• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jan 3, 2006
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 386 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 386

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Never understood why so many people didn't like it. My favorite album of The Strokes by far. Less catchy than Is this it, I think the lyrics are much better, the music is more complex. It contains masterpieces such as "Evening Sun", "Heart in a Cage" and "Ize of the world".
  2. FoxyBrown
    Feb 4, 2006
    10
    very good.
  3. JosephA
    Jan 8, 2006
    9
    A bit of a challenge at first, mostly because it seemed so different. But I have fallen in love with the record and nothing can stop that now. The Strokes are in top form. Fantastic music.
  4. Paul
    Feb 5, 2006
    10
    amazing, not as perfect as is this it but nicer than room on fire.
  5. MarkJ
    Jan 3, 2006
    9
    This one gets better with a few listens. I loved Room on Fire on first listen, but some of these songs had to grow on me. They should have left off Heart In A Cage and Fear Of Sleep for a stronger, more concise album. Still, its very good.
  6. V.Z.
    Jan 3, 2006
    9
    This is way better than Room On Fire, which will prove to be the unnecessary album of this band. Perhaps First Impressions, unlike Is This It?, won't be such a must-have. In short: The Strokes have traded some of their (admittedly contemporary) uniqueness for a broader musical scope. You hear a lot of different influences on this album. That they still sound like The Strokes makes This is way better than Room On Fire, which will prove to be the unnecessary album of this band. Perhaps First Impressions, unlike Is This It?, won't be such a must-have. In short: The Strokes have traded some of their (admittedly contemporary) uniqueness for a broader musical scope. You hear a lot of different influences on this album. That they still sound like The Strokes makes the album so interesting. It's The Strokes discovering expanding their own horizons. The instruments are fantastic. You will find the best drumming and soloing The Strokes have ever done. The vocals sound less dreamy, more direct, and a little more emotional. Expand
  7. kmer
    Jan 3, 2006
    9
    I can undersstand the negative reviews that this album is getting simply on the basis that this isnt an album that you like right away. The first 3 or 4 listens I really believed this to be a weak album, but after that it becomes fully possible to appreciate the obvious strengths of this album. There sound has been pushed forward to new axciting and more complex places and anyone who is I can undersstand the negative reviews that this album is getting simply on the basis that this isnt an album that you like right away. The first 3 or 4 listens I really believed this to be a weak album, but after that it becomes fully possible to appreciate the obvious strengths of this album. There sound has been pushed forward to new axciting and more complex places and anyone who is willing to give it a chance will see that a great album is right in front of them. Collapse
  8. marisag
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    Some years from now, this album will be seem as what it really is: a masterpiece of rock'n'roll, one of the best albuns ever made. But I guess it's too early for that. The critics are too busy trying to destroy what they perceive as "the hypest band ever". Let them have fun, I say. We know better.
  9. SalameroN
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    Are these critisd on crack! This record is ridiculously good! Not perferfect, but what is? Totally different than their first two while still staying true to their unique sound!
  10. RuviW
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    Amazing album. The energy is raugh and overwhelimg. It's not as sophisticated as previous albums, but it certinly got more "edge" and crazyness.
  11. JAmiga
    Jan 4, 2006
    9
    It's not their best one yet, but it is a good album. Some great songs (Juicebox, Heart In A Cage and Electricityscape for example) but also some disappointingly dull stuff. Overall it's a good album, and tons better than most albums put out by all of those Strokes-wannabees that surfaced after them.
  12. JackM
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    I don't want to sound like a fanboy, but this is the Strokes album we've all been waiting for... revealing songs, tight arrangements (as usual), and it's not completely unabashedly derivative. You'll even forget that "Razorblade" sounds exactly like Manilow's "Mandy" after you listen to it. The Strokes have completely revamped their sound to near perfection, and I don't want to sound like a fanboy, but this is the Strokes album we've all been waiting for... revealing songs, tight arrangements (as usual), and it's not completely unabashedly derivative. You'll even forget that "Razorblade" sounds exactly like Manilow's "Mandy" after you listen to it. The Strokes have completely revamped their sound to near perfection, and with the album clocking in at over 50 minutes, you'll have more time to enjoy it. I'm gonna listen to it again right now. Expand
  13. AaronG
    Jan 5, 2006
    9
    An album that seems like one continuous song that has no standout singles, yet it's quite addicting. I've listened to it nonstop for 3 days now. I dig it.
