Everyone Is Here - The Finn Brothers
Everyone Is Here Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Crowded House's Neil and Tim Finn reunite with producer Mitchell Froom for this disc, which also finds them joined by Los Angeles musicians Matt Chamberlain and Jon Brion.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. While Everyone Is Here lacks the brightness of much of Woodface, it's the Finn Brothers' strongest collection of songs since that masterpiece, and arguably their most emotionally resonant album to date.
  2. Fans of Travis and Coldplay will certainly find much to treasure in the soaring harmonies, soft strings and heartfelt sentiments.
  3. Like many a Crowded House release, this new Finn Brothers album gains resonance with repeated listens, revealing subtle charms and musical accents over time.
  4. 70
    On Everyone Is Here, you'll find some of the most haunting music to bear the Finn imprint. [Sep 2004, p.95]
  5. Nothing has really changed at all.
  6. 70
    Despite the air of contemplation, there's plenty of energy. [Sep 2004, p.98]
  7. Stultifying moroseness and a constant furrowing of the brow permeate from start to finish. [21 Aug 2004, p.49]

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. jamesd
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    Been waiting for this album for 9 years since the first Finn offering! They don't dissapoint! Just awesome, the songcraft these guys Been waiting for this album for 9 years since the first Finn offering! They don't dissapoint! Just awesome, the songcraft these guys show is second to none. Tim adds a certain feel that you don't get on Neils solo work and their harmonies?... It doesn't get any better than this! Collapse
  2. GaryF
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    Fantastic !! Always loved the B-Boys, Pet Sounds & Good Vibe's & went to one of the SMILE concerts only having heard Good Vibe's & Fantastic !! Always loved the B-Boys, Pet Sounds & Good Vibe's & went to one of the SMILE concerts only having heard Good Vibe's & Heroes & Villians as a reference, the concert was amazing one of the best I've been too and thankfully the CD has lived up to all the hype. Yes the lyrics & sound are surreal in places but they are on Sgt Peppers & Arthur Lee's Forever Changes too. My only very slight complaint is that the original Good Vibrations should have remained. Expand
  3. RichardD
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    At last Tim and Neil have written songs together that have the same emotional heart of their solo work. Tim's harder edge is more At last Tim and Neil have written songs together that have the same emotional heart of their solo work. Tim's harder edge is more evident than on their previous joint work. Anyone who has gone through the grieving process will be brought to tears by All The Colours, the hidden classic of the album that will last forever. Expand
  4. DazzerWW
    Sep 26, 2004
    9
    The best Finn album since Woodface. The NME really to come out with some tosh. Ignore and buy now!!
  5. Mark
    Feb 4, 2006
    9
    A Life Between Us is one of the most stunningly beautiful, emotionally mature songs I've ever heard in my life.
  6. MarioC
    Feb 22, 2005
    9
    I'd give it 9.5, but it doesn't excist. It's great album, beatifull songs, in Finn's style. Some of the most beatifull I'd give it 9.5, but it doesn't excist. It's great album, beatifull songs, in Finn's style. Some of the most beatifull words ever you can find here:"Cause everyone I love is here, just say it and disseaper..." or "first you make me hungry, then you feed me something I don't want.." and so many,many more....Someone said everything when he said: " This is an album which you listen with your eyes closed." Expand
  7. markf
    Aug 31, 2004
    8
    NME should just go throw itself in some un-recoverable quicksand. Their "realistic" rating reminds me of the 20 for Grant-Lee Phillips' NME should just go throw itself in some un-recoverable quicksand. Their "realistic" rating reminds me of the 20 for Grant-Lee Phillips' last album. Hey, MC, I thought you were going to toss the extremes. You give me the responsibilityand I'll see to it, and most people will be happier. Now I have to talk about this specific album. It isn't as great as most albums involving A Finn brother, but it's definitely solid. A 20 means the guy can't go to the pot with anyone else there. Maybe he can't go, but I can! I think the "reviewer" has a major bowel problem. Let's find out. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews