First Impressions Of Earth Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 374 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Strokes have abandoned longtime producer Gordon Raphael (well, for all but three tracks) in favor of David Kahne (Sugar Ray) for their third album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Turns out what the world was waiting for really was those that saved guitars finally making a record that truly reaped the rewards of their efforts. Is this it? OH GOD YES!
  2. 82
    A solidly good, if not great, effort from a solidly great, not just good, rock band. [#19, p.89]
  3. The Strokes match their innate catchiness with a new found intensity that makes First Impressions of Earth sound like a band hungry for blood.
  4. The Strokes don't have much of their own to say here. [Dec 2005, p.106]
  5. Leaping from the speakers in a fury of jarring axe steel, clocking rhythmic beats and clinical vocal swagger, ultimately this LP gives itself - at some 60 minutes length - an awful lot of time to say very little.
  6. 60
    The ambition's hampered by Julian Casablancas' sad-sack singing. [Feb 2006, p.68]
  7. The third time is not the charm, at least in the case of this album, which is polished to the point of being ultimately less appealing and without any angles from which to approach.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 207
  1. GeorgeR
    Jan 11, 2006
    Worth Buying
  2. Shawna-
    Mar 2, 2006
    my all time favorite band. Ten.
  3. Jun 12, 2011
    Never understood why so many people didn't like it. My favorite album of The Strokes by far. Less catchy than Is this it, I think the lyrics are much better, the music is more complex. It contains masterpieces such as "Evening Sun", "Heart in a Cage" and "Ize of the world". Expand
  4. AaronG
    Jan 5, 2006
    An album that seems like one continuous song that has no standout singles, yet it's quite addicting. I've listened to it nonstop for 3 days now. I dig it. Expand
  5. Miguel
    Feb 4, 2006
    It's a grower. "You Only Live Once" is amazing. The second half drags a bit, but you gotta give The Strokes credit for sucking it up and putting efforts into rejuvinating themselves. Expand
  6. BenJ
    Jan 2, 2006
    The Strokes have perhaps tried to do too many things on this album, it's a tad incoherant, but it works as a collection of songs. There will be plenty of haters--but regardless its still the Strokes, meaning it's going to be one of the best of this year for me. The 8 is in comparison to the previous albums, otherwise it would be a 10 in comparison to other bands. Expand
  7. jamesh
    Jan 7, 2006
    one listen and i realized it was complete crap. embarassing. reminded me of other bombs like pearl jam had and they just slink off into the forgotten recesses of our mind. total junk. Expand

See all 207 User Reviews