  14. WarrenM
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    May be too early, but already one of the best albums of 2006
  15. NickyS
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    Those who voted this album any score under a ten are entirely missing the point. The Strokes have grown, not just as people but as musicians, they've matured and they see a different side of life that they hadn't seen back when they were starry eyed and learning how to play their instruments on Is This It. They're different people and thus the music naturally changes. Would Those who voted this album any score under a ten are entirely missing the point. The Strokes have grown, not just as people but as musicians, they've matured and they see a different side of life that they hadn't seen back when they were starry eyed and learning how to play their instruments on Is This It. They're different people and thus the music naturally changes. Would those god awful critics have preferred for The Strokes to rewrite Is This It another four times? And personally I believe this their strongest, most substancial, and Greatest album yet. It's musically innovative, it's genre splicing, and deliciously adventurous. Anyone critic who rates this album anything under a 100% is entirely missing the point. Expand
  16. DonK
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    I got off the music train after the Clash, but this really rocks! It is spot on and awesome! If all caps were allowed in postings here, I would gladly use them. The Strokes are among my heroes.
  17. MartinB
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    Absolutely brilliant again from the best band in the world.
  18. StefL
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    Best album of the year 2006, no use to buy any other album this year !!!!
  19. Shinto
    Feb 2, 2006
    9
    The Strokes 3rd record First Impressions of Earth You Only Live Once classic infectious pop Julian Lauper Juicebox batman red corvette pinball round the course Heart in a Cage hipster allan poe Razorblade mario water level Nikolai bass bop first harmony sweetheart On the Other Side Cash over ice baby drum groove Vision of Division virtuoso guitar c/o Valensi violent middle east mess The Strokes 3rd record First Impressions of Earth You Only Live Once classic infectious pop Julian Lauper Juicebox batman red corvette pinball round the course Heart in a Cage hipster allan poe Razorblade mario water level Nikolai bass bop first harmony sweetheart On the Other Side Cash over ice baby drum groove Vision of Division virtuoso guitar c/o Valensi violent middle east mess guitar imitating machine gun Ask Me Anything ballad no talk lies deceipt indians casinos mellotron Electricityscape sci fi sea city ominous gothic night light landscape w/ radio on 80s Killing Lies Is This It A side Fabrizio drum tap 3x lounge ballad Fear of Sleep Cyndi Lauper no fun 15 minutes clash down ending thud loud Hammond Jr on very drunk beer or redbull Ize of the World solo revenge of the 80s apocalypse ambulance night in the city Evening Sun beautiful contemplative VU calm glimmer stutter recede Red Light 8-bit nintendo blip blop sweet old fashion rock Expand
  20. samd
    Feb 26, 2006
    10
    Very underrated, lyrically dense- passionate singing and biting lyrics such As "I went to the concert and I fought through the crowd Guess I got too excited when I thought you were around". Not much better rock and roll around. The Stones of our generation. I think the critics are looking for a groundbreaking album , however it happened if "is this it?". What more can you ask for than Very underrated, lyrically dense- passionate singing and biting lyrics such As "I went to the concert and I fought through the crowd Guess I got too excited when I thought you were around". Not much better rock and roll around. The Stones of our generation. I think the critics are looking for a groundbreaking album , however it happened if "is this it?". What more can you ask for than honest songwriting, good musicianship, passionate singing and tight harmonies. beautiful, probably the best album of the year- best since arcade fire. Expand
  21. rickrecksloppyjoe
    Feb 6, 2006
    10
    i love it when albums this good get schizophrenic and bad reviews. lol. this album kicks ass.
  22. BeckyB
    Feb 8, 2006
    10
    Simply the best band around and an album to prove that. Somehow totally different whilst being entirely recognisable as The Strokes we know and love.
  23. jules
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    Strokes, you say strokes...
  24. bhrigug
    Jul 29, 2006
    9
    i gave it a 9 out of 10,coz i have been led to believe that perfection is impossible to attain......it's heartbreaking to know that people havent yet understood this album...it will take time,i saw it happen to me.when you understand it u will get addicted...........................and it really annoys me when i see critics giving their views so early in time.afterall critics are i gave it a 9 out of 10,coz i have been led to believe that perfection is impossible to attain......it's heartbreaking to know that people havent yet understood this album...it will take time,i saw it happen to me.when you understand it u will get addicted...........................and it really annoys me when i see critics giving their views so early in time.afterall critics are mere human like anybody else.what can i say about the strokes????no words can describe them best.. Expand
  25. RR
    Jan 4, 2008
    9
    Great, great album. I lost interest in the Strokes after their first, which I'd played to death. Then saw them live and was blown away - Pearl Jam aside, this is the tightest rock band in the world right now. Most of the songs they played I hadn't heard before, and I was thrilled by all of them. Guess what? They're on this record. A song or two could have been dropped; Great, great album. I lost interest in the Strokes after their first, which I'd played to death. Then saw them live and was blown away - Pearl Jam aside, this is the tightest rock band in the world right now. Most of the songs they played I hadn't heard before, and I was thrilled by all of them. Guess what? They're on this record. A song or two could have been dropped; aside from that negligible fact, Impressions stands as one hell of an accomplished album. Can't get enough of it. And only Julian Casablancas can rip off Barry Manilow (in Razor Blade) and still sound cool. Great job. Expand
  26. Vinnyg
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    SO UNDERRATED. While not quite as good as "Is This It," it easily surpasses "Room on Fire." I personally love almost every single track. The Strokes are definitely a great band.
  27. DanielG
    Jan 11, 2006
    9
    Great album
  28. GeorgeR
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    Worth Buying
  29. AndrewN
    Jan 12, 2006
    10
    Absolute class, this is my favourite Strokes album, so it has to be a 10.
  30. codyb
    Jan 12, 2006
    9
    i think its a refreshing album that shows the pain in julians voice. it also shows how they experimented with new sounds. all in all, the more i listen to it, the more i fall in love with it. its not as catchy as "is this it" or "room on fire", but as a true strokes fan, i think it is an amazing album. good job fellahs.
  31. DX
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    pure drooling sensation. if that makes sense. but you know what i mean. they rock.
  32. RobbyT
    Jan 10, 2006
    9
    So the consensus among critics seems to be that the album is a bit inconsistent due largely to the 60 minute running time. Allow me to point one thing out though: The Strokes' previous two albums were barely 35 minutes long! Good things can come in small packages but come on... even if there are a few tracks that are below average, I'll take a sub-par Strokes song over most any So the consensus among critics seems to be that the album is a bit inconsistent due largely to the 60 minute running time. Allow me to point one thing out though: The Strokes' previous two albums were barely 35 minutes long! Good things can come in small packages but come on... even if there are a few tracks that are below average, I'll take a sub-par Strokes song over most any other band's hit single any day. First Impressions of Earth displays The Strokes moving forward... something the band has struggled to do since their phenomenal debut. Expand
  33. andreas
    Jan 19, 2006
    9
    Actually this album has 4 songs ( juicebox, ask me nothing, razorblade,vision division ) that are so fresh...contagious...that only cold hearted poor guys can rate a 2 or 3. We live hard times for music...there is a general lack of ideas...and entertainment is a component so precious that a grouop like strokes should be blessed, instead of being awaited for a CRITICS killing... Gorgeous Actually this album has 4 songs ( juicebox, ask me nothing, razorblade,vision division ) that are so fresh...contagious...that only cold hearted poor guys can rate a 2 or 3. We live hard times for music...there is a general lack of ideas...and entertainment is a component so precious that a grouop like strokes should be blessed, instead of being awaited for a CRITICS killing... Gorgeous album anyhow ! Expand
  34. wardf.
