Fishscale

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Mar 28, 2006
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 99
  2. Negative: 5 out of 99

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DaveNobody
    May 1, 2006
    9
    I understand a couple of tracks had to be added to sell records, but even they are better than most of this Nelly and Chamillionaire crap that folks are passing off as Hip-Hop these days
  2. KyleT
    May 27, 2006
    0
    dis cd was wack as hell. i brought this cd and listened to two songs and threw the muthafucka out da muthafuckin widow and i want my money back. lets get real his carrer is just like RICK ROSS. dis nigga is bout 50 years old, he needs to give it up cuz if i put out a shitty album like dis i would retire.
  3. DaveA
    May 27, 2006
    0
    Rap is not music. And this album is no different.
  4. DanH
    May 6, 2006
    9
    If you don't like rap/hip-hop this won't be a big breakthrough for you. If you do like most rap/hip-hop, sit back and enjoy it.
  5. CASTROR
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    Ghost was the very 1st person to rhyme on the Wu's 1st album. At that point in time he really didn't grab me. Method was baskin in the lite back then. I was on the westside hiway w/ my cousin when Supreme Clientele dropped, and I first heard in my car. It was live, but I really didn't pay much attention to it. My cousin was more up on Ghost back then, than myself. It must Ghost was the very 1st person to rhyme on the Wu's 1st album. At that point in time he really didn't grab me. Method was baskin in the lite back then. I was on the westside hiway w/ my cousin when Supreme Clientele dropped, and I first heard in my car. It was live, but I really didn't pay much attention to it. My cousin was more up on Ghost back then, than myself. It must have been around 2002 I purchased Supreme Clientele(One of the best albums in music of all time!). I payed attention to Ghost, and it was sick! Every album he has put out is fly. I have them all, plus his mixed tapes. Ghost's skill as a rapper is off the scales. I 1st heard Kilo on the underground. I was glad to hear him again, and not shocked about how fly the song was/is. I couldn't wait for his album to drop. The entire Fishscale is Fly. It captures the essence of rap music. I can tell he was raised on the same radio rap shows that I would listen to when I was 12- til today. I always admire his flavor. None of his music is for wack. Shame the masses don't buy his albums, as they do for other rappers of a lesser calibur. His albums are like jewels that are yet to have been appreciated by the mainstream mass. This album was surely one of the top 5 albums of 2006. Expand
  6. G-Spottin'Killah
    Oct 23, 2006
    9
    This album is by FAR the illest he's dropped. These wack - albeit few - reviews which suggest otherwise need get their ears checked. And checked hard.
  7. MattT
    Oct 6, 2006
    9
    This is the best hip-hop album thus far in 2006. Kyle T you need to check your head. You're probably listening to Young Jibbs as we speak. Dave A you can suck llama peepee. Stop commenting on shit you have no business with. I don't clown you for liking Backstreet Boys so go back to your bedroom and continue masturbating.
  8. TyM
    Mar 28, 2006
    9
    This album is a gem, probably the best production to date for any of Ghost's albums. But I still feel like something is missing. Maybe it's the amount of skits on the album, I can understand if they were placed to link the songs together to tell the story but they aren't. Ghost doesn't need to show any of his fans his level of comedic ability, and if you are just This album is a gem, probably the best production to date for any of Ghost's albums. But I still feel like something is missing. Maybe it's the amount of skits on the album, I can understand if they were placed to link the songs together to tell the story but they aren't. Ghost doesn't need to show any of his fans his level of comedic ability, and if you are just listening to him for the first time with this album you have some serious catching up to do. But songs like Jellyfish, Shakey dog and Beauty Jackson are something to be impressed with. All in all this is one of his finest achievments. Expand
  9. Warsk
    Apr 25, 2006
    10
    Incredible album. No doubt. That being said, please please please STOP hating on Bulletproof Wallets -- that shit is like his Sgt. Pepper's record . . . a transitional time masked by the events of 9/11. Why people hate Wallets so much, I'll never know. Just please stop hating on it. The Hilton, anyone? Pop Yo Collar? Christ . . .
  10. Hein
    Apr 30, 2006
    7
    Just a reliable hip-hop record with his ups and downs.
  11. DamianW
    Jun 13, 2006
    9
    Very Good Album from Ghostface in a while. I love MF Doom and Madlib and the underground scene and will be looking foward to the MF Doom and Ghostface Album coming out soon
  12. KulayM
    Jun 20, 2006
    9
    Dave A, you're disrespecting on the entire African American culture. and kyle t, if a 50 year old dude wants to make hip hop art, and tell his life story so be it. if you were poor, you wouldn't have money for instruments...and in the meantime, let's see you guys try to rap and come up with something that's real and not generic, huh? That's right you guys Dave A, you're disrespecting on the entire African American culture. and kyle t, if a 50 year old dude wants to make hip hop art, and tell his life story so be it. if you were poor, you wouldn't have money for instruments...and in the meantime, let's see you guys try to rap and come up with something that's real and not generic, huh? That's right you guys can't, cuz you don't have the ability. I'll tell you what's wack, boy band shit and that generic materialism garbage you hear on the everyday radio. Expand
  13. JamesT
    Jun 20, 2006
    8
    I would like for Dr. Todd Boyd to give a lecture to Dave A's cracker ass so he can shut the hell up. In the meantime, Ghostface's album is dope.
  14. Aaron
    Feb 10, 2008
    9
    The Austin Chronicle gets this one very wrong. 2 of the 3 songs called out as weak are some of the best on the album and best of that year. This is what hip hop is all about.
  15. MiguelA
    Jun 6, 2009
    9
    Not the best rap album of the year. I still have trouble choosing between this and Clipse's Hell Hath No Fury. But, man.... This is a good album. The beats are dope and Ghost just does his thing like usual. There are NO weak songs on the whole album, but the skits suck (Ghost never was good at skits). So, out of al the good songs (there are no bad ones) of course there are the Not the best rap album of the year. I still have trouble choosing between this and Clipse's Hell Hath No Fury. But, man.... This is a good album. The beats are dope and Ghost just does his thing like usual. There are NO weak songs on the whole album, but the skits suck (Ghost never was good at skits). So, out of al the good songs (there are no bad ones) of course there are the classics. You'll have to listen and find them yourself. It's your opinion. Expand
  16. ChrisM
    Mar 30, 2006
    7
    Tres bien!
  17. ElvinS
    Apr 13, 2006
    10
    Ghostface Killah is to the world of hip hop what Vincent Van Gogh was to the art world a masterful genius with an eye for envisioning graphically detail laded stories that the average rapper couldn
  18. PoepI
    Apr 13, 2006
    10
    Wu Tang is back!
  19. aL.ck
    Apr 14, 2006
    9
    whats wrong wit Austin Chronicle?This is a damn fantastic album.
  20. Pelicaine
    Apr 2, 2006
    9
    Well, it's hard to go back to 2004's "The Pretty Toney Album" and not be let down. "Fishscale" is Grade-A all the way through. In fact, he seems light years ahead lyrically on this release than his last one. The beats are on point and his lyricism is real vivid. I thought I would be let down by the Ne-yo appearance, but it worked out. There were a few tracks that I skipped Well, it's hard to go back to 2004's "The Pretty Toney Album" and not be let down. "Fishscale" is Grade-A all the way through. In fact, he seems light years ahead lyrically on this release than his last one. The beats are on point and his lyricism is real vivid. I thought I would be let down by the Ne-yo appearance, but it worked out. There were a few tracks that I skipped (Jellyfish and Underwater). There are just too many other fulfilling tracks on this album. All in all, the producers came through for Ironman. Ironman brought it to the table. Do your CD collection a little bit of justice and get this disc. Expand
  21. Billy
    Apr 30, 2006
    5
    Some great grooves but I don
  22. DerekE
    Apr 4, 2006
    9
    This album is really really good, man. I was excited to hear it just because of the MF Doom production, but Ghostface has outdone himself, again.... this album might even be better than Supreme Clientele. mgsc -- of course the subject matter is "disturbing", but you need to pay attention to how he frames these issues. Giving GF a 5 because he discusses what he knows isn't fair. Not This album is really really good, man. I was excited to hear it just because of the MF Doom production, but Ghostface has outdone himself, again.... this album might even be better than Supreme Clientele. mgsc -- of course the subject matter is "disturbing", but you need to pay attention to how he frames these issues. Giving GF a 5 because he discusses what he knows isn't fair. Not only does he not glamorize, but he tells these street stories with incredible eloquence. Don't hate, suckaaaaah. :-) Expand
  23. BenT
    May 5, 2006
    9
    better than ironman.
