First Impressions Of Earth

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jan 3, 2006
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 405 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 405

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Never understood why so many people didn't like it. My favorite album of The Strokes by far. Less catchy than Is this it, I think the lyrics are much better, the music is more complex. It contains masterpieces such as "Evening Sun", "Heart in a Cage" and "Ize of the world".
  2. Jan 18, 2011
    8
    The Strokes have no doubt changed their style in music. This sounds like a garage punk album. Julian Casablanca's vocals are louder on this album and he sounds like a punk rocker whereas in their first album Is This It, his voice sounds more smoother. It's a good change. It sounds great. Especially for their third album considering Room On Fire was disappointing. "Juicebox" is my favoriteThe Strokes have no doubt changed their style in music. This sounds like a garage punk album. Julian Casablanca's vocals are louder on this album and he sounds like a punk rocker whereas in their first album Is This It, his voice sounds more smoother. It's a good change. It sounds great. Especially for their third album considering Room On Fire was disappointing. "Juicebox" is my favorite track on this album. "Heart In A Cage" is another great track. And "Ask Me Anything" is also great. All In All, The Strokes haven't made an album as good as their first and they probably never will, but First Impressions Of Earth is a very good album and still shows that The Strokes are still one of the best bands of our generation. B+ Expand
  3. JohnnyR
    Jan 11, 2006
    3
    A terrible let down of a record. This album showed the Strokes abandoning what made them great and turn into just another rock band. A blatant disregard to melody, most of the songs are utterly forgettable. TIme will tell but history is bound to cast this as the album when the Strokes turned to shite.
  4. danb.
    Jan 5, 2006
    5
    who told whathisname he could be a crooner? he, like, really tries to *sing* here. for me, it doesn't work. it just ends up making him sound even less articulate and sleepy than usual. liked the last two albums... this one might grow on me but i've listened about ten times already, so, doubt it.
  5. AdamP.
    Apr 3, 2008
    4
    A poor album and a shame after enjoying this is it and room on fire. A shambles.
  6. FoxyBrown
    Feb 4, 2006
    10
    very good.
  7. JosephA
    Jan 8, 2006
    9
    A bit of a challenge at first, mostly because it seemed so different. But I have fallen in love with the record and nothing can stop that now. The Strokes are in top form. Fantastic music.
  8. johnw
    Jan 8, 2006
    2
    sucks arse
  9. Paul
    Feb 5, 2006
    10
    amazing, not as perfect as is this it but nicer than room on fire.
  10. ChrisD
    Jan 16, 2006
    6
    I must admit i'm not the biggest Strokes fan. I dont dislike them they have never grabbed me the way they have done to so many others. I stiil acknowledge thought that the band is taleneted and that Last Night will remain an anthem for years to come. So we come to their third album. after two albums which sounded excatly the same. With the lead single Juicebox offering so much and I must admit i'm not the biggest Strokes fan. I dont dislike them they have never grabbed me the way they have done to so many others. I stiil acknowledge thought that the band is taleneted and that Last Night will remain an anthem for years to come. So we come to their third album. after two albums which sounded excatly the same. With the lead single Juicebox offering so much and hinting in new directions i was overall disapoinited. The first three tracks promising and catchy biut by the 8th track i got bored. And dont even get me started on Track 7- Ask Me Anything. I can only hope that after a few more listens it will grow on me and I will appreciate the album like so many others seemed to have. Not for me I'm afraid. the repetive guitar and drony vocals just dont grab me but if you are a Strokes fan i suppose you will like it as all my friends who adore them seem to love it. Expand
  11. GH
    Jan 10, 2006
    4
    I was hoping it would be great and was upbeat with the first tune on the cd, but then it tanks badly....it is the first and last Strokes album I will purchase
  12. Chris
    Jan 10, 2006
    8
    This album should have had 11 tracks just like their previous two efforts. The high points of the album however are very good!
  13. AaronS
    Jan 3, 2006
    1
    Terribly boring album. I mean when you rip off Barry Manilow for a melody....c'mon now!
  14. MarkJ
    Jan 3, 2006
    9
    This one gets better with a few listens. I loved Room on Fire on first listen, but some of these songs had to grow on me. They should have left off Heart In A Cage and Fear Of Sleep for a stronger, more concise album. Still, its very good.
  15. AndyR
    Jan 3, 2006
    8
    The first half is great, unfortunately the other half consists of songs that are poorly written, repetitive, and are no fun. Except maybe Red Light. At least it is still better than most of the crap out there.