    Jan 2, 2006
    10
    After repeated listens, the album really grows on you.
  35. JulianG
    Jan 2, 2006
    10
    Great album, begins with 3 great tracks and ends solidly with a track that reminds us of their first album.
  36. joshoh
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    La neta esta bien chido este disco !!!
  37. paulr
    Jan 22, 2006
    10
    This album proves the band to be the best in the buisness.3/3 and more juice to come.
  38. [Anonymous]
    Jan 27, 2006
    10
    Pretty much the best cd of all time. You get completely rocked out from the first 3 tracks and still have 11 solid hits to go. This album also contains at least a dozen of the best lines ever heard on cd, mp3, vinyl, whatever
  39. RichardR
    Jan 28, 2006
    9
    Yo, forget how cool they are or aren't, in your opinion, which, yes, matters as much as anyone else's; it all comes down to the songs. It always does. That's why the Stones are better than the Beatles, the Sex Pistols better than the Clash, the Psychedelic Furs better than Depeche Mode, Radiohead better than... This album is full of freakin' great rock songs, Yo, forget how cool they are or aren't, in your opinion, which, yes, matters as much as anyone else's; it all comes down to the songs. It always does. That's why the Stones are better than the Beatles, the Sex Pistols better than the Clash, the Psychedelic Furs better than Depeche Mode, Radiohead better than... This album is full of freakin' great rock songs, flawlessly conceived and executed. Great instrumentals, singing, and lyrics. We're all lucky guys like this are around to carry the torch. Expand
  40. MichaelJ
    Jan 3, 2006
    9
    This album has some real treasures, but also some trash. Had they shyed away from the whole butt-rock (Heart in a Cage) and the numbingly hookless Fear of Sleep and Killing Lies, it would have been a much more solid album. That being said, they have expanded their capabilities and style with songs like Electricityscape, Ask Me Anything, and Red Light.
  41. Joe
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    It takes a few listens to love it,but once you love it,you love it!!
  42. KesM
    Jan 3, 2006
    9
    Not as good as Is This It, but definitely better than Room On Fire, which I thought was good. The Critics are wrong, trust me. Buy It!
  43. BertJ
    Jan 3, 2006
    9
    about as good as Room on Fire
  44. wasp2020C
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    Superb album.
  45. LaddW
    Jan 4, 2006
    9
    The Strokes are one of those bands who you can only compare to their past work. That said, I've always enjoyed the Strokes' work, and FIOE is no exception. They remind me of the Ramones opus of work. While deviating only occassionally, artistically, from their punk roots, they remained dedicated to the sound of punk rock. In many ways, the Strokes do the same here, and stray The Strokes are one of those bands who you can only compare to their past work. That said, I've always enjoyed the Strokes' work, and FIOE is no exception. They remind me of the Ramones opus of work. While deviating only occassionally, artistically, from their punk roots, they remained dedicated to the sound of punk rock. In many ways, the Strokes do the same here, and stray echoes of Is This It?/Room on Fire abound on FIOE. It is a worthwhile listen, and one that proves itself after repeated listens. Still, at this point, the Strokes will have whittled it down to pleasing their core audience, and not just the ones who jumped on their first release. It is a pleaser of an album for true Strokes fans, and even after a few listens, you won't be disappointed. The boys of NYC are back, and here, they explore different ways to bark without loosing their bite. Expand
  46. EamonS
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    Is this It? has just been eclipsed. FIOE has genius lyrics and a really cool sound. Their best album yet and better than any album from 2005.
  47. PaulB
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    looking for a stonking album?? this will blow your balls off!!
  48. mijur
    Feb 1, 2006
    9
    i like ize in the world
  49. AshleyC
    Feb 19, 2006
    9
    Couldn't agree more with Elene - the negativity levelled toward First Impressions is highly frustrating. The band were at liberty to bang out a third, battered copy of Is This It but, instead, have clearly, and bravely, gone for broke. Yes the album is a couple of tracks too long and some experiments don't quite work but the overall level is very high and it is a BIG grower.
  50. lukew
    Feb 10, 2006
    10
    what is wrong with the music critics? is everyone really that snotty, they can't admit that the strokes made a fan-fucking-tastic record? is it just me? maybe my taste has become less discerning, i dunno. i'm just kinda flabbergasted that people aren't falling all over themselves; i think it's totally brilliant. and gutsy. and absurdly catchy.
  51. Shawna-
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    my all time favorite band. Ten.
  52. DougL
    Mar 28, 2006
    9
    Not as consistantly good as the first two albums, but nevertheless a handful of good tunes in the first half of the album. The guitarists have really stepped it up a notch on this effort as well. I would think old fans would appreciate this one for sure
  53. jo
    Mar 7, 2006
    9
    VISION OF DIVISION blows me away every time, amazing hook, amazing song, amazing solo... other highlights are Heart In a Cage (glad its the new single) and Juicebox for me personally. Very good album!
  54. IlyaR
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    Time and a tour has once again proved The Strokes, and this album, to be every bit worthy of the title for greatest band alive. After some of these ridicolous reviews, time, just like Julian said, is turning them into jokes...and it's only April. Imagine how this album will be remembered by December...and even more so 20 years from now, when this will be one of those pivotal, Time and a tour has once again proved The Strokes, and this album, to be every bit worthy of the title for greatest band alive. After some of these ridicolous reviews, time, just like Julian said, is turning them into jokes...and it's only April. Imagine how this album will be remembered by December...and even more so 20 years from now, when this will be one of those pivotal, defining albums of our generation, when kids who aren't born yet will be listening to classics like "Heart In A Cage" and "Vision Of Division" and complaining about how music used to be great way back when. Expand
  55. NicolaasG
    May 19, 2006
    10
    Amazing album. Just amazing.
  56. RonG
    May 8, 2006
    9
    The one that converted me Better vocals, more inventive guitars - such an improvement on the boring sounds of the past
  57. MattK
    Jan 9, 2007
    9
    This album is great, and if your a fan of previous work of the Strokes, you will not be disappointed with this effort. The music sounds fresh!
  58. Link
    Apr 20, 2007
    9
    The most authentic rock-n-roll album to be released in the last ten years. Killer solos, catchy rhythms, and beautifully crafted lyrics. The Strokes have outdone themselves. And the music is AWESOME in concert
  59. bobR
    May 5, 2007
    10
    "you only live once" is their best song yet... and it's in this album :)
  60. MarkK
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    it´s been a while since this was released and i recently heard it again. My impressions from back then were good , it sounded like a massive improvement in production, and i liked a couple of songs , but i never gave this album the atention i now know it deserved, mainly becuase i got distracted by other releases and frankly i got a little caught up in the critical reception it got it´s been a while since this was released and i recently heard it again. My impressions from back then were good , it sounded like a massive improvement in production, and i liked a couple of songs , but i never gave this album the atention i now know it deserved, mainly becuase i got distracted by other releases and frankly i got a little caught up in the critical reception it got and the overall sentiment that this was a dissapointment. Well , having listened to this again , for numerous times , i can say i LOVE it. IMHO, much better than the first two. It has such great guitar lines, with both sublime melodies and awesome tech.Nick and Albert just sound beautiful here, i´m impressed with these guys. Fab must have taken lessons or something , because he does some great drumming here and plays miles better than his old amateurish stuff. And Julian finally sounds like his singing and trying his best at it . And apart from the total upgrade in overall sound, the songs, while being still catchy and very strokes, are more diverse and interesting. Im not giving this a 10 becuase some songs frankly annoy me or i think are filler, like "Ask Me Anything", "Killing Lies" and "15 minutes" , but for the rest of them , a 9 seems fair enough. Expand
  61. marcyb
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    I think that they eally tried to grow on this album. they used a lot of experimental sounds, its great. julian really showed his talent as a singer.
  62. Jodan
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Awesome! Every song is amazing. The strokes kick A**!!!
  63. rudym
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    Genious masterpiece. Best band of the world keeps ruling the innovative and experimental art of song writing. Vision of division and Ask me anything are already immortal.
  64. tiega
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    rock on.
  65. ALEXR
    Jan 12, 2006
    10
    Fuckin A!
  66. JohnK
    Jan 13, 2006
    9
    wiked album, well worth it. only 1 song i hate ,"ask me anything"....... :@
  67. Elliott
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    The modern culture and press would never allow for a great rock band to permeate and dominate music for a long span of time. And this is precisely what The Strokes were saying (among many other things) in "Ize Of The World" and "Juicebox". Lyrically their most substantive and poweful album, it is nothing short of a generational wake-up call to this generation of rock fans, dressed up in The modern culture and press would never allow for a great rock band to permeate and dominate music for a long span of time. And this is precisely what The Strokes were saying (among many other things) in "Ize Of The World" and "Juicebox". Lyrically their most substantive and poweful album, it is nothing short of a generational wake-up call to this generation of rock fans, dressed up in the shortcomings, insecurities, and restrictive affluence of modern day society. That most rock critics are unwilling to sit down and truly listen to the sarcasm, irony, dialogue and philosophy of songs like "Ask Me Anything", "15 Minutes", or "Red Light" is proof that Strokes-haters had their opinions formed before the first chord on the album. But even ignoring everything about the lyrics, this was as much of a musical triumph as any rock record since I was born (1984), with the brilliant guitar interplay of "Razorblade", the uncanny masterpiece solo in "Vision Of Division" and the rhytmic tightness that is present in every single Strokes song ever written as highlights. Critics unwilling and truly understand this album are yet-again depriving fans of hearing the greatest band in the world. Expand
  68. ronanl
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    I would agree that the strokes have sacrificed some of their catchiness in terms of tunes in order to progress musically on the album. Everyone says this like its an awful thing - since when have radiohead been amazingly catchy? But they still write amazing music, and that's what first impressions of earth is.
  69. SK
    Jan 17, 2006
    10
    the more i hear it , the more i love it. another great release from the NY guys. it s good to have them back.love it.
  70. LorenzoG
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    Some people think there always right, and I
  71. talis
    Jan 2, 2006
    9
    i was afraid it will be crap after two great albums, but luckily i was wrong
  72. KrisB
    Jan 2, 2006
    10
    I'm giving it a 10 although there are 3 forgetable songs on this album. The other 11 more than make up for it. This is, without a doubt, my favorite Strokes album to date. Their sound has evolved without them changing their style. WHAT AN ALBUM!!!!
  73. JoseCuervo
    Jan 3, 2006
    9
    This is an album that requires a few listens before an accurate judgement can be made. Give it time and it will reveal it's genius to you.
  74. JohnnyK
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    A masterpiece. Early and nearly insurmountable contender for album of the year. Every track shines with techinically flawless precision. Those who decry the tautness of the performances seem to ignore the potency of the hooks within. And, of course, the lyrics matter much less than the attitude. This is glorious rock and roll circa 2006.
  75. EmmaW
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    You gotta give this album a chance. You may not like it the first time round, but keep listening because it's really a great album. It may be a different Strokes' sound, but it's still brillaint.
  76. BenjiG
    Jan 3, 2006
    9
    Not perfect, but very very good. Highlights are "Heart In a Cage," opener "You Only Live Once," and the unexpected ballad "Ask Me Anything."
  77. HaggbarthEvil
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    Why write? Press play! I saw them play in Milan. Fuckin fantastic!
  78. AnthonyW
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    Best album in the history of music.
  79. BrianS
    Jan 5, 2006
    9
    People are insane if they think this is a let down album. Did they even listen to Vision of Division or 15 Minutes?? Those songs are incredibly original and blow away anything else on the radio today. With the exception of one or two songs, this album is their masterpiece.
  80. Jon
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    I was worried The Strokes would put out an album that might suffer like Franz Ferdinand's did from its excessive repetitiveness, but this album demonstrates their ability to be creative with their music while not becoming a different band. Favorite song so far: Ask Me Anything.
