• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jan 3, 2006
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 423 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 423

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Never understood why so many people didn't like it. My favorite album of The Strokes by far. Less catchy than Is this it, I think the lyrics are much better, the music is more complex. It contains masterpieces such as "Evening Sun", "Heart in a Cage" and "Ize of the world".
  2. Jan 18, 2011
    8
    The Strokes have no doubt changed their style in music. This sounds like a garage punk album. Julian Casablanca's vocals are louder on this album and he sounds like a punk rocker whereas in their first album Is This It, his voice sounds more smoother. It's a good change. It sounds great. Especially for their third album considering Room On Fire was disappointing. "Juicebox" is my favoriteThe Strokes have no doubt changed their style in music. This sounds like a garage punk album. Julian Casablanca's vocals are louder on this album and he sounds like a punk rocker whereas in their first album Is This It, his voice sounds more smoother. It's a good change. It sounds great. Especially for their third album considering Room On Fire was disappointing. "Juicebox" is my favorite track on this album. "Heart In A Cage" is another great track. And "Ask Me Anything" is also great. All In All, The Strokes haven't made an album as good as their first and they probably never will, but First Impressions Of Earth is a very good album and still shows that The Strokes are still one of the best bands of our generation. B+ Expand
  3. FoxyBrown
    Feb 4, 2006
    10
    very good.
  4. JosephA
    Jan 8, 2006
    9
    A bit of a challenge at first, mostly because it seemed so different. But I have fallen in love with the record and nothing can stop that now. The Strokes are in top form. Fantastic music.
  5. Paul
    Feb 5, 2006
    10
    amazing, not as perfect as is this it but nicer than room on fire.
  6. Chris
    Jan 10, 2006
    8
    This album should have had 11 tracks just like their previous two efforts. The high points of the album however are very good!
  7. MarkJ
    Jan 3, 2006
    9
    This one gets better with a few listens. I loved Room on Fire on first listen, but some of these songs had to grow on me. They should have left off Heart In A Cage and Fear Of Sleep for a stronger, more concise album. Still, its very good.
  8. AndyR
    Jan 3, 2006
    8
    The first half is great, unfortunately the other half consists of songs that are poorly written, repetitive, and are no fun. Except maybe Red Light. At least it is still better than most of the crap out there.
  9. V.Z.
    Jan 3, 2006
    9
    This is way better than Room On Fire, which will prove to be the unnecessary album of this band. Perhaps First Impressions, unlike Is This It?, won't be such a must-have. In short: The Strokes have traded some of their (admittedly contemporary) uniqueness for a broader musical scope. You hear a lot of different influences on this album. That they still sound like The Strokes makes This is way better than Room On Fire, which will prove to be the unnecessary album of this band. Perhaps First Impressions, unlike Is This It?, won't be such a must-have. In short: The Strokes have traded some of their (admittedly contemporary) uniqueness for a broader musical scope. You hear a lot of different influences on this album. That they still sound like The Strokes makes the album so interesting. It's The Strokes discovering expanding their own horizons. The instruments are fantastic. You will find the best drumming and soloing The Strokes have ever done. The vocals sound less dreamy, more direct, and a little more emotional. Expand
  10. kmer
    Jan 3, 2006
    9
    I can undersstand the negative reviews that this album is getting simply on the basis that this isnt an album that you like right away. The first 3 or 4 listens I really believed this to be a weak album, but after that it becomes fully possible to appreciate the obvious strengths of this album. There sound has been pushed forward to new axciting and more complex places and anyone who is I can undersstand the negative reviews that this album is getting simply on the basis that this isnt an album that you like right away. The first 3 or 4 listens I really believed this to be a weak album, but after that it becomes fully possible to appreciate the obvious strengths of this album. There sound has been pushed forward to new axciting and more complex places and anyone who is willing to give it a chance will see that a great album is right in front of them. Expand
  11. KurtC
    Jan 3, 2006
    8
    The Strokes have always been good at disguising their talent for songwriting and brilliant musicianship behind a façade of simplicity. They
  12. marisag
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    Some years from now, this album will be seem as what it really is: a masterpiece of rock'n'roll, one of the best albuns ever made. But I guess it's too early for that. The critics are too busy trying to destroy what they perceive as "the hypest band ever". Let them have fun, I say. We know better.
  13. SalameroN
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    Are these critisd on crack! This record is ridiculously good! Not perferfect, but what is? Totally different than their first two while still staying true to their unique sound!
