Ex Lives

  • Record Label: Epitaph
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2012
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
Buy On
  1. Q Magazine
    Mar 14, 2012
    60
    A spontaneous, short, sharp stab of a record but one that might have been great had it not sounded so rushed. [April 2012, p.101]
  2. Alternative Press
    Feb 29, 2012
    60
    Much of ex-Lives is encumbered by well-trodden ground turned muddy and attempts at atmosphere. [Apr 2012, p.96]
  3. Mar 5, 2012
    40
    Ex Lives just sounds like a band going through the motions.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Mar 31, 2012
    6
    The sixth album from Every Time I Die - "Ex-Lives" is a fourteen track compilation of the borderline alternative metal, hardcore punk andThe sixth album from Every Time I Die - "Ex-Lives" is a fourteen track compilation of the borderline alternative metal, hardcore punk and screamo. Less than a half-hour CD is full of quite good songs at a frantic pace, but there is lack of memorable compositions - except "Typical Miracle" or "The Low Road Has No Exits". Full Review »
  2. Oct 28, 2016
    6
    An abrupt, noisy album. It turns up the volume and doesn't let up until it's conclusion. Normally that's something I would appreciate. I kindAn abrupt, noisy album. It turns up the volume and doesn't let up until it's conclusion. Normally that's something I would appreciate. I kind of do here as well in a sense. I just wish everything sounded better.

    Ex Lives isn't just an assault on your ears, but your intelligence as well. The lyrical content can reach cringe levels of edginess. Okay, we get it you have vices. The band comes out at you like an edgy teenager, screaming and yelling. That's likely to be this album's core audience.

    That's not to say it's completely awful. The elements of southern rock more melodic notes interspersed throughout are appreciated, and when it comes to music I'm not against some teenage level angst and edge.

    But where bands like Slipknot and Korn managed to add some style and appeal to their sound, Every Time I Die is just brash. I do have some respect for their in your face approach and nonstop barrage of chaos. I'm just not too pleased with how little they were able to engage me.

    6.5/10
    Full Review »