Fleet Foxes

  • Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Jun 3, 2008
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 240 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 240

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    This is what I call an album, fun from beginning to end. A truly groundbreaking achievement in the music industry. These guys know what REAL music is all about. Truly astounding, nuff said.
  2. RicardoC.
    Aug 27, 2009
    8
    Fleet Foxes, sounds pure, dreamy and is a pleasant album. Which is a lot to ask nowadays. (Maybe that's why "masses" liked it, superior-being Joe Blow, and tastes are different so but that logic anything is better than something, since there's no general agreement that something is good, and it doesn't really make any sense for metacritic to exist...).
  3. Jun 7, 2011
    8
    Solid debut full of great harmonies and solid arrangements, good folk record.
  4. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    This debut by Fleet Foxes is simply astounding. Having listened to it for almost 4 years now, I cannot explain the effects it has had on me. I can only say that it truly transcends the timely and rises to the timeless. It's naturalistic, pastoral lyrics touch on universal themes and are given vibrant color by the beautiful harmonies and are accentuated even more by the instrumentals. Can'tThis debut by Fleet Foxes is simply astounding. Having listened to it for almost 4 years now, I cannot explain the effects it has had on me. I can only say that it truly transcends the timely and rises to the timeless. It's naturalistic, pastoral lyrics touch on universal themes and are given vibrant color by the beautiful harmonies and are accentuated even more by the instrumentals. Can't wait to see what is next for their third album. So dang great. Expand
  5. RiceKrispiesDave
    Oct 4, 2009
    10
    Joe Blow you should go Blow a Joe, 'cause this album is great.
  6. Aug 11, 2011
    10
    There is absolutely nothing wrong to say about this record. Perfect. Cannot recall how many times I've dreamed about Blue Ridge Mountains. This is what I call music.
  7. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    Anyone denying the strength of this album probably shouldn't be listening to it, probably shouldn't be listening to music at all. They're the same people who don't like the film 'Amelie' or the TV show 'The Wire'... it's simply a classic, and it deserves universal acclaim because it's an extraordinarily well crafted piece of culture.
  8. AdamE.
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    One of the Best Albums Of 2008! A complete masterpiece!
  9. SeanL.
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    Far and away the most breathtaking thing I've heard in a long time. The sound of every instrument is absolutely perfect, when each element is added it's heart stopping. The vocals are unbelievable, their harmonies are perfect. But I'm gonna have to say that it's Robin Pecknold's vocals that make these songs so stunning (and I'm not usually someone that is Far and away the most breathtaking thing I've heard in a long time. The sound of every instrument is absolutely perfect, when each element is added it's heart stopping. The vocals are unbelievable, their harmonies are perfect. But I'm gonna have to say that it's Robin Pecknold's vocals that make these songs so stunning (and I'm not usually someone that is grabbed by singing, I usually like them lower on the mix) the subtle reverb and everything down to how things are pronounced by him is just perfect. Go buy this album asap along with sun giant, I can't see people disliking this record and I for one can't wait to hear what these guys do next! Expand
  10. clint
    Jun 5, 2008
    9
    A solid and exciting debut of melodic pop gems a la label mates the Shins and Band of Horses.
  11. Mo
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    This might be the best album of the year. Lush landscapes and texture. It's a different state of mind.
  12. KellyC.
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    Hands down the best CD of the year so far. Pick up the Sun Giant EP too - both are excellent.
  13. DF.
    Jun 6, 2008
    10
    This album gets better and better with each listen. Even though there are obvious splashes of CSNY, The Zombies, and Simon & Garfunkel, it never sounds like a rip-off and is always fresh and original. Easily in my top five favorite albums this year, and very easily could make the top mark. It's that good.
  14. JackP.
    Jun 6, 2008
    9
    If you haven't heard this album yet, you may be asking yourself whether it could possibly be that good. I am here to tell you that it is. This record that will stand the test of time.
  15. SteveO
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    There aren't many records on Metacritic I give 10's, in fact the only other two I can think of right now are Radiohead's "In Rainbows" which of course deserves it and She & Him's "Volume One" which reminds me of Joanie Mitchell. "Fleet Foxes" is amazing stuff. Just look at the reviews and you'll see why. Soaring vocal harmonies, hooky, folky melodies, and epic, There aren't many records on Metacritic I give 10's, in fact the only other two I can think of right now are Radiohead's "In Rainbows" which of course deserves it and She & Him's "Volume One" which reminds me of Joanie Mitchell. "Fleet Foxes" is amazing stuff. Just look at the reviews and you'll see why. Soaring vocal harmonies, hooky, folky melodies, and epic, imgainative lyrics make you feel like you've been transported into another time or dimension even. You can tell these guys have been heavily influenced by bands like "Crosby Stills Nash and Young" or even as new as "The Shins". Overall, "Fleet Foxes" is a wonderful record full of emotion and talent. A great debut for a great band. The record will soon become a classic, mark my words. Expand
  16. GarrettH
    Jun 9, 2008
    10
    I can't think of a bad thing to say about it.