  14. RuviW
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    Amazing album. The energy is raugh and overwhelimg. It's not as sophisticated as previous albums, but it certinly got more "edge" and crazyness.
  15. JAmiga
    Jan 4, 2006
    9
    It's not their best one yet, but it is a good album. Some great songs (Juicebox, Heart In A Cage and Electricityscape for example) but also some disappointingly dull stuff. Overall it's a good album, and tons better than most albums put out by all of those Strokes-wannabees that surfaced after them.
  16. JackM
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    I don't want to sound like a fanboy, but this is the Strokes album we've all been waiting for... revealing songs, tight arrangements (as usual), and it's not completely unabashedly derivative. You'll even forget that "Razorblade" sounds exactly like Manilow's "Mandy" after you listen to it. The Strokes have completely revamped their sound to near perfection, and I don't want to sound like a fanboy, but this is the Strokes album we've all been waiting for... revealing songs, tight arrangements (as usual), and it's not completely unabashedly derivative. You'll even forget that "Razorblade" sounds exactly like Manilow's "Mandy" after you listen to it. The Strokes have completely revamped their sound to near perfection, and with the album clocking in at over 50 minutes, you'll have more time to enjoy it. I'm gonna listen to it again right now. Collapse
  17. TravisS
    Jan 5, 2006
    8
    This is definitely an album you need to listen to a couple times. The first play of this disc left me unimpressed, but by the 3rd or 4th listen it really starts to make sense. Julian's vocals sound more passionate on this album than any other and the rest of the band has progressed which they did not do on room on fire. I would've given the album a 9 but there are 3 songs fioe This is definitely an album you need to listen to a couple times. The first play of this disc left me unimpressed, but by the 3rd or 4th listen it really starts to make sense. Julian's vocals sound more passionate on this album than any other and the rest of the band has progressed which they did not do on room on fire. I would've given the album a 9 but there are 3 songs fioe could do without. All in all, it's a good disc and worth the money. Expand
  18. AaronG
    Jan 5, 2006
    9
    An album that seems like one continuous song that has no standout singles, yet it's quite addicting. I've listened to it nonstop for 3 days now. I dig it.
  19. WarrenM
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    May be too early, but already one of the best albums of 2006
  20. NickyS
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    Those who voted this album any score under a ten are entirely missing the point. The Strokes have grown, not just as people but as musicians, they've matured and they see a different side of life that they hadn't seen back when they were starry eyed and learning how to play their instruments on Is This It. They're different people and thus the music naturally changes. Would Those who voted this album any score under a ten are entirely missing the point. The Strokes have grown, not just as people but as musicians, they've matured and they see a different side of life that they hadn't seen back when they were starry eyed and learning how to play their instruments on Is This It. They're different people and thus the music naturally changes. Would those god awful critics have preferred for The Strokes to rewrite Is This It another four times? And personally I believe this their strongest, most substancial, and Greatest album yet. It's musically innovative, it's genre splicing, and deliciously adventurous. Anyone critic who rates this album anything under a 100% is entirely missing the point. Expand
  21. DonK
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    I got off the music train after the Clash, but this really rocks! It is spot on and awesome! If all caps were allowed in postings here, I would gladly use them. The Strokes are among my heroes.
  22. MartinB
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    Absolutely brilliant again from the best band in the world.
  23. StefL
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    Best album of the year 2006, no use to buy any other album this year !!!!
  24. carminef
    Jan 7, 2006
    7
    The sound tigth but its just ok
  25. ChrisH
    Jan 9, 2006
    8
    Personally i loved their old work, and yeah not all the songs are great but come on, half the people who gave this album a bad rating cant do anything any where near this good and so bad mouth it to appear to be minorly intelligent when compared to a dead monkey. Juicebox is a great song
  26. Shinto
    Feb 2, 2006
    9
    The Strokes 3rd record First Impressions of Earth You Only Live Once classic infectious pop Julian Lauper Juicebox batman red corvette pinball round the course Heart in a Cage hipster allan poe Razorblade mario water level Nikolai bass bop first harmony sweetheart On the Other Side Cash over ice baby drum groove Vision of Division virtuoso guitar c/o Valensi violent middle east mess The Strokes 3rd record First Impressions of Earth You Only Live Once classic infectious pop Julian Lauper Juicebox batman red corvette pinball round the course Heart in a Cage hipster allan poe Razorblade mario water level Nikolai bass bop first harmony sweetheart On the Other Side Cash over ice baby drum groove Vision of Division virtuoso guitar c/o Valensi violent middle east mess guitar imitating machine gun Ask Me Anything ballad no talk lies deceipt indians casinos mellotron Electricityscape sci fi sea city ominous gothic night light landscape w/ radio on 80s Killing Lies Is This It A side Fabrizio drum tap 3x lounge ballad Fear of Sleep Cyndi Lauper no fun 15 minutes clash down ending thud loud Hammond Jr on very drunk beer or redbull Ize of the World solo revenge of the 80s apocalypse ambulance night in the city Evening Sun beautiful contemplative VU calm glimmer stutter recede Red Light 8-bit nintendo blip blop sweet old fashion rock Expand
  27. samd
    Feb 26, 2006
    10
    Very underrated, lyrically dense- passionate singing and biting lyrics such As "I went to the concert and I fought through the crowd Guess I got too excited when I thought you were around". Not much better rock and roll around. The Stones of our generation. I think the critics are looking for a groundbreaking album , however it happened if "is this it?". What more can you ask for than Very underrated, lyrically dense- passionate singing and biting lyrics such As "I went to the concert and I fought through the crowd Guess I got too excited when I thought you were around". Not much better rock and roll around. The Stones of our generation. I think the critics are looking for a groundbreaking album , however it happened if "is this it?". What more can you ask for than honest songwriting, good musicianship, passionate singing and tight harmonies. beautiful, probably the best album of the year- best since arcade fire. Expand
  28. rickrecksloppyjoe
    Feb 6, 2006
    10
    i love it when albums this good get schizophrenic and bad reviews. lol. this album kicks ass.
  29. BeckyB
    Feb 8, 2006
    10
    Simply the best band around and an album to prove that. Somehow totally different whilst being entirely recognisable as The Strokes we know and love.
  30. jules
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    Strokes, you say strokes...
  31. bhrigug
    Jul 29, 2006
    9
    i gave it a 9 out of 10,coz i have been led to believe that perfection is impossible to attain......it's heartbreaking to know that people havent yet understood this album...it will take time,i saw it happen to me.when you understand it u will get addicted...........................and it really annoys me when i see critics giving their views so early in time.afterall critics are i gave it a 9 out of 10,coz i have been led to believe that perfection is impossible to attain......it's heartbreaking to know that people havent yet understood this album...it will take time,i saw it happen to me.when you understand it u will get addicted...........................and it really annoys me when i see critics giving their views so early in time.afterall critics are mere human like anybody else.what can i say about the strokes????no words can describe them best.. Expand
  32. JamesF
    Aug 10, 2006
    8
    Yes, the media enduced hype has burned out but what is still left is the blatant evolution of the strokes music. On tracks such as ize of the world , vision of division, ask me anything and even the well recieved juicebox it is evident that first impressions of earth is evidence that the strokes are fully capable of diversification. please - ignore what the critics say
  33. RR
    Jan 4, 2008
    9
    Great, great album. I lost interest in the Strokes after their first, which I'd played to death. Then saw them live and was blown away - Pearl Jam aside, this is the tightest rock band in the world right now. Most of the songs they played I hadn't heard before, and I was thrilled by all of them. Guess what? They're on this record. A song or two could have been dropped; Great, great album. I lost interest in the Strokes after their first, which I'd played to death. Then saw them live and was blown away - Pearl Jam aside, this is the tightest rock band in the world right now. Most of the songs they played I hadn't heard before, and I was thrilled by all of them. Guess what? They're on this record. A song or two could have been dropped; aside from that negligible fact, Impressions stands as one hell of an accomplished album. Can't get enough of it. And only Julian Casablancas can rip off Barry Manilow (in Razor Blade) and still sound cool. Great job. Expand
  34. Vinnyg
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    SO UNDERRATED. While not quite as good as "Is This It," it easily surpasses "Room on Fire." I personally love almost every single track. The Strokes are definitely a great band.
  35. DanielG
    Jan 11, 2006
    9
    Great album
  36. GeorgeR
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    Worth Buying
  37. AndrewN
    Jan 12, 2006
    10
    Absolute class, this is my favourite Strokes album, so it has to be a 10.