  24. DillonM
    Jun 20, 2006
    7
    Rap is music, too. And fuck Kyle T.
  25. rob
    Jun 5, 2006
    9
    dude, maybe not as good as supreme clientele but damn close. this album is phenomenal. i don't want to hear crying about how there's guns and bitches, it's just as bad in rock and roll. and rap is music, dave a isn't a person
  26. JTSodergren
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    the best MC in hip-hop does again.
  27. justinb
    Mar 28, 2006
    9
    This album is amazing. "Freak the beats cause the streets is raw," ODB apparently told Ghost on the Pretty Tony Album. He did it, and props to the man. Listen to it, and listen carefully.
  28. FrancoS
    Mar 31, 2006
    9
    Bangin,Oringinal, It has a song for everybody on this album. If you are a true hip hop fan go and cop this album
  29. EthanS
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    The best album I have ever heard in my life. The ability that Ghostface has of getting his convincing points across simply astonishes my mind.
  30. PaulB
    Apr 1, 2006
    9
    About as good lyrically as you are allowed to expect.
  31. ivanm
    Apr 12, 2006
    10
    YES!
  32. Alex
    Apr 27, 2006
    10
    I've been Ghostface since Sepreme Clientele and have purchased all his solo albums as well as downloaded whatever he never put out officially... that being said this album is his best. I'm not gonna repeat the reviews that listed in detail what makes this album so damn, damn, damn hot but I will say that it's sad that Def Jam suggested the price at 7 dollars and it still I've been Ghostface since Sepreme Clientele and have purchased all his solo albums as well as downloaded whatever he never put out officially... that being said this album is his best. I'm not gonna repeat the reviews that listed in detail what makes this album so damn, damn, damn hot but I will say that it's sad that Def Jam suggested the price at 7 dollars and it still hasn't hit the same numbers as the mindless ying-yang twins and the like. This album isn't just a perfect hip-hop album but the best album I've bought in like... I would say, years. Regardless of genre this album will remain on top for a long while. 3 small notes: If you got the bootleg, thought the album was wack, get this REAL ONE. The longer version of "barbershop" has an extra few verses with Ghost making some social comentary (even droping the president in there) and is much better than the limited, but funny, album version. Last, I LOVE "jellyfish" it's my favorite track! Expand
  33. KevinW
    May 27, 2006
    10
    Dis is the best gangsta rap CD out now and everyone needs to go get it instead of TI's wack cd
  34. FS
    Aug 19, 2006
    10
    This year's only true classic so far that I know of. Fury, persistance, momentum, great production and rapping. It takes the crack rap trend and makes all the bandwagon jumpers look like nursery rhymers. It's gotten great reviews, but it's too bad the record buying public doesn't care. I got it for just seven dollars at Best Buy. 2006 has been a bad year for music, but This year's only true classic so far that I know of. Fury, persistance, momentum, great production and rapping. It takes the crack rap trend and makes all the bandwagon jumpers look like nursery rhymers. It's gotten great reviews, but it's too bad the record buying public doesn't care. I got it for just seven dollars at Best Buy. 2006 has been a bad year for music, but you must hear this. Best rap album so far this decade, probably. Expand
  35. JimmyP
    Aug 2, 2006
    10
    Awsome album. Heard it and I was really astounded by the lyrics. Word up to MF Doom, Just Blaze, and J. Dilla(R.I.P) and the other producers with the soul samples and the hot beats....One of the best rap albums of 2006. Can't wait for Ludacris, Nas, and Common to challenge that crown.
  36. lazyassedcriminalmilkweed
    Jan 12, 2007
    10
    ill ass shit hate these niggas who think they know what hip-hop is its not music its a lifestyle man dont diss what u dont understand. I FUCKIN MISS WU-TANG CLAN AND THE FACT THEY HELPED HIM OUT MAN FUCKERS ARE AWESOME DAM. but anyway peace out. WU-TANG CLAN AINT NOTHIN TO FUCK WIT
  37. KrishB.
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    Best album since his debut Ironman. Production is top notch with producers like J Dilla, Pete Rock, MF Doom and Just Blaze who provide an amazing drop in which Ghostface comes of extremely hard with striking, sharp lyrics. Features guest apperances with Raekwon, Cappadonna, Trife, Ne-Yo etc. Best cut on the album is definitely R.A.G.U.
  38. Doug
    Dec 1, 2006
    7
    This album is the most over-rated of the year. The second half of this album is mediocre at best.
  39. eb
    Dec 23, 2006
    10
    just picked this up, yeh i know a little late, put easily one of the best albums of the year.
  40. FarooqA
    Mar 28, 2006
    9
    Whats that? Your a fan of Hip-Hop? You dont knoow who this guy is? You dont understand half of what he says? Buy this album and if you cant feel Ghostfaces raw emotion on it and get lost in the depth of the tracks (half the fun IS decyphring some of his lyrics) then you need to ask yourself whether you actually enjoy hip-hop. Just play the album, sit relax with some popcorn and crisps Whats that? Your a fan of Hip-Hop? You dont knoow who this guy is? You dont understand half of what he says? Buy this album and if you cant feel Ghostfaces raw emotion on it and get lost in the depth of the tracks (half the fun IS decyphring some of his lyrics) then you need to ask yourself whether you actually enjoy hip-hop. Just play the album, sit relax with some popcorn and crisps (chips), close your eyes and your in Ghostfaces very own movie - Most of the tracks on here are that vivid. Ghostface Killah continues his high quality output! Its almost an injustice how hes not considered one of the best rappers alive. "Shakey dog" probably puts most recent films to shame - such is the sheer depth of description in just one track.. I would urge all fans to also get a copy of the ORIGINAL versions of Barbershop (extra verse) , The Champ (With the original trainer's voice and Mr.T dialogue from Rocky 3) and the unreleased "Can, Can" (Heard on the advance) and "The Struggle" Expand
  41. BenG
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    with the Fishscale, Ghostface proves why he is the King of New York.
  42. walterc
    Mar 29, 2006
    10
    best cd i've bought since supreme clientele. on repeat on the ipod since noon yesterday. great tracks overall, wit 5 or 6 that are literally insane!! skitz iz maad funny, too.
  43. MarcG
    Mar 29, 2006
    9
    Doom, madlib, dilla on the production, Ghost spitting darts with even more intensity...of course its hot!
  44. PaulM
    Apr 12, 2006
    10
    Best album of the year!!!
  45. JamesS
    Apr 13, 2006
    9
    Really, really damned tight, and maybe even better than Supreme Clientele. If anyone shows up Ghostface up this year they will have to somehow reinvent the entire genre doing it. My only complaint is Jellyfish, the weak link - if Ghosface's remix of Get Down Like That from Ne-Yo's recently released album was in that slot instead, Fishscale would be a flat 10, no doubt about it. Really, really damned tight, and maybe even better than Supreme Clientele. If anyone shows up Ghostface up this year they will have to somehow reinvent the entire genre doing it. My only complaint is Jellyfish, the weak link - if Ghosface's remix of Get Down Like That from Ne-Yo's recently released album was in that slot instead, Fishscale would be a flat 10, no doubt about it. Overall this is absolutely great stuff, and since Def Jam has for some reason put the suggested retail price at like $7 there is no reason for anyone to not have a copy. Expand
  46. matta
    Apr 14, 2006
    10
    I'm sorry, but is anybody else pissed that the review by raoul hernandez, the douchebag critic for the Austin Chronicle that can barely string a coherent sentence together, was included in the metascore? This guy, who obviously has no idea what he is talking about, has single-handedly brought the very deserved score of a 91 down to an 87. He just doesn't seem very credible. I'm sorry, but is anybody else pissed that the review by raoul hernandez, the douchebag critic for the Austin Chronicle that can barely string a coherent sentence together, was included in the metascore? This guy, who obviously has no idea what he is talking about, has single-handedly brought the very deserved score of a 91 down to an 87. He just doesn't seem very credible. Anyway, this album is brilliant, as good if not better than any other significant rap release of the past ten years. It is currently my favorite album of the year and it is going to take a truly amazing release to dethrone it. For people who appreciate good music, no matter what the genre is. Collapse
  47. bass31
    Apr 15, 2006
    10
    on par wit supreme clientele
  48. JimmyF
    Jul 15, 2006
    9
    Damn good album. It is very deserving of its critic acclaim. If you don't own it, get it.
  49. JohnD
    Aug 21, 2006
    2
    I'm a huge fan of ghostface and i enjoyed the pretty tony album. Fishscale is nothing compared to his older releases, there are barely any decent beats and i feel that ghostface is slipping off of his game. Wu-Tang has always thrived with or without the $1,000,000 beats but i cant say the same for Fishscale. The only song i feel deserves more than 1 listening is The Champ which tore I'm a huge fan of ghostface and i enjoyed the pretty tony album. Fishscale is nothing compared to his older releases, there are barely any decent beats and i feel that ghostface is slipping off of his game. Wu-Tang has always thrived with or without the $1,000,000 beats but i cant say the same for Fishscale. The only song i feel deserves more than 1 listening is The Champ which tore up many mixtapes before the albums release. 9 Mili Brothers is a sad reminder of what Wu-Tang used to be and Back Like That is another played out MTV hit that should never have been released. Expand
  50. MikeC
    Mar 31, 2007
    10
    Only the most skilled in the business could pull off an album like this. It blows away every other hip-hop album released in 06.
  51. ReubenF
    Dec 18, 2006
    7
    Ghostface Killah is famed for his work on Raekwon's classic 'Only Built 4 Cuban Linx' Album and for being a member of the Wu-Tang Clan. This album sees him in good form. 'Back Like That' featuring Ne-Yo is a stand out track for me, though i doubt it would be a favourite for his fans, being more commerical in sound.
  52. David
    Dec 11, 2008
    10
    Earns its spot with the all-time greats. Chock-full of brilliant songs, all fully fleshed out, memorable and emotionally affecting. Sure it has a few skits but they're short as hell. There's just too many quality cuts here to count. Ghostface is a legend.
  53. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    Love this! Ghostface at his best, with fantastic rhymes and grooves. A fantastic album by possibly the most talented rapper in the world! 10/10! Of course generally you'll have to be a hip-hop fan, but seeing as I am one, I found it amazing.
  54. May 12, 2011
    9
    this is for black people. i loved this album it was rocking and slamming. ghostface knows how to throw down. it was a good album. but Iron Man and bulletproof wallets will be his 2 best albums.
  55. Sep 29, 2014
    10
    Cinematic classic. That's all you need to know about this album. Wow is this ever an epic album both in length and quality. It's one of those rare albums that takes many listens to understand and being to enjoy but once you understand it you never ever go back.
  56. Apr 17, 2016
    10
    this album was pretty dope. Ghostface is one of the few lyricists of the wu tang clan aside from GZA that puts out some dope stuff. Ghostface has always had an hear for production choosing dope producers to work with and working along side hardcore lyricists that rap just as good as him. people can say what they want. but this is just as dope as his past works.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Billboard
    90
    Overall, "Fishscale" is strong, with archetypal beats creating the definitive Ghost. [1 Apr 2006]
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    He may not be reinventing himself, but as a must-hear street storyteller, he's still at the top of his game. [31 Mar 2006, p.64]
  3. Los Angeles Times
    88
    Will certainly stand as one of the best rap albums of the year. [26 Mar 2006]