Finally Rich - Chief Keef
User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 59
  2. Negative: 33 out of 59

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 18, 2012
    6
    This album is basically for people who like Trap. This album gets people going crazy in their cars, house, parties etc. Overall some songs are awful. But there some songs that I love. A 6/10 is a fair review for this album
  2. Jan 4, 2013
    0
    It's sad what kind of music youth are being brought up to enjoy today. Chief Keef is one of the worst artists known to man and can barely rap, let alone create a song. No stars ever.
  3. Dec 18, 2012
    5
    What you have to understand is that this isnt meant to be super lyrical and deep rap music like Kendrick Lamar or Lupe Fiasco. This is meant to pump up people and "Go Hard" at pep rallys, in the locker room before a game, or when your at a party. Most of the songs on this album are pretty ehh, but the ones that are good definitly go hard, similar to Keef's last mixtape.
  4. Dec 23, 2012
    1
    I picked this up because I bought a bit into the hype...but imagine my horror when my ears were exposed to weak ass raps and horrible beats. To be honest I am not surprised he didnt fill the album up with a few different remixes of I dont like....career over before you can say soldja boy
  5. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    This is worse than Nicki Minaj's crap. Chief Keef is the worst "rapper" ever and he's ALMOST an insult to trap music, which in itself as a sub-genre is horrendous. How somebody can make such awful music is beyond me.
  6. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    This album is terrible! Even other crappy trap rappers like Wacka Flocka Flame are so much better. Overall, all of the songs on here is awful! Don't even buy or pirate this album at all.
  7. Feb 3, 2013
    1
    Let's just, for the sake of discussion, ignore Chief Keef's arrest, ignore him laughing at Lil Jojo's death, ignore the apathetic interviews he's been in and ignore the fact that his cohort (Lil Reese) has been accused of attacking a woman. Let's ignore all the other stuff. What do we get with this album? Nothing. Absolutely nothing, Chief Keef is lyrically so bad and so boring that he'sLet's just, for the sake of discussion, ignore Chief Keef's arrest, ignore him laughing at Lil Jojo's death, ignore the apathetic interviews he's been in and ignore the fact that his cohort (Lil Reese) has been accused of attacking a woman. Let's ignore all the other stuff. What do we get with this album? Nothing. Absolutely nothing, Chief Keef is lyrically so bad and so boring that he's pretty much non-existent on his own album. I don't hate Young Chop's production. Granted he's a Lex Luger ripoff, but he's at least a successful Lex Luger ripoff. With that said, Chief Keef doesn't know how to handle this kind of production which is weird because that's pretty much his producer. Chief Keef raps exactly like he talks in his interviews. He's not clever, he's not cohesive and most of all he doesn't care. The highlight of this album comes right in the beginning when this kid goes on a rampage talks about how Chief Keef is about that life and attacking the haters who question Keef's thuggish ways. It was hilarious but it also showed what the album was lacking; passion. Passion in the lyrics, passion in the hooks, passion in the flows. Young Chop tries really hard on the 7 (8 on the deluxe edition) tracks he's on but everyone else simply does not give a All the features are pathetic, 50 is bored, Jeezy Ross is phoned-in, French Montana is French Montana and Lil Reese is a piece of When Wiz Khalifa is the best rapper on this album, something is wrong. Chief Keef is not only a bad rapper, but he's a bad singer. Love SOSA, Hate Being Sober, No Tomarrow and Kay Kay are filled with either bad singing or bad autotuned singing. And Laughing At The Bank is devoided of anything good, I'm astounded that Jimmy Iovine thought this was album worthy. "I Don't Like" was better when it had Ye, Pusha, Big Sean Jada.

    I don't really have a worst album or worst rapper because I always am able to find something I like about them. But this is one of the worst albums I've ever heard. Yeah I said it. Worst then K-Fed's album, worse than any Soulja Boy release (although not by much), it is really that bad.
    Expand
  8. Dec 26, 2012
    6
    If youre looking for another GKMC or even F & L 2, youve already made your first mistake. Chief Keef knows his lane and isnt trying to step out of that by trying to be more complex/lyrical than what he already is(nt). With that being said, Finally Rich is a fun, solid album. Catchy song after catchy song. The album includes many of Keefs career highlights, such as "I Dont Like",If youre looking for another GKMC or even F & L 2, youve already made your first mistake. Chief Keef knows his lane and isnt trying to step out of that by trying to be more complex/lyrical than what he already is(nt). With that being said, Finally Rich is a fun, solid album. Catchy song after catchy song. The album includes many of Keefs career highlights, such as "I Dont Like", "Understand Me", and "3Hunna". Songs somewhat sound the same, which may have something to do with Keefs tone and delivery throughout.
    Although "Citgo", the best song on the album, stands out. The soft, blissful beat is addicting. And Keef singing adlibs is quite hilarious. Speaking of hilarious, "Laughing To The Bank" is another one of the albums best songs. "Finally Rich" is just bad. The song sounds incomplete. Yea the rapping doest meet requirements, at all, but youll still find yourself singing along while blasting this in your car or headphones.
    Top Songs:
    "No Tomorrow"
    "Laughing To The Bank"
    "Understand Me"
    "Citgo"
    Expand
  9. Jan 10, 2013
    0
    I'm sure everyone has trouble understanding Chief Keef. Production is trash, i wasn't looking for an incredible lyricist but dude just says more random **** than 2 Chainz, except without humour. even hooks are terrible. I 1st listened to this after i found out Love Sosa was supposed to be on GTAV and I was dissapointed with the album giving me 45 min of painful trap ****
  10. Dec 26, 2012
    4
    This album is an example of the worst Hip-Hop that might exist, with a production of the worst that could be exist. The collaborations with 50 Cent and Wiz Khalifa does not help, rather do worse. However, "I Do not Like" is good, sure, but you can not want for more from this mediocre-auto-tune rapper.
  11. Dec 28, 2012
    2
    Anybody that is giving this album above a five is completely delusional. Lyrics + themes are so generic, repetitive beat patterns - it's all been heard and used hundreds of times before, so what's so special about Finally Rich? Hooks are whack, as are Keef's lyrics. The features (50 Cent, Wiz Khalifa, French Montana, Young Jeezy + Rick Ross) are less than useless. They just add more saltAnybody that is giving this album above a five is completely delusional. Lyrics + themes are so generic, repetitive beat patterns - it's all been heard and used hundreds of times before, so what's so special about Finally Rich? Hooks are whack, as are Keef's lyrics. The features (50 Cent, Wiz Khalifa, French Montana, Young Jeezy + Rick Ross) are less than useless. They just add more salt to the wound.

    The only decent tracks are "I Don't Like" and "Love Sosa", while "Laughing to the Bank" is the most annoying and trashy rap songs I have ever heard. Overall there's nothing justifiable about this album. Worst of all, the album was released just months after the hype. The label must've thought it was a good marketing scheme but the album only charted at no. 29 in the US. I see that the direction is trap rap/party rap, but Keef could've at least put in a bit more effort into it.
    Expand
  12. Dec 19, 2012
    3
    I thought this was going to be a much better album, but this album has turned out to be crap! He has like three songs on here that are decent and that laughing to the bank song is the worst, he ain't even making sense in it! Garbage
  13. Jan 9, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Chief Keef is not really a rapper. I mean, he is, but, really he is just a guy repeating himself. On his song I don't like I barely heard anything other than the words I don't like. I'll admit it's pretty catchy though. Now these days that's really all you need. He's successful from this album and I won't hate just because his music isn't my type. 5 out of 10. Expand
  14. Jan 24, 2013
    7
    Not nearly as bad as people are saying, or repeating. The positive professional reviews seem to explain it well enough, especially Pitchfork and the LA Times.
  15. Jul 30, 2014
    6
    Half of this album is laughably bad trash, but the other half is composed of fairly enjoyable trap bangers. The good and bad of a Chief Keef album can be summarized by two tracks: Laughin' To The Bank and I Don't Like. The first of these is one of the worst songs I've ever heard in my life and briefly forced me to consider never listening to hip hop again. I Don't Like, however, wasHalf of this album is laughably bad trash, but the other half is composed of fairly enjoyable trap bangers. The good and bad of a Chief Keef album can be summarized by two tracks: Laughin' To The Bank and I Don't Like. The first of these is one of the worst songs I've ever heard in my life and briefly forced me to consider never listening to hip hop again. I Don't Like, however, was beautifully raw and intense. Overall, Finally Rich does indeed have pretty **** lyrics, but it goes hard. ~ 6.2/10 ~ with deluxe tracks: 5.9/10 Collapse
  16. Feb 5, 2014
    7
    Definitely not as bad as everyone is saying. A lot of crap here but that is just Chief Keef and the songs that are good are so good that they cancel out the bad. Best songs- Kay Kay, Hate Bein Sober, I Don't Like and the classic Love Sosa
  17. May 3, 2014
    8
    Chief Keef does what he does best: Riding incredible beat with exceptional flow.

    If you go into every hip-hop release anticipating Black Star-level social commentary you shouldn't listen to this. If you listen to this project expecting trap-bangers, you'll have a great time. The obvious star of this project is clearly the production (mostly handled by the incredibly talented Young
    Chief Keef does what he does best: Riding incredible beat with exceptional flow.

    If you go into every hip-hop release anticipating Black Star-level social commentary you shouldn't listen to this.

    If you listen to this project expecting trap-bangers, you'll have a great time.

    The obvious star of this project is clearly the production (mostly handled by the incredibly talented Young Chop), but something about Chief Keef is special. Of course, the lyrics aren't really great in the usual sense, but Keef rides these trap-beats like no other. Catchy, melodic and at times hilarious.

    This project seems to be getting a lot of flak for it's brashness, by people who don't seem to be letting the record do what it does: bang. If you're not open minded you shouldn't visit this project.
    Expand
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Feb 28, 2013
    80
    Keef [has] formidable talent for writing hooks (and tracks) that are both naggingly catchy and strangely joyless. [Feb 2013, p.61]
  2. Feb 21, 2013
    60
    Production from the likes of Young Chop, Mike Will Made It, and Lex Luger propel Finally Rich since it's evident that Chief Keef cares just as much about precise lyricism as he does about keeping the peace on the Southside of Chicago. [Feb-Mar 2013, p.91]
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    40
    A hardened, firsthand account of the preordained dire straits of the American underclass, and Waka Flocka Flame-indebted boast talk minus the charisma.