  38. codyb
    Jan 12, 2006
    9
    i think its a refreshing album that shows the pain in julians voice. it also shows how they experimented with new sounds. all in all, the more i listen to it, the more i fall in love with it. its not as catchy as "is this it" or "room on fire", but as a true strokes fan, i think it is an amazing album. good job fellahs.
  39. calvinhobbes
    Jan 10, 2006
    8
    Good enough to buy it. Some songs are brilliant, others not so good (make a selection and then you can listen this album: good vibrations).
  40. DavidH
    Jan 17, 2006
    8
    A pretty solid 3rd offering in my opinion.
  41. DX
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    pure drooling sensation. if that makes sense. but you know what i mean. they rock.
  42. RobbyT
    Jan 10, 2006
    9
    So the consensus among critics seems to be that the album is a bit inconsistent due largely to the 60 minute running time. Allow me to point one thing out though: The Strokes' previous two albums were barely 35 minutes long! Good things can come in small packages but come on... even if there are a few tracks that are below average, I'll take a sub-par Strokes song over most any So the consensus among critics seems to be that the album is a bit inconsistent due largely to the 60 minute running time. Allow me to point one thing out though: The Strokes' previous two albums were barely 35 minutes long! Good things can come in small packages but come on... even if there are a few tracks that are below average, I'll take a sub-par Strokes song over most any other band's hit single any day. First Impressions of Earth displays The Strokes moving forward... something the band has struggled to do since their phenomenal debut. Expand
  43. andreas
    Jan 19, 2006
    9
    Actually this album has 4 songs ( juicebox, ask me nothing, razorblade,vision division ) that are so fresh...contagious...that only cold hearted poor guys can rate a 2 or 3. We live hard times for music...there is a general lack of ideas...and entertainment is a component so precious that a grouop like strokes should be blessed, instead of being awaited for a CRITICS killing... Gorgeous Actually this album has 4 songs ( juicebox, ask me nothing, razorblade,vision division ) that are so fresh...contagious...that only cold hearted poor guys can rate a 2 or 3. We live hard times for music...there is a general lack of ideas...and entertainment is a component so precious that a grouop like strokes should be blessed, instead of being awaited for a CRITICS killing... Gorgeous album anyhow ! Expand
  44. pierrel
    Jan 2, 2006
    7
    This third album, indeed changes from the two predecessors, but also changes in quality and not for good. Many of the songs just doesn't seem to take off, or just go down after a good start which just repeats itself through the whole song, which makes the album sort of boring. Still it remains a good album, but doesn't get close from their exceptional "Is This It" work.
  45. wardf.
    Jan 2, 2006
    10
    After repeated listens, the album really grows on you.
  46. JulianG
    Jan 2, 2006
    10
    Great album, begins with 3 great tracks and ends solidly with a track that reminds us of their first album.
  47. joshoh
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    La neta esta bien chido este disco !!!
  48. whiteskin
    Jan 21, 2006
    8
    just take it or leave it...:)
  49. paulr
    Jan 22, 2006
    10
    This album proves the band to be the best in the buisness.3/3 and more juice to come.
  50. StephenC
    Jan 23, 2006
    8
    Not as cool as This IS It, but much cooler than Room On Fire. The opener is probably the best song I've heard from the strokes and Juice box is contagious. It seems as though they haven't tried to make a hit, they've just made an album which they wanted to do and the resulrts are great. Cassablacas' (Don't know how to spell it but you know who i mean) voice Not as cool as This IS It, but much cooler than Room On Fire. The opener is probably the best song I've heard from the strokes and Juice box is contagious. It seems as though they haven't tried to make a hit, they've just made an album which they wanted to do and the resulrts are great. Cassablacas' (Don't know how to spell it but you know who i mean) voice isn't perfect and that what makes it perfect and what make up the Strokes sound. Who wants to sound like a pop star anyway? Not these guys. Expand
  51. [Anonymous]
    Jan 27, 2006
    10
    Pretty much the best cd of all time. You get completely rocked out from the first 3 tracks and still have 11 solid hits to go. This album also contains at least a dozen of the best lines ever heard on cd, mp3, vinyl, whatever
  52. RichardR
    Jan 28, 2006
    9
    Yo, forget how cool they are or aren't, in your opinion, which, yes, matters as much as anyone else's; it all comes down to the songs. It always does. That's why the Stones are better than the Beatles, the Sex Pistols better than the Clash, the Psychedelic Furs better than Depeche Mode, Radiohead better than... This album is full of freakin' great rock songs, Yo, forget how cool they are or aren't, in your opinion, which, yes, matters as much as anyone else's; it all comes down to the songs. It always does. That's why the Stones are better than the Beatles, the Sex Pistols better than the Clash, the Psychedelic Furs better than Depeche Mode, Radiohead better than... This album is full of freakin' great rock songs, flawlessly conceived and executed. Great instrumentals, singing, and lyrics. We're all lucky guys like this are around to carry the torch. Expand
  53. Rob
    Jan 3, 2006
    8
    While not scaling the heights of 'Is This It?', The Strokes' new album is an improvement on 'Room On Fire' and demands multiple listens to really make sense. Reviewers have been put off by the fact that not every song is an instant grabber like the lead single 'Juicebox', however the album is all the richer for that.
