User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 67
  2. Negative: 6 out of 67

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohanW
    Jun 12, 2008
    9
    Beautiful album; exciting, emotional, diverse, and breathtaking.
  2. KurtC
    Jun 12, 2008
    9
    "Evil Urges" has blown me away. Hands-down the strangest, coolest, and best collection of songs I've heard in a long time, certainly this year. Simply incredible songwriting and performance. MMJ keep pushing the envelope. There's a lot of different influences going on such as their standard southern 60s/70s rock thing, but they've mixed in a little more funk (think Tone "Evil Urges" has blown me away. Hands-down the strangest, coolest, and best collection of songs I've heard in a long time, certainly this year. Simply incredible songwriting and performance. MMJ keep pushing the envelope. There's a lot of different influences going on such as their standard southern 60s/70s rock thing, but they've mixed in a little more funk (think Tone Loc/Prince on one track especially) and 70s/80s pop. Highly recommended. Expand
  3. EdW
    Jun 12, 2008
    9
    MMJ are rocking out like only they can. This album grows on you and gets better with each play.
  4. weirdfish7
    Jun 19, 2008
    9
    "Z" this is not...nor does it even come close. Pesonally, I consider this album as an attempt at a new MMJ sound that fails. The 9 rating I have given it is due to the fact that MMJ are one of the best bands making music today. The songs are solid, and better than 99% of music being created today, but again "Z", this is NOT.
  5. NickD
    Jun 23, 2008
    9
    After the first couple listens, I probably would've given it a 5 or 6. After a few more listens I would've bumped it up to a 7. Now, after listening to it probably 7-8 times it has finally settled into a solid 9. Each song is highly memorable with a variety of styles covered throughout the album. There's nothing as good as "Mahgeetah" or "One Big Holiday", but the trio of After the first couple listens, I probably would've given it a 5 or 6. After a few more listens I would've bumped it up to a 7. Now, after listening to it probably 7-8 times it has finally settled into a solid 9. Each song is highly memorable with a variety of styles covered throughout the album. There's nothing as good as "Mahgeetah" or "One Big Holiday", but the trio of "Touch Me...Pt. 2", "Librarian", and "Sec Walkin" are all top-notch with "Highly Suspicious" being the only clunker (even if it's kinda fun in a dorky way). Expand
  6. JakeD.
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    This is a great album and deserving of a higher average. Very diverse and shows the band trying new things, which is always good for any artist. Although Highly Suspicious is the worst song they have ever made, Touch Me I'm Going to Scream Parts 1 and 2, Smokin From Shootin, Evil Urges and I'm Amazed are some of the best songs in their catalogue. These guys are great and I hope This is a great album and deserving of a higher average. Very diverse and shows the band trying new things, which is always good for any artist. Although Highly Suspicious is the worst song they have ever made, Touch Me I'm Going to Scream Parts 1 and 2, Smokin From Shootin, Evil Urges and I'm Amazed are some of the best songs in their catalogue. These guys are great and I hope they continue to make fresh, innovative music like this for years to come. Expand
  7. Carla
    Jul 7, 2008
    9
    If you had any interest in the band before now, hopefully you can appreciate how they are trying to expand their sound. It's not as consistent as their other records but if you give it a third, fourth, fifth listen; you'll find more than enough to keep your ears occupied for a long time. I admit that it took the Bonnaroo 08 show for me to finally like "Highly Suspicious." Now, If you had any interest in the band before now, hopefully you can appreciate how they are trying to expand their sound. It's not as consistent as their other records but if you give it a third, fourth, fifth listen; you'll find more than enough to keep your ears occupied for a long time. I admit that it took the Bonnaroo 08 show for me to finally like "Highly Suspicious." Now, it's one of my favorites!! Expand
  8. PatrickS
    Jun 12, 2008
    9
    I think it's killer, unique in this day of so much sound alike ho-humness. These guys know how to explore and jam onstage where the real magic happens for them and the audience.
  9. JamesR
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    Jim and the boys prove that R&B, Soul, Funk and Country are all part of the mix we call Rock-n-Roll !ala Gram Parsons with his Cosmic American Music!
  10. AhmadH
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    Confusing at first; the funk, the distancing from what they did in Z, and a little bit of a return to "It Still Moves" and "At Dawn." It's a grower though, and once it grabs you you'll realize the brilliance. You have to appreciate a band that can take giant leaps like this and be successful with it. Re-affirms why I'm a fan of this band.
  11. FrankG
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Takes the sound the band reached for on Z and turns that sound into some beautiful pop songs.
  12. Eric
    Jun 11, 2008
    9
    This album will age very well... MMJ purists will certainly bash it, much like "Z". I say, go buy some Band of Horses albums, or just put "Amazed" on repeat... The beauty of this record is that it doesn't sound like "It Still Moves", and it doesn't sound like "Z". Sticking with these sounds would undoubtedly have garnered mild success... but would have been an empty endeavor for This album will age very well... MMJ purists will certainly bash it, much like "Z". I say, go buy some Band of Horses albums, or just put "Amazed" on repeat... The beauty of this record is that it doesn't sound like "It Still Moves", and it doesn't sound like "Z". Sticking with these sounds would undoubtedly have garnered mild success... but would have been an empty endeavor for a band that knows that they are capable of much more. This album is the next logical step in the progression of MMJ. At first it seems as though it shifts through multiple genres, but after multiple listens you begin to appreciate that the musical themes are constant, individual tracks just bring different aspects to the forefront. This album sounds like nothing else out there now, and like nothing that has been done before. At first listen it seems pretentious and unfocused, but it's a grower for sure. Eventually you realize the record is not unfocused... you are. It's genius reveals itself when you allow yourself to stop attempting to label what you are hearing. (9.5/10) Note: All these songs were performed live at an instore appearance on the release date. They are all smokin' live. Expand
  13. MarkS
    Jun 11, 2008
    9
    Smooth comes in varieties that range from absolute to "ZebraEsque." These guys reallize that it's all about jonesing for the picture perfect, alternative mixture of old and new rhythms and blues with a healthy dose of modern sounding angst thrown in for the perfect reality check, and this all creates the perfect soundtrack for the next time your roadtrip includes Louisville, Cincy, Smooth comes in varieties that range from absolute to "ZebraEsque." These guys reallize that it's all about jonesing for the picture perfect, alternative mixture of old and new rhythms and blues with a healthy dose of modern sounding angst thrown in for the perfect reality check, and this all creates the perfect soundtrack for the next time your roadtrip includes Louisville, Cincy, and all the pillars and posts that may or may not rest on the horizon as your steering clearly down that highway of life. Expand
  14. DanCoon
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Easily the most diverse album from MMJ. It is like a rollercoaster starting out at the top, but starts out strong and finishes with a pow. Touch Me I Am Going to Scream (both parts) are some the of the best music this year. Coming from MMJ, you knew it would be good, but this was a Peanut Butter Pudding Suprise. Truly Awesome album
  15. MattB
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    This album will not immediately grab you the way "Z" or "It Still Moves" managed to. However, with repeated listens (and by seeing them play the new material live at Bonnaroo & Radio City) I am convinced that Evil Urges is their best outing yet. They've chucked much of the soloing for tighter lyrics, and better arrangements (Exhibit A: Touch Me I'm Going To Scream Pt. 2). I This album will not immediately grab you the way "Z" or "It Still Moves" managed to. However, with repeated listens (and by seeing them play the new material live at Bonnaroo & Radio City) I am convinced that Evil Urges is their best outing yet. They've chucked much of the soloing for tighter lyrics, and better arrangements (Exhibit A: Touch Me I'm Going To Scream Pt. 2). I welcome the new R&B side of Jim James and look forward to where this sound takes the band next. Expand
  16. Jul 10, 2013
    9
    Probably the band's best album to date. Every song is unique and has an awesome mellow vibe to it. Songs like "Touch me I'm going to scream" parts 1 and 2 just show how excellent this album is. Others like "Highly Suspicious" show My Morning Jacket at its most creative. All around great album.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Where the separate parts of the first half didn't gel – the chopping and changing of different styles too much to take in, perhaps, in too short a period--the second part is much easier to handle, and whilst the strong finish isn't enough to stop it falling short of "Z," Evil Urges does find its own place given time.
  2. The cumulative result is an exhilarating, bone-deep experience--a true album, built for sustained listening.
  3. Evil Urges explodes the band's sound with the same kind of creative leap that Wilco took on "Yankee Hotel Foxtrot" and Radiohead took on "Kid A."