  16. V.Z.
    Jan 3, 2006
    9
    This is way better than Room On Fire, which will prove to be the unnecessary album of this band. Perhaps First Impressions, unlike Is This It?, won't be such a must-have. In short: The Strokes have traded some of their (admittedly contemporary) uniqueness for a broader musical scope. You hear a lot of different influences on this album. That they still sound like The Strokes makes This is way better than Room On Fire, which will prove to be the unnecessary album of this band. Perhaps First Impressions, unlike Is This It?, won't be such a must-have. In short: The Strokes have traded some of their (admittedly contemporary) uniqueness for a broader musical scope. You hear a lot of different influences on this album. That they still sound like The Strokes makes the album so interesting. It's The Strokes discovering expanding their own horizons. The instruments are fantastic. You will find the best drumming and soloing The Strokes have ever done. The vocals sound less dreamy, more direct, and a little more emotional. Expand
  17. kmer
    Jan 3, 2006
    9
    I can undersstand the negative reviews that this album is getting simply on the basis that this isnt an album that you like right away. The first 3 or 4 listens I really believed this to be a weak album, but after that it becomes fully possible to appreciate the obvious strengths of this album. There sound has been pushed forward to new axciting and more complex places and anyone who is I can undersstand the negative reviews that this album is getting simply on the basis that this isnt an album that you like right away. The first 3 or 4 listens I really believed this to be a weak album, but after that it becomes fully possible to appreciate the obvious strengths of this album. There sound has been pushed forward to new axciting and more complex places and anyone who is willing to give it a chance will see that a great album is right in front of them. Expand
  18. KurtC
    Jan 3, 2006
    8
    The Strokes have always been good at disguising their talent for songwriting and brilliant musicianship behind a façade of simplicity. They
  19. marisag
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    Some years from now, this album will be seem as what it really is: a masterpiece of rock'n'roll, one of the best albuns ever made. But I guess it's too early for that. The critics are too busy trying to destroy what they perceive as "the hypest band ever". Let them have fun, I say. We know better.
  20. SalameroN
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    Are these critisd on crack! This record is ridiculously good! Not perferfect, but what is? Totally different than their first two while still staying true to their unique sound!
  21. RuviW
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    Amazing album. The energy is raugh and overwhelimg. It's not as sophisticated as previous albums, but it certinly got more "edge" and crazyness.
  22. JAmiga
    Jan 4, 2006
    9
    It's not their best one yet, but it is a good album. Some great songs (Juicebox, Heart In A Cage and Electricityscape for example) but also some disappointingly dull stuff. Overall it's a good album, and tons better than most albums put out by all of those Strokes-wannabees that surfaced after them.
  23. JackM
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    I don't want to sound like a fanboy, but this is the Strokes album we've all been waiting for... revealing songs, tight arrangements (as usual), and it's not completely unabashedly derivative. You'll even forget that "Razorblade" sounds exactly like Manilow's "Mandy" after you listen to it. The Strokes have completely revamped their sound to near perfection, and I don't want to sound like a fanboy, but this is the Strokes album we've all been waiting for... revealing songs, tight arrangements (as usual), and it's not completely unabashedly derivative. You'll even forget that "Razorblade" sounds exactly like Manilow's "Mandy" after you listen to it. The Strokes have completely revamped their sound to near perfection, and with the album clocking in at over 50 minutes, you'll have more time to enjoy it. I'm gonna listen to it again right now. Expand
  24. TravisS
    Jan 5, 2006
    8
    This is definitely an album you need to listen to a couple times. The first play of this disc left me unimpressed, but by the 3rd or 4th listen it really starts to make sense. Julian's vocals sound more passionate on this album than any other and the rest of the band has progressed which they did not do on room on fire. I would've given the album a 9 but there are 3 songs fioe This is definitely an album you need to listen to a couple times. The first play of this disc left me unimpressed, but by the 3rd or 4th listen it really starts to make sense. Julian's vocals sound more passionate on this album than any other and the rest of the band has progressed which they did not do on room on fire. I would've given the album a 9 but there are 3 songs fioe could do without. All in all, it's a good disc and worth the money. Expand
  25. AaronG
    Jan 5, 2006
    9
    An album that seems like one continuous song that has no standout singles, yet it's quite addicting. I've listened to it nonstop for 3 days now. I dig it.
  26. WarrenM
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    May be too early, but already one of the best albums of 2006
  27. NickyS
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    Those who voted this album any score under a ten are entirely missing the point. The Strokes have grown, not just as people but as musicians, they've matured and they see a different side of life that they hadn't seen back when they were starry eyed and learning how to play their instruments on Is This It. They're different people and thus the music naturally changes. Would Those who voted this album any score under a ten are entirely missing the point. The Strokes have grown, not just as people but as musicians, they've matured and they see a different side of life that they hadn't seen back when they were starry eyed and learning how to play their instruments on Is This It. They're different people and thus the music naturally changes. Would those god awful critics have preferred for The Strokes to rewrite Is This It another four times? And personally I believe this their strongest, most substancial, and Greatest album yet. It's musically innovative, it's genre splicing, and deliciously adventurous. Anyone critic who rates this album anything under a 100% is entirely missing the point. Expand
  28. DonK
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    I got off the music train after the Clash, but this really rocks! It is spot on and awesome! If all caps were allowed in postings here, I would gladly use them. The Strokes are among my heroes.
  29. MartinB
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    Absolutely brilliant again from the best band in the world.
  30. StefL
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    Best album of the year 2006, no use to buy any other album this year !!!!
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Blender
    70
    Earth is the sound of a band coming to that inevitable realization: five patrician perfectionists who've resolved to sound sloppy, even (or especially) at the risk of fucking up. [Jan/Feb 2006, p.98]
  2. Turns out what the world was waiting for really was those that saved guitars finally making a record that truly reaped the rewards of their efforts. Is this it? OH GOD YES!
  3. First Impressions introduces some subtle new colors to the band's musical palette... but the pervasive sense of inert boredom, which has been noted as a strength in the past, is difficult to shake.