  54. MichaelJ
    Jan 3, 2006
    9
    This album has some real treasures, but also some trash. Had they shyed away from the whole butt-rock (Heart in a Cage) and the numbingly hookless Fear of Sleep and Killing Lies, it would have been a much more solid album. That being said, they have expanded their capabilities and style with songs like Electricityscape, Ask Me Anything, and Red Light.
  55. Joe
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    It takes a few listens to love it,but once you love it,you love it!!
  56. ridgeb
    Jan 3, 2006
    8
    If the first Strokes album made me admire them, and the second made me snub them, then this one really makes me respect them again. They've matured into their sound--and though David Kahne's story of crying on the mixing board because the Strokes were "killing their sound" must have been inspiring, they've salvaged what works, and the elements align sweetly on this improved If the first Strokes album made me admire them, and the second made me snub them, then this one really makes me respect them again. They've matured into their sound--and though David Kahne's story of crying on the mixing board because the Strokes were "killing their sound" must have been inspiring, they've salvaged what works, and the elements align sweetly on this improved followup. Expand
  57. KesM
    Jan 3, 2006
    9
    Not as good as Is This It, but definitely better than Room On Fire, which I thought was good. The Critics are wrong, trust me. Buy It!
  58. BertJ
    Jan 3, 2006
    9
    about as good as Room on Fire
  59. wasp2020C
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    Superb album.
  60. Cuero
    Jan 4, 2006
    8
    A good third album. Not as impressive to me as Room on Fire was as a follow-up, but there are few, if any, weak songs. More diverse and deep than any of their previous albums. Mixed reviews are to be expected from critics, but this is a much better rock record than anything media darlings the White Stripes or System of a Down have released recently.
  61. LaddW
    Jan 4, 2006
    9
    The Strokes are one of those bands who you can only compare to their past work. That said, I've always enjoyed the Strokes' work, and FIOE is no exception. They remind me of the Ramones opus of work. While deviating only occassionally, artistically, from their punk roots, they remained dedicated to the sound of punk rock. In many ways, the Strokes do the same here, and stray The Strokes are one of those bands who you can only compare to their past work. That said, I've always enjoyed the Strokes' work, and FIOE is no exception. They remind me of the Ramones opus of work. While deviating only occassionally, artistically, from their punk roots, they remained dedicated to the sound of punk rock. In many ways, the Strokes do the same here, and stray echoes of Is This It?/Room on Fire abound on FIOE. It is a worthwhile listen, and one that proves itself after repeated listens. Still, at this point, the Strokes will have whittled it down to pleasing their core audience, and not just the ones who jumped on their first release. It is a pleaser of an album for true Strokes fans, and even after a few listens, you won't be disappointed. The boys of NYC are back, and here, they explore different ways to bark without loosing their bite. Expand
  62. GeorgeP
    Jan 4, 2006
    8
    A very anticipated album that contains some great songs during the first half - namely You Only Live Once, Heart In A Cage and On The Other Side. However, the second half of the album contains too much bland filler and you find your attention wanes. This is still a good album though, and should definatley be brought by fans of the strokes - if your not a fan, think carefully. They may A very anticipated album that contains some great songs during the first half - namely You Only Live Once, Heart In A Cage and On The Other Side. However, the second half of the album contains too much bland filler and you find your attention wanes. This is still a good album though, and should definatley be brought by fans of the strokes - if your not a fan, think carefully. They may have departed from their trademark sound ever so slightly (and you can now hear what Julian is singing) yet maybe not enough to attract the doubters. You never know though, time will tell, although this is certainly no Kid A. Expand
  63. Matt
    Jan 5, 2006
    7
    Sometimes they grow while retaining their identity - especially in the first half of the album. But there is too much bland new wave sounding music here.
