian
    Nov 29, 2001
    1
    If I wanted this kind of over romanticized nonsense and textural pretension I'd buy a Sting album. Now, where did I put that receipt?
  55. gregr
    Nov 26, 2004
    7
    lacking the density of the older albums. I guess every band has to go mainstream one day or another. Its till a DMB album, and therefor it still is very good music, but the soul is not as present...
  56. Jul 15, 2013
    6
    The Dave Matthews Band proved themselves with their first album, "Under the Table and Dreaming" by combining violins, acoustic/electric guitars, and saxophones to create great hits such as "Satellite," "What Would You Say," "The Best of What's Around," and what the band calls their anthem "Ants Marching" where the album gets its name from. Since then they continued to show theirThe Dave Matthews Band proved themselves with their first album, "Under the Table and Dreaming" by combining violins, acoustic/electric guitars, and saxophones to create great hits such as "Satellite," "What Would You Say," "The Best of What's Around," and what the band calls their anthem "Ants Marching" where the album gets its name from. Since then they continued to show their professionalism though 1996's "Crash," and 1998's "Before These Crowded Streets." In 2001, they created "Everyday," an album that changes it up a little bit. With the addition of a girl vocal group, Dave Matthews adds variety to the album that, unfortunately, does not work for the most part.

    The musical variety is still in tact though some of the songs seem out of place for the Dave Matthews Band. Songs like "I Did It," "Dreams of Our Fathers," and "Mother Father" do not fit into what we usually expect from DMB. The songs, while upbeat for the most part, have a different vibe that does not give the band justice. It seems like the band lost what made "Under the Table and Dreaming" a fantastic album. While the albums before "Everyday" seem to lose some of it (except for "Crash"), this album tries a new path that does not do the band justice.

    There are some fantastic standouts in this album though. The third song entitled "The Space Between" is one of Dave's best songs to date. The song starts with Dave and just an electric rhythm that quickly elevates to a beautiful assortment of instruments that works so incredibly well. The moral of the song is absolutely amazing and interesting while amplified even more thanks to the beautiful work by the band. "When the World Ends" is also another standout. Dave really tries to show his audience two sides of his voice. The slow acoustic with a violin in the background is backed up by a soft voice by the singer and then everything changes when the band comes in full. His voice becomes darker, almost echoes, and talks about the end of the world. All in all, it is a great song.

    The song "Everyday," which also shares the album title, is where the vocal group can be a problem for some. While the song itself is great, the addition of the vocal groups does not fit. Instead of hearing Dave's great voice, everyone's vocals are pushed together that makes the song too much for the listener to handle.

    Is "Everyday" one of Dave Matthews' best albums? No but it is not an album that you should overlook. This album still has three to four songs that will stick with the band for the rest of their careers especially "The Space Between" which is a masterpiece by definition. Some of the changes do not work in this album which is a shame but it just tells us that Dave Matthews found something special back in 1994 and should not change what works. "Everyday" was a test subject and, unfortunately, did not work out for the most part.

    6/10
    Expand
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. A bumpy ride that finds [producer Glen] Ballard attempting to rein in Matthews' self-indulgent tendencies, with varying degrees of success, to ditch his jam-band image for a sleeker sound.
  2. And though the smarter songs (the more personal "If I Had It All," the easygoing "Fool to Think") benefit from the concision, the group's newfound musical sharpness isn't that of a world-class bar band but that of an outsize stadium act -- all grand gesture and larger-than-life lyrics. Sometimes, as on "I Did It," the band recaptures the spirit of seventies rock in all its innocent fun. Other times, especially on the cloying, overdramatic "The Space Between," it recaptures only those moments that involve holding a lighter high above one's head.
  3. 70
    The result of all this glorious epiphany is a record that remains on par with the last few DMB albums, filled with laid back grooves that beg for volume.