Ex Lives

  • Record Label: Epitaph
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2012
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
Buy On
  1. Kerrang!
    Mar 20, 2012
    100
    Ex Lives should help them join the big boy's table. [3 Mar 2012, p.52]
  2. Bigger, badder, and louder than ever, Ex Lives will go down as the definitive Every Time I Die record.
  3. Feb 29, 2012
    90
    This is a deafening, destructive and devilishly diverse affair, serving as a firm and timely reminder that when it comes to this particular game, nobody does it quite like this.
  4. Apr 24, 2012
    80
    Ex Lives captures the band at their viciously abrupt best.
  5. Mar 21, 2012
    80
    Ex Lives is guaranteed to change a few minds as to what stands out as their finest collection.
  6. Metal Hammer (UK)
    Feb 29, 2012
    80
    Every Time I Die are on fire again. [Mar 2012, p.102]
  7. Mar 10, 2012
    70
    Every Time I Die are moving in some promising new directions.
  8. Mar 6, 2012
    70
    Though the stouter vocals have given the band more confidence for moments of melodic bombast, occasionally they sound out of place.
  9. Mar 6, 2012
    67
    The result is beefier, but it's also blander.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Mar 31, 2012
    6
    The sixth album from Every Time I Die - "Ex-Lives" is a fourteen track compilation of the borderline alternative metal, hardcore punk andThe sixth album from Every Time I Die - "Ex-Lives" is a fourteen track compilation of the borderline alternative metal, hardcore punk and screamo. Less than a half-hour CD is full of quite good songs at a frantic pace, but there is lack of memorable compositions - except "Typical Miracle" or "The Low Road Has No Exits". Full Review »
  2. Oct 28, 2016
    6
    An abrupt, noisy album. It turns up the volume and doesn't let up until it's conclusion. Normally that's something I would appreciate. I kindAn abrupt, noisy album. It turns up the volume and doesn't let up until it's conclusion. Normally that's something I would appreciate. I kind of do here as well in a sense. I just wish everything sounded better.

    Ex Lives isn't just an assault on your ears, but your intelligence as well. The lyrical content can reach cringe levels of edginess. Okay, we get it you have vices. The band comes out at you like an edgy teenager, screaming and yelling. That's likely to be this album's core audience.

    That's not to say it's completely awful. The elements of southern rock more melodic notes interspersed throughout are appreciated, and when it comes to music I'm not against some teenage level angst and edge.

    But where bands like Slipknot and Korn managed to add some style and appeal to their sound, Every Time I Die is just brash. I do have some respect for their in your face approach and nonstop barrage of chaos. I'm just not too pleased with how little they were able to engage me.

    6.5/10
    Full Review »