  17. BrianE
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    A glorious synthesis of Smile-era Brian Wilson and forest folk. Bold in its scope, but achingly perfect in its sound and economy. Melodies are extended and rerouted in ways that are surprising and satisfying. An album with the creative heft to be considered one of the year's best.
  18. MatthewJ.
    Jun 11, 2008
    8
    This album is very good, just not as good as they say. It doesn't endeavor to extend beyond the structure and sonic signature set out many, many times before in recent years. Plenty of good stuff to listen to here, not as much to be excited about.
  19. ChadS.
    Jun 11, 2008
    9
    "White Winter Hymnal" sounds like The Shins rewriting XTC's "Senses Working Overtime". Catchy as hell, like Split Enz's "I Got You" with vocal harmonies reminiscent of Brian Eno and John Cale's "One Word", "White Winter Hymnal" replaces thinking, replaces everybody's favorite song with this towering achievement of genius. Gorgeous stuff. I also like "He Doesn't "White Winter Hymnal" sounds like The Shins rewriting XTC's "Senses Working Overtime". Catchy as hell, like Split Enz's "I Got You" with vocal harmonies reminiscent of Brian Eno and John Cale's "One Word", "White Winter Hymnal" replaces thinking, replaces everybody's favorite song with this towering achievement of genius. Gorgeous stuff. I also like "He Doesn't Know Why" because it sounds like a tribute to The Chills' Martin Phillips. The majestic ballad would've been at home on either "Submarine Bells", or "Soft Bomb". Fleet Foxes know Kiwi pop. Fleet Foxes blows your mind again on "Your Protector". Imagine Arthur Miller's "The Crucible" as a Broadway musical. Imagine John Proctor singing "you run with the devil" to Abigail before he pins her to the bed. "Your Protector" also sounds like the October Project with an ethereal male singer, instead of an ethereal female one. Along with Vampire Weekend and Bon Iver, Fleet Foxes is helping make 2008 a banner year for indie-minded music. Expand
  20. MoeinN.
    Jun 12, 2008
    8
    nothing is new...but i think this is new..got it?!...before i download this album i was thinking this is going to be the best..& this is good.. not the best!...got it?!
  21. MoeinN.
    Jun 12, 2008
    8
    nothing is new...but i think this is new..got it?!...before i download this album i was thinking this is going to be the best..& this is good.. not the best!...got it?!
  22. MartinS.
    Jun 12, 2008
    9
    It truly amazes me. That's what real artists' music sounds like.
  23. MikeC.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    I don't understand how this album does not have a higher score. It is simply amazing. The fact that it comes as a debut makes it even more remarkable. I have no idea how they will ever top this
  24. BenS.
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    This is and will be the best album of 2008. Easily.
  25. JamesB.
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    The melodies. The guitar work. The harmonies. I'm practically speechless. Album of the year, so far!
  26. WesMa.
    Jun 21, 2008
    9
    I confess, as one whose tastes would best be characterized as "mindless hipster-zombie", i felt obliged to enjoy this appealingly anachronistic album. I further admit I didn't really enjoy it at first, but I encourage multiple listenings; it really is a great album!
  27. SamF.
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    Sub Pop has found another indie gem in the pacific northwest. Fleet Foxes' thick harmonies and foggy-mountain sound coupled with Ek's production create the best album of 2008 thus far. This record is jam-packed with melodies that whisk you away to a log cabin somewhere tucked away in the mountains. I strongly recommend this album, the best record that has come out in a very long time.
  28. JakeL.
    Jun 23, 2008
    9
    This is the best album of the year. Order goes 1. Fleet Foxes everything else.
  29. KurtC.
    Jun 24, 2008
    9
    Fleet Foxes are a welcome, fresh, and beautiful addition to the Indie scene. They manage to sound original and forward-thinking while referencing a slew of great 60's/70's influences (CSNY, Simon & Garfunkel, Beach Boys, Bob Dylan, etc.). I also want to point out that on top of their exceptional harmonies, voices, and musicianship that their songwriting and compositions are well Fleet Foxes are a welcome, fresh, and beautiful addition to the Indie scene. They manage to sound original and forward-thinking while referencing a slew of great 60's/70's influences (CSNY, Simon & Garfunkel, Beach Boys, Bob Dylan, etc.). I also want to point out that on top of their exceptional harmonies, voices, and musicianship that their songwriting and compositions are well thought-out, engaging, and keep you interested throughout the entire record. Collapse
  30. DrewS.
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    Amazing. Best album I've heard in a long time.