  64. KevinK
    Jan 6, 2006
    7
    Half good, half bad. I like the updated sound, but there are a handful of tracks here I could do without. Highlights: You Only Live Once, Juicebox, Razorblade, Vision of Division (only for the solo) and Ask Me Anything. Also, the b-side of the Juicebox single called Hawaii is great and should've been included on the album, you should check it out.
  65. moil
    Jan 6, 2006
    7
    So so. Some songs are amazing, but their attempts to be experimental - mainly in the second half of this album - result in their most boring songs to date.
  66. EamonS
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    Is this It? has just been eclipsed. FIOE has genius lyrics and a really cool sound. Their best album yet and better than any album from 2005.
  67. PaulB
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    looking for a stonking album?? this will blow your balls off!!
  68. mijur
    Feb 1, 2006
    9
    i like ize in the world
  69. Dave
    Feb 16, 2006
    8
    An excellent album. The only reason the critics didn't get this is that they didn't listen enough. If you put this on for the first time in the mindset that any first impression other than immediate mind-blowing amazement is a failure to deliver on some kind of promise that's been hyped up by the media, you'll resent it. Give it a few listens, though, and you will love An excellent album. The only reason the critics didn't get this is that they didn't listen enough. If you put this on for the first time in the mindset that any first impression other than immediate mind-blowing amazement is a failure to deliver on some kind of promise that's been hyped up by the media, you'll resent it. Give it a few listens, though, and you will love it. Like both the other Strokes albums, really. Except that the musicianship's gone up a notch. Expand
  70. AshleyC
    Feb 19, 2006
    9
    Couldn't agree more with Elene - the negativity levelled toward First Impressions is highly frustrating. The band were at liberty to bang out a third, battered copy of Is This It but, instead, have clearly, and bravely, gone for broke. Yes the album is a couple of tracks too long and some experiments don't quite work but the overall level is very high and it is a BIG grower.
  71. lukew
    Feb 10, 2006
    10
    what is wrong with the music critics? is everyone really that snotty, they can't admit that the strokes made a fan-fucking-tastic record? is it just me? maybe my taste has become less discerning, i dunno. i'm just kinda flabbergasted that people aren't falling all over themselves; i think it's totally brilliant. and gutsy. and absurdly catchy.
  72. Miguel
    Feb 4, 2006
    8
    It's a grower. "You Only Live Once" is amazing. The second half drags a bit, but you gotta give The Strokes credit for sucking it up and putting efforts into rejuvinating themselves.
  73. Shawna-
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    my all time favorite band. Ten.
  74. DougL
    Mar 28, 2006
    9
    Not as consistantly good as the first two albums, but nevertheless a handful of good tunes in the first half of the album. The guitarists have really stepped it up a notch on this effort as well. I would think old fans would appreciate this one for sure
  75. StephenD
    Mar 30, 2006
    8
    There is no way this record deserves a 67 from critics. serious hating going on here. there are a ton of great songs on this album and maybe 3 to 4 bum tunes. People are just pissy about David Kahne being involved and otherwise, i don't know, deaf? jealous? i can't figure it out.
  76. jo
    Mar 7, 2006
    9
    VISION OF DIVISION blows me away every time, amazing hook, amazing song, amazing solo... other highlights are Heart In a Cage (glad its the new single) and Juicebox for me personally. Very good album!
  77. IlyaR
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    Time and a tour has once again proved The Strokes, and this album, to be every bit worthy of the title for greatest band alive. After some of these ridicolous reviews, time, just like Julian said, is turning them into jokes...and it's only April. Imagine how this album will be remembered by December...and even more so 20 years from now, when this will be one of those pivotal, Time and a tour has once again proved The Strokes, and this album, to be every bit worthy of the title for greatest band alive. After some of these ridicolous reviews, time, just like Julian said, is turning them into jokes...and it's only April. Imagine how this album will be remembered by December...and even more so 20 years from now, when this will be one of those pivotal, defining albums of our generation, when kids who aren't born yet will be listening to classics like "Heart In A Cage" and "Vision Of Division" and complaining about how music used to be great way back when. Expand
  78. NicolaasG
    May 19, 2006
    10
    Amazing album. Just amazing.
  79. RonG
    May 8, 2006
    9
    The one that converted me Better vocals, more inventive guitars - such an improvement on the boring sounds of the past
  80. ElliotM
    Jun 3, 2006
    8
    It certainly doesn't demand as many repeat listenings as its forebears (mostly due to its flabby nature and a couple of lacklustre tracks), but it still boasts the wonderful catchiness and musicianship. First Impressions.. almost runs out of steam after its fantastic opening stride, but their willingness to try new things - even if not always particularly successful - keeps it It certainly doesn't demand as many repeat listenings as its forebears (mostly due to its flabby nature and a couple of lacklustre tracks), but it still boasts the wonderful catchiness and musicianship. First Impressions.. almost runs out of steam after its fantastic opening stride, but their willingness to try new things - even if not always particularly successful - keeps it afloat. While previously each band member contributed to an overall sound, now each layer of music is easier to pick out (such as in the shuddering guitar and thrumming bass of Juicebox, and the upbeat drumming of Red Light) - and is all the better for it. Julian's voice, fuzziness begone, still remains one of the less urgent-sounding in rock, but it suits the music perfectly, and isn't that what's most important? Expand
  81. EddieEinarMrtnsnN
    Dec 9, 2007
    7
    First Impressions of Earth offers a matured the Strokes, and although they've lost the skipping and fast-moving appearance of the their two first albums, they've changed their style briefly in favor for something more ambitious. The album opens up as strong as anything, but midway through songs starts behaving half-formed, unusual for someone as Casablancas who's proven First Impressions of Earth offers a matured the Strokes, and although they've lost the skipping and fast-moving appearance of the their two first albums, they've changed their style briefly in favor for something more ambitious. The album opens up as strong as anything, but midway through songs starts behaving half-formed, unusual for someone as Casablancas who's proven himself such an early-matured songwriter. Either way, the band has learned new tricks and they behave just as smart as they did back in the early days, even a bit smarter. Lots of enjoy here, but you can't avoid feeling disappointed as 5 and maybe 6 of the 14 songs doesn't really punch as they could. Anyway; the Strokes rocks and still sounds refreshing. Expand
  82. MattK
    Jan 9, 2007
    9
    This album is great, and if your a fan of previous work of the Strokes, you will not be disappointed with this effort. The music sounds fresh!
  83. Link
    Apr 20, 2007
    9
    The most authentic rock-n-roll album to be released in the last ten years. Killer solos, catchy rhythms, and beautifully crafted lyrics. The Strokes have outdone themselves. And the music is AWESOME in concert
  84. bobR
    May 5, 2007
    10
    "you only live once" is their best song yet... and it's in this album :)
  85. MarkK
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    it´s been a while since this was released and i recently heard it again. My impressions from back then were good , it sounded like a massive improvement in production, and i liked a couple of songs , but i never gave this album the atention i now know it deserved, mainly becuase i got distracted by other releases and frankly i got a little caught up in the critical reception it got it´s been a while since this was released and i recently heard it again. My impressions from back then were good , it sounded like a massive improvement in production, and i liked a couple of songs , but i never gave this album the atention i now know it deserved, mainly becuase i got distracted by other releases and frankly i got a little caught up in the critical reception it got and the overall sentiment that this was a dissapointment. Well , having listened to this again , for numerous times , i can say i LOVE it. IMHO, much better than the first two. It has such great guitar lines, with both sublime melodies and awesome tech.Nick and Albert just sound beautiful here, i´m impressed with these guys. Fab must have taken lessons or something , because he does some great drumming here and plays miles better than his old amateurish stuff. And Julian finally sounds like his singing and trying his best at it . And apart from the total upgrade in overall sound, the songs, while being still catchy and very strokes, are more diverse and interesting. Im not giving this a 10 becuase some songs frankly annoy me or i think are filler, like "Ask Me Anything", "Killing Lies" and "15 minutes" , but for the rest of them , a 9 seems fair enough. Expand
  86. marcyb
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    I think that they eally tried to grow on this album. they used a lot of experimental sounds, its great. julian really showed his talent as a singer.
  87. Jodan
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Awesome! Every song is amazing. The strokes kick A**!!!
  88. BurwellW.
    Jul 12, 2008
    7
    While the first two albums were damn near perfect (if not the second then certainly the first with room on fire trailing close by) first impressions of earth slightly misses its mark. The first two albums were filled with nostalgia entangled within the lyrics and the melodies. This is lost. Hopefully with a new album they can get their mojo back.
