False Beats and True Hearts

  • Record Label: 20/20/20
  • Release Date: May 17, 2011

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
Buy On
  1. May 17, 2011
    It feels like Damon & Naomi have always been around to soundtrack the inner lives of melancholy dreamers smart enough to seek them out, and with this album they continue to provide the same impressive and necessary level of solace and inspiration, deeply felt songs, and enchanted performances that they always have.
  2. 80
    Collectively the nine songs that make up False Beats And True Hearts don't stray demonstratively from the path that Damon & Naomi have followed near-religiously since being coaxed into cutting More Sad Hits, but its subtly refreshed vocal shifts, balmy inviting arrangements, blur of rural-meets-urban asthetics and a clutch of mesmeric moments make it a record that could one day be considered as a true keeper in the couple's discography.
  3. May 17, 2011
    False Beats is by no means a reinvention of Damon & Naomi's signature, sigh-worthy sound, but it does add a lilting arc to its unassuming grace.
  4. May 16, 2011
    It glides rather than gallops--especially when Yang sings in a voice as light as a breeze rippling through lace curtains--which makes it perfect background for all sorts of civilized activities.
  5. May 18, 2011
    As with their fellow admirers of layered guitar rock on complex, if self-effacing, patterns, Damon and Naomi represent the evolution of those who grew up with punk and came of age with post-punk, while listening to the eclectic sounds of the late '60s. All of this, fermenting and distilled, rewards us on records such as these two this new spring.
  6. May 17, 2011
    Damon & Naomi have refined a formula at this point--and their cult of fans should appreciate this new glimpse--but for others it may still be an acquired taste.
  7. May 16, 2011
    False Beats and True Hearts may move slowly, but it moves with grace, and it never lapses into the sameness of yore. The varied arrangements help.
  8. May 16, 2011
    As with their other work with Michio Kurihara, False Beats and True Hearts is a slow bloom, an album whose rewards can become fully apparent only through thoughtful immersion.
  9. May 20, 2011
    False Beats and True Hearts is a slo-mo crawl through ghostly harmonies, assured and glacial pacing, and the smoking hot psych guitar of Ghost's Michio Kurihara.
  10. Q Magazine
    May 31, 2011
    Coming over not unlike Belle & Sebastian with muted horns and liltingly voices, sounds gently ebb and flow. [Jun 2011, p.110]
  11. Uncut
    May 23, 2011
    Their eight album of earnest, limpid lullabies is notable once again for the spangled guitar of long-term collaborator, Ghost's Michio Kurihana. [Jun 2011, p.80]
  12. May 20, 2011
    The lyrics are dense with vivid imagery that could be autobiographical but may just attest to the duo's ability to create intimate moments for their listeners to enjoy.
  13. Mojo
    May 16, 2011
    Do you like reading poetry while folded into a big armchair in some sunny corner? You'll love False Beats And True Hearts. [Jun 2011, p.102]

There are no user reviews yet.