Everyone Is Here

  • Record Label: Nettwerk
  • Release Date: Aug 24, 2004
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 1 out of 18

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DuncanP
    Sep 2, 2004
    10
    Just about without flaw. I remember reading a review of a crowded house CD in the NME a few years ago which offered the observation: "Neil Finn pisses genius". He still does, and the NME writers of today probably need to go back to review school.
  2. Chris
    Sep 1, 2004
    9
    That NME review is utter crap. They've had it out for the Finns for years. This album is an effortless pop gem, I doubt the NME reviewer even put it in. NME is a trash heap, which is responisble for such moronic trash as Jet.
  3. RichardD
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    At last Tim and Neil have written songs together that have the same emotional heart of their solo work. Tim's harder edge is more evident than on their previous joint work. Anyone who has gone through the grieving process will be brought to tears by All The Colours, the hidden classic of the album that will last forever.
  4. jamesd
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    Been waiting for this album for 9 years since the first Finn offering! They don't dissapoint! Just awesome, the songcraft these guys show is second to none. Tim adds a certain feel that you don't get on Neils solo work and their harmonies?... It doesn't get any better than this!
  5. tims
    Aug 29, 2004
    9
    Fans of Crowded House have been waiting the better part of 20 years since "Woodface" to hear the Finn brothers collaborate as well as they did back then. Its impossible not to hear The Beatles in their ballards; an album to listen to with your eyes closed.
  6. jamesdoe
    Sep 1, 2004
    10
    I Love This Cd! As good as antyhing they've done togather or alone. By far the best CD I've heard in along time.
  7. GaryF
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    Fantastic !! Always loved the B-Boys, Pet Sounds & Good Vibe's & went to one of the SMILE concerts only having heard Good Vibe's & Heroes & Villians as a reference, the concert was amazing one of the best I've been too and thankfully the CD has lived up to all the hype. Yes the lyrics & sound are surreal in places but they are on Sgt Peppers & Arthur Lee's Forever Fantastic !! Always loved the B-Boys, Pet Sounds & Good Vibe's & went to one of the SMILE concerts only having heard Good Vibe's & Heroes & Villians as a reference, the concert was amazing one of the best I've been too and thankfully the CD has lived up to all the hype. Yes the lyrics & sound are surreal in places but they are on Sgt Peppers & Arthur Lee's Forever Changes too. My only very slight complaint is that the original Good Vibrations should have remained. Expand
  8. Mark
    Feb 4, 2006
    9
    A Life Between Us is one of the most stunningly beautiful, emotionally mature songs I've ever heard in my life.
  9. GeoffreyG
    Aug 27, 2004
    9
    I've been anticipating this one for a long while...Neil and Tim together have written some of my favorite songs ever and this album is no exception. Neil has my favorite voice of all time. At first listen this album still grabbed me.
  10. markf
    Aug 31, 2004
    8
    NME should just go throw itself in some un-recoverable quicksand. Their "realistic" rating reminds me of the 20 for Grant-Lee Phillips' last album. Hey, MC, I thought you were going to toss the extremes. You give me the responsibilityand I'll see to it, and most people will be happier. Now I have to talk about this specific album. It isn't as great as most albums involving NME should just go throw itself in some un-recoverable quicksand. Their "realistic" rating reminds me of the 20 for Grant-Lee Phillips' last album. Hey, MC, I thought you were going to toss the extremes. You give me the responsibilityand I'll see to it, and most people will be happier. Now I have to talk about this specific album. It isn't as great as most albums involving A Finn brother, but it's definitely solid. A 20 means the guy can't go to the pot with anyone else there. Maybe he can't go, but I can! I think the "reviewer" has a major bowel problem. Let's find out. Expand
  11. JerryB
    Sep 10, 2004
    10
    Just solid all the way around. These guys are masterful songwriters with world class harmonies and it glows on this album. It's just great adult pop/rock with songs with lyrcial substance about family and life. BTW, NME can go screw itself.
  12. JillA
    Sep 2, 2004
    10
    It's amazing. A fabulous listen to anyone who's never listened before and a gem for those who have!
  13. MarioC
    Feb 22, 2005
    9
    I'd give it 9.5, but it doesn't excist. It's great album, beatifull songs, in Finn's style. Some of the most beatifull words ever you can find here:"Cause everyone I love is here, just say it and disseaper..." or "first you make me hungry, then you feed me something I don't want.." and so many,many more....Someone said everything when he said: " This is an album I'd give it 9.5, but it doesn't excist. It's great album, beatifull songs, in Finn's style. Some of the most beatifull words ever you can find here:"Cause everyone I love is here, just say it and disseaper..." or "first you make me hungry, then you feed me something I don't want.." and so many,many more....Someone said everything when he said: " This is an album which you listen with your eyes closed." Expand
  14. DazzerWW
    Sep 26, 2004
    9
    The best Finn album since Woodface. The NME really to come out with some tosh. Ignore and buy now!!
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. As an album, it probably won't spawn any MTV-hogging video classics--certainly, that was never the intention--but Finn fans in search of a mellow listen should find Everyone Is Here hits all the right buttons.
  2. Like many a Crowded House release, this new Finn Brothers album gains resonance with repeated listens, revealing subtle charms and musical accents over time.
  3. Everyone Is Here bounces from one impeccably tuneful pop song to another.