  31. LeerLogic
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    wow... I am listening to the album for the first time right now and almost finished. This is truly amazing stuff for some reason. I never LOVE an album after 1 listen most of the time these days. It is also important to say i hardly ever listen to stuff like this, I usually go for different things, anything soft is usually like dead meadow or explosions in the sky. Very original to me, wow... I am listening to the album for the first time right now and almost finished. This is truly amazing stuff for some reason. I never LOVE an album after 1 listen most of the time these days. It is also important to say i hardly ever listen to stuff like this, I usually go for different things, anything soft is usually like dead meadow or explosions in the sky. Very original to me, captivating, beautiful, I have to tell about it. Expand
  32. RobB.
    Jul 5, 2008
    10
    The album of the year. Incredible harmonies, beautiful melodies all in its very own world.
  33. MichaelS.
    Jul 8, 2008
    9
    Incredible album. Leer uses the term "captivating" for a reason. This music -- the vocals especially -- dance around the center of the melody splendidly, seemingly occupying a space hovering above the music. These guys have forged their own unique and poignant sound. Sure they have their influences, as do all bands, but the difference is that Fleet Foxes frequently transcend them while Incredible album. Leer uses the term "captivating" for a reason. This music -- the vocals especially -- dance around the center of the melody splendidly, seemingly occupying a space hovering above the music. These guys have forged their own unique and poignant sound. Sure they have their influences, as do all bands, but the difference is that Fleet Foxes frequently transcend them while employing them at the same time. Stunning freshman album. Minus one point for two mediocre songs at the end. Expand
  34. MatthewW.
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    If you don't like this, I don't like you.
  35. StevenE.
    Jul 12, 2008
    10
    I just finished listening this disc and it is very good!! I agree with everyone, this is one of, if not the best, albums to come down the pipe this year.
  36. GuyH
    Jul 16, 2008
    10
    It took me one listen to realize this is an absolute certified classic album
  37. DanR.
    Jul 16, 2008
    10
    it's impossible to compare Fleet Foxes to anything else that is out there right now. They hold a beauty in their music and harmonies that is seen nowhere else. How isn't the whole world listening to this album.
  38. Leofer
    Jul 16, 2008
    10
    Spectacular.
  39. TomB
    Jul 22, 2008
    10
    A shoo-in for my favorite record of 2008. Take the album as a sum of all its parts; don't dissect who they sound like, what the songs remind you of, etc. Just sit and listen. At the 2:04 mark of Blue Ridge Mountains is when this album hits absolute nirvana. I will be listening to this album when I'm an old man.
  40. MootB.
    Jul 23, 2008
    9
    I heard this record playing in the local Borders while I was looking for Funk/Soul records...not exactly the headspace I was in at the time, but somewhere around "He Doesn't Know Why" I was hooked on this! I asked what it was, expecting the clerk to tell me it was like some rare reissue by a band I wasn't familiar with from the late 60s...boy was I surprised! Fleet Foxes have a I heard this record playing in the local Borders while I was looking for Funk/Soul records...not exactly the headspace I was in at the time, but somewhere around "He Doesn't Know Why" I was hooked on this! I asked what it was, expecting the clerk to tell me it was like some rare reissue by a band I wasn't familiar with from the late 60s...boy was I surprised! Fleet Foxes have a good thing going. It will be interesting to see where they take us next...my only question, as a producer, is What reverb did they use? It's as much a part of the music as everything else! Expand
  41. ChrisA.
    Jul 27, 2008
    10
    One of the most beautiful records I have heard in years. This is American music.
  42. KimJ.
    Aug 3, 2008
    9
    Too good for these times.
  43. RaymondH.
    Aug 3, 2008
    10
    This album moves you!!! That is all I can say! You must just listen to it to understand.