  81. VinceG
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    It is a amazing album, i don't think they have to live up to is this it, they changed a lot from that album which is a good thing
  82. PatricioR
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    it takes a while to digest it...but after that it absolutely rocks!
  83. PatrickA
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    The Strokes are at their best best when the two guitars are set free to find a melody, and the rest of the band has the good sense to play along. Mission accomplised on "Cage" , " Red Light" and the standout song, "Ize". The guitar solo here runs away to some carribean island, leaving you passed out on the dock.
  84. JeffC.
    Jan 7, 2006
    9
    Great Album! Better than "Room On Fire"
  85. Stroked
    Jan 9, 2006
    10
    awesome. highlights: definitely you only live once, juicyjuice, red light, 15 minutes and Hawaii on the b-side of juicyjuice is one hell of a good song
  86. layak
    Feb 12, 2006
    10
    Shows the depth of the strokes, the musicianship is much better. Overall a great album, even haters might change their minds about the strokes. Highly recommended.
  87. RenanF
    Feb 18, 2006
    10
    what to say about you only live once, juice box, razor blade, heart in a cage, the other side, evening sun and red light? It´s great!!!!!!
  88. BellaC
    Mar 21, 2006
    9
    I love this album! Altough it is not as good as its predecessors Is This It and Room On Fire. The best song is definitly Heart In A Cage. Casablancas vocals are splendid.
  89. Hein
    May 21, 2006
    10
    They lost it compleetly
  90. blakew
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    nothing short of the best. And its ten times better than any band out there right now
  91. MaddyH
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    I personally don't know what some critics are on abou. All the songs are great and it REALLY does grow on you. The songs are amazing, julian is a great songwriter, and teh band has evolve into something new, but it is great.
  92. tommijo
    Aug 5, 2006
    10
    great cd and the best indie post-rock album in a year
  93. DylanR
    Feb 25, 2007
    9
    Great album, it's awsome, I listen to it all the time.
  94. FrankieM.
    Jan 18, 2008
    9
    I wasnt going to buy this album due to mixed reviews but then i heard you only live once and i thought why not buy it and now im so happy i did. my faviourite tracks are juicebox,vision of division, ize of the world and you only live once. also impressed by the guitar work the best ive heard from the strokes
  95. mikeb
    Jan 11, 2006
    9
    Completely different from their previous two albums; but in a good way. Much more diverse and experimental.
  96. LorenaT
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    i love it.... i love it.... i love it........
  97. RobD.
    Jan 12, 2006
    10
    This is a damn good album, it is promising and i think it is the best yet and the next will be even better probably. Critics always complain that they dont want a is this it 3 but when the album comes out and its not an is this it 3 they hate it. Critics dont know shit so dont listen to them its a good album.
  98. maria
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    This album is a-freakin-mazing. And to all the people who say it's crap, they probably don't evn like this kid of music. And hello, do they know anything about anything? It is, in fact, very common to use melodies from past songs for a totally new one. So get a life and go smoke your crack and don't even bother next time you want to say something bad about The Strokes. This album is a-freakin-mazing. And to all the people who say it's crap, they probably don't evn like this kid of music. And hello, do they know anything about anything? It is, in fact, very common to use melodies from past songs for a totally new one. So get a life and go smoke your crack and don't even bother next time you want to say something bad about The Strokes. Other than that I love every song on this album! Expand
  99. AukeM
    Jan 17, 2006
    10
    It's perfect!!!
  100. JoeR
    Oct 27, 2006
    10
    truly amazing. the opening five tracks are hands down the best opening five tracks of all time. what else could you want
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. 70
    Earth is the sound of a band coming to that inevitable realization: five patrician perfectionists who've resolved to sound sloppy, even (or especially) at the risk of fucking up. [Jan/Feb 2006, p.98]
  2. Turns out what the world was waiting for really was those that saved guitars finally making a record that truly reaped the rewards of their efforts. Is this it? OH GOD YES!
  3. First Impressions introduces some subtle new colors to the band's musical palette... but the pervasive sense of inert boredom, which has been noted as a strength in the past, is difficult to shake.