  89. rudym
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    Genious masterpiece. Best band of the world keeps ruling the innovative and experimental art of song writing. Vision of division and Ask me anything are already immortal.
  90. tiega
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    rock on.
  91. ALEXR
    Jan 12, 2006
    10
    Fuckin A!
  92. Johno
    Jan 12, 2006
    8
    I wanna be honest as I can about this, and despite a lukewarm reception in the press, I really think this album rocks. The press were just waiting to knock them down (imagine the difference if this was the album by a NEW band). Not only did the Strokes kick the doors open for hundreds of bands 5 years ago, but they manage to sound fresh today. Typically for the Strokes, they wear their I wanna be honest as I can about this, and despite a lukewarm reception in the press, I really think this album rocks. The press were just waiting to knock them down (imagine the difference if this was the album by a NEW band). Not only did the Strokes kick the doors open for hundreds of bands 5 years ago, but they manage to sound fresh today. Typically for the Strokes, they wear their influences on their sleeves, Television, early U2, Magnetic Fields, etc. They sound remarkably like their former outfit (for some of them) the Walkmen, on some the songs. Some great ideas here, some blinding solos that inspire me to plug in again, and some very, very exciting songs that will sound great live or on the dancefloor. A few throwaway tracks that I will delete from my ipod but the rest are outstanding. Well done chaps. Expand
  93. JohnK
    Jan 13, 2006
    9
    wiked album, well worth it. only 1 song i hate ,"ask me anything"....... :@
  94. Elliott
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    The modern culture and press would never allow for a great rock band to permeate and dominate music for a long span of time. And this is precisely what The Strokes were saying (among many other things) in "Ize Of The World" and "Juicebox". Lyrically their most substantive and poweful album, it is nothing short of a generational wake-up call to this generation of rock fans, dressed up in The modern culture and press would never allow for a great rock band to permeate and dominate music for a long span of time. And this is precisely what The Strokes were saying (among many other things) in "Ize Of The World" and "Juicebox". Lyrically their most substantive and poweful album, it is nothing short of a generational wake-up call to this generation of rock fans, dressed up in the shortcomings, insecurities, and restrictive affluence of modern day society. That most rock critics are unwilling to sit down and truly listen to the sarcasm, irony, dialogue and philosophy of songs like "Ask Me Anything", "15 Minutes", or "Red Light" is proof that Strokes-haters had their opinions formed before the first chord on the album. But even ignoring everything about the lyrics, this was as much of a musical triumph as any rock record since I was born (1984), with the brilliant guitar interplay of "Razorblade", the uncanny masterpiece solo in "Vision Of Division" and the rhytmic tightness that is present in every single Strokes song ever written as highlights. Critics unwilling and truly understand this album are yet-again depriving fans of hearing the greatest band in the world. Expand
  95. ronanl
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    I would agree that the strokes have sacrificed some of their catchiness in terms of tunes in order to progress musically on the album. Everyone says this like its an awful thing - since when have radiohead been amazingly catchy? But they still write amazing music, and that's what first impressions of earth is.
  96. SK
    Jan 17, 2006
    10
    the more i hear it , the more i love it. another great release from the NY guys. it s good to have them back.love it.
  97. BaldvinE
    Jan 17, 2006
    8
    I´m a fan of the Strokes. Not their best work, but it works.
  98. LorenzoG
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    Some people think there always right, and I
  99. talis
    Jan 2, 2006
    9
    i was afraid it will be crap after two great albums, but luckily i was wrong
  100. KrisB
    Jan 2, 2006
    10
    I'm giving it a 10 although there are 3 forgetable songs on this album. The other 11 more than make up for it. This is, without a doubt, my favorite Strokes album to date. Their sound has evolved without them changing their style. WHAT AN ALBUM!!!!
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Blender
    70
    Earth is the sound of a band coming to that inevitable realization: five patrician perfectionists who've resolved to sound sloppy, even (or especially) at the risk of fucking up. [Jan/Feb 2006, p.98]
  2. Turns out what the world was waiting for really was those that saved guitars finally making a record that truly reaped the rewards of their efforts. Is this it? OH GOD YES!
  3. First Impressions introduces some subtle new colors to the band's musical palette... but the pervasive sense of inert boredom, which has been noted as a strength in the past, is difficult to shake.