  44. LeonardoS.
    Aug 4, 2008
    10
    A wonderful album, from start to finish. Intricate, thoughtful, haunting at times, and always eminently listenable. I know it's high praise to say that listening to this album can set the tone and change the mood of a period in one's life, but I don't feel it's an exaggeration to claim this in the case of Fleet Foxes. This album (and the band's earlier EP, Sun A wonderful album, from start to finish. Intricate, thoughtful, haunting at times, and always eminently listenable. I know it's high praise to say that listening to this album can set the tone and change the mood of a period in one's life, but I don't feel it's an exaggeration to claim this in the case of Fleet Foxes. This album (and the band's earlier EP, Sun Giant) have helped define my summer, and I will likely be enjoying this album for many, many months to come. Such a well-crafted album is hard to come by these days. Expand
  45. IsaacQ
    Aug 7, 2008
    10
    This album captivates the mind and soul. Congratulations Fleet Foxes, you've made it into my chosen few of all time favorite artists and with but a single album.
  46. Monkeyman
    Aug 12, 2008
    9
    Absolutely outstanding album, I've played it to death and still keep coming back to it. Mightily impressive for such a young band - believe the hype.
  47. Patrick
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    The most impressive debut I've heard in 15 years or more. This music has reinvigorated a joy for music in me that I haven't felt in the mp3 era.
  48. MuhT.
    Aug 25, 2008
    7
    Well put together, but i think it lacks any daring or innovation.
  49. GerryB
    Sep 11, 2008
    10
    One of the best albums I've ever heard and I am a massive music fan aged 41. Sublime and profound.
  50. JyotirmayaD.
    Sep 13, 2008
    8
    This is a really great album.. it just pulled me in. what i was prepared for was something very indie as they go, but what I was treated to was a beautiful album quite unexpectedly. I can't wait to see the guys live here in Chicago soon.
  51. MarkF
    Sep 15, 2008
    8
    I would rate in higher but the production lets it down, and the harmonies to my ears often seem less than on point. A better producer would not have allowed it to be released in this form.
  52. ChrisS.
    Oct 13, 2008
    10
    For avid music listeners you can't deny the catchy melody and the unforgettable storytelling that this album infuses upon its listener. It take you through a short but sweet journey of chamber/folksy and soft rock and it never lets go of the emotional grip. A truly classic that will be overlooked but will be remembered in the future.
  53. JonathanA
    Oct 15, 2008
    9
    Cynical types will dismiss this, but stripped of any hype or its indie critic favor and this album is still gorgeous, refreshingly accessable and wonderfully produced. I hope they DON'T make it more "bumpy" and stick to making beautiful, harmonized folk tunes, because there's more than enough top-tier indie bands making that kind of challenging music already. It's okay to Cynical types will dismiss this, but stripped of any hype or its indie critic favor and this album is still gorgeous, refreshingly accessable and wonderfully produced. I hope they DON'T make it more "bumpy" and stick to making beautiful, harmonized folk tunes, because there's more than enough top-tier indie bands making that kind of challenging music already. It's okay to make something nice and relaxing, too, you know. It's great to find a band that does it well. Expand
  54. vasileiosP
    Oct 16, 2008
    9
    Steps higher than the rest untalented music that is out this year. 2nd only to the crazyness of Mgmt.
  55. OscarS
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    An absolutely stunning album. I have to disagree with Gene S. If you listen to Robin sing with out reverb he proves to be a wonderful singer, the reverb just serves to add the the ethereal nature of this masterpiece. From the lonesome acoustics of Tiger Mountain Peasant Song to the epic, glorious Ragged Wood or Your Protector, this album stuns me every time with its sheer beauty, honesty An absolutely stunning album. I have to disagree with Gene S. If you listen to Robin sing with out reverb he proves to be a wonderful singer, the reverb just serves to add the the ethereal nature of this masterpiece. From the lonesome acoustics of Tiger Mountain Peasant Song to the epic, glorious Ragged Wood or Your Protector, this album stuns me every time with its sheer beauty, honesty and musicality. Wonderful. Expand
  56. JonathanY
    Nov 14, 2008
    10
    This record is so good!!! The vocal harmonies and instrumentation go so well together. Bordering on life-changing!
  57. MatthewC
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    Each song on this record is like an old friend. You are instantly drawn to them yet learn to appreciate them even more as you get to know them. wholly organic yet sophisticated and haunting, this record is one that will towards the front of my record collection forever.
  58. GeoffH
    Dec 6, 2008
    9
    I would just like to extend a congratulatory high-five to everyone
  59. MartijnR
    Dec 8, 2008
    9
    Mark F, I don't agree with you. I just think the production is done really well. Just because of this way of producing the album gives that unique sound. For the rest Fleet Foxes is the music that we all have been searching for.
  60. MajhongT
    Dec 11, 2008
    10
    This album continued to impress me as I was introduced to quality song after quality song. I couldn't believe that so many unbelievable songs could come from one CD. Kudos Fleet Foxes.
  61. AmbroseJ
    Dec 18, 2008
    9
    This is an excellent debut that is full of lