Finally Rich - Chief Keef
Finally Rich Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut full-length studio album for the Chicago rapper includes guest appearances from such artist as 50 Cent, French Montana, Lil Reese, Rick Ross, Wiz Khalifa, and Young Jeezy.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Feb 28, 2013
    80
    Keef [has] formidable talent for writing hooks (and tracks) that are both naggingly catchy and strangely joyless. [Feb 2013, p.61]
  2. Dec 18, 2012
    75
    Finally Rich benefits from some professional tweaks in the mix, but otherwise leaves Keef's sound untouched. And in addition to succeeding on its own terms, it proves that Keef has a lot of potential-- much more than his detractors might have hoped.
  3. Dec 18, 2012
    60
    On Finally Rich he continues to execute a his niche sound, and at a high level.
  4. Feb 21, 2013
    60
    Production from the likes of Young Chop, Mike Will Made It, and Lex Luger propel Finally Rich since it's evident that Chief Keef cares just as much about precise lyricism as he does about keeping the peace on the Southside of Chicago. [Feb-Mar 2013, p.91]
  5. Dec 18, 2012
    50
    When Finally Rich works (and it often does), it's thanks to everyone other than Chief Keef.
  6. Dec 19, 2012
    50
    No amount of street cred can make up for this mostly middling, only intermittently marvellous record.
  7. Jan 24, 2013
    40
    A hardened, firsthand account of the preordained dire straits of the American underclass, and Waka Flocka Flame-indebted boast talk minus the charisma.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 16
  2. Negative: 9 out of 16
  1. Feb 5, 2014
    7
    Definitely not as bad as everyone is saying. A lot of crap here but that is just Chief Keef and the songs that are good are so good that they cancel out the bad. Best songs- Kay Kay, Hate Bein Sober, I Don't Like and the classic Love Sosa Expand
  2. Jan 24, 2013
    7
    Not nearly as bad as people are saying, or repeating. The positive professional reviews seem to explain it well enough, especially Pitchfork and the LA Times. Expand
  3. Dec 18, 2012
    6
    This album is basically for people who like Trap. This album gets people going crazy in their cars, house, parties etc. Overall some songs are awful. But there some songs that I love. A 6/10 is a fair review for this album Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2012
    3
    I thought this was going to be a much better album, but this album has turned out to be crap! He has like three songs on here that are decent and that laughing to the bank song is the worst, he ain't even making sense in it! Garbage Expand
  5. Dec 28, 2012
    2
    Anybody that is giving this album above a five is completely delusional. Lyrics + themes are so generic, repetitive beat patterns - it's all been heard and used hundreds of times before, so what's so special about Finally Rich? Hooks are whack, as are Keef's lyrics. The features (50 Cent, Wiz Khalifa, French Montana, Young Jeezy + Rick Ross) are less than useless. They just add more salt to the wound.

    The only decent tracks are "I Don't Like" and "Love Sosa", while "Laughing to the Bank" is the most annoying and trashy rap songs I have ever heard. Overall there's nothing justifiable about this album. Worst of all, the album was released just months after the hype. The label must've thought it was a good marketing scheme but the album only charted at no. 29 in the US. I see that the direction is trap rap/party rap, but Keef could've at least put in a bit more effort into it.
    Expand
  6. Dec 23, 2012
    1
    I picked this up because I bought a bit into the hype...but imagine my horror when my ears were exposed to weak ass raps and horrible beats. To be honest I am not surprised he didnt fill the album up with a few different remixes of I dont like....career over before you can say soldja boy Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    This album is terrible! Even other crappy trap rappers like Wacka Flocka Flame are so much better. Overall, all of the songs on here is awful! Don't even buy or pirate this album at all. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews