Exmilitary

Exmilitary Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 90 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Zach Hill's side project, a Sacramento hip-hop group, self-releases a mixtape.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jan 9, 2012
    90
    What at first appears to be aggression is actually 100 per cent anguish, and the prevailing sense is that, like Black Flag, every ounce of that angst has been funnelled into edge, bone-crunching rigour and the sculpting of their largely unprecedented style into austere angles.
  2. Exmilitary is an abrasive and traumatic ordeal, rife with production that's on-point but completely jarring at the same time.
  3. 80
    From the blood-curdling yells in which the anonymous MC delivers lines about dead cops and human sacrifice, to the positively chilling Charles Manson sample that begins the album, Exmilitary is the real deal, the absolute extent of your parents' worst nightmares when you came home with your first rap album.
  4. Jan 9, 2012
    80
    Track-for-track the birth of a new legend? Absolutely.
  5. Jan 9, 2012
    80
    You come away thinking, despite all the aggro, these Death Grips guys must be an awful lot of fun.
  6. Jul 6, 2011
    75
    It's still a potentially alienating album: unnerving when you're not on its aggro wavelength, inviting when you are, and transfixing either way, thanks to the aggregate work of Death Grips' core.
  7. Jul 6, 2011
    70
    It's a record that's quite open to cynicism--Exmilitary is easy to dismiss as excessive and carelessly noisy. It's going to polarise listeners, but it's useless to criticise it for being so angry and unlistenable because that's Death Grips' prerogative.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    If hip-hop hadn't started falling out of fashion in the late 90s, this is exactly what we'd be listening to on Radio 1 every day. Surely thatIf hip-hop hadn't started falling out of fashion in the late 90s, this is exactly what we'd be listening to on Radio 1 every day. Surely that isn't a bad thing when you consider how damn good this sounds. Expand
  2. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    If a hardcore punk band decided to do noise influenced hip hop, they'd probably sound quite a bit like Death Grips. They aren't a band thatIf a hardcore punk band decided to do noise influenced hip hop, they'd probably sound quite a bit like Death Grips. They aren't a band that everyone will like, because the sound is so unusual, but for those open to this kind of music, it doesn't get much better.
    Samples as diverse as Charles Manson and Link Wray, intense drumming from Zach Hill, and vocals as strange as a brag song entirely about decapitations make Death Grips sound like nothing else out there.
    Expand
  3. Jul 17, 2015
    10
    Behind all the anger, desperation and violence, you feel their souls exploding in such convincing ways that there's little doubt these guysBehind all the anger, desperation and violence, you feel their souls exploding in such convincing ways that there's little doubt these guys are a nightmare... you would never like not to have.
    10/10
    Expand
  4. Jan 16, 2016
    9
    This album introduced to a sound i have experienced before and i quickly fell in love with it. Death Grips are one of the best acts of ourThis album introduced to a sound i have experienced before and i quickly fell in love with it. Death Grips are one of the best acts of our time for doing something so original musically and doing it successfully Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    This, to me, is Death Grips' most abrasive record they've released thus far. The lo-fi production and sampled beats give Exmilitary this raw,This, to me, is Death Grips' most abrasive record they've released thus far. The lo-fi production and sampled beats give Exmilitary this raw, primal feel that's hard to shake off after you listen to it. The Charles Manson intro in Beware perfectly sets up the mood before the music even begins, and when it does start it's immediately in your face with this loud, noise beat and MC Ride's animalistic vocals. For 46 minutes, this is a long mixtape that has to be heard.

    All In All, Exmilitary is a brutal, experimental hip hop mixtape that really should not be looked over. It's certainly a challenging record, but one that will reward the patient one's experimenting with what they listen too. A-
    Expand
  6. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    Loud, brutal, and unique. All of these are the best words to describe Death Grips, and Exmilitary never fails to disappoint. Blending rappedLoud, brutal, and unique. All of these are the best words to describe Death Grips, and Exmilitary never fails to disappoint. Blending rapped and shouted vocals with the intense drumming of Zach Hill and huge electronic beats, the experimental mixtape is strong the entire way through and is almost granted to keep you crawling back for more. Simple hooks, usually a simple phrase repeated, are extremely catchy and get stuck in your head easily. Not a single song isn't fast paced and in your face. The lyrics, if you choose to listen to them, are also a high point: the way MC Ride yells like an angry homeless man makes lyrics like "I AM THE BEAST I WORSHIP!" hit hard. An excellent album that's not for everyone, but should be. Expand
  7. Apr 24, 2013
    0
    This review is being written in hopes that innocent ears aren't rendered useless once filled with the demonstrably awful noise that is DeathThis review is being written in hopes that innocent ears aren't rendered useless once filled with the demonstrably awful noise that is Death Grips, unless of course you're in to that type of music. This band, if you can call it that, is basically trying to make as much noise as possible in their tracks in as many 'new' and 'unique' ways that they can. How this collection of noise has received a User Score of 9.0 is beyond me. Usually it's the critics who try to see/hear the things that just aren't there to sound smart, or in this case, ignore all the raging atrocities "Death Grips" throws at you and call it great music because it's doing something 'different'. There is a thick line, nay, there is a line as bold as the Wall of China between creating a new sound that is not only intelligent but truly revolutionary and between just recording noise no one else has dared to before because it literally sounds like a feces-fueled Waterpark. A normal person, God forbid we use the word normal when reviewing this band though, listens to the song Guillotine and instead of enduring the noise, they turn it off almost as soon as it starts (unfortunately I did not have the luxury as I've had to give this album a fair review) while the "indie" crowd cringes and pretends to like it because only they are smart enough and capable of enduring such music, normal people just don't understand. The band provides nothing more than pretentious lyrics that truly have no substance unless analyzed and misconceptions are put therein, a vocalist (excuse me, just the lead) who literally sounds like a dog barking at you throughout the album and a pedophile backing voice, simplistic beats that an angry three year-old marching towards time-out could accomplish, and incoherent instruments that serve no purpose other than to add to the chaos. Many will tell me I just don't understand the music, that I am ignorant. But take a step back. Actually listen to this monstrosity. This is not music, it is a collection of noise. Collapse

See all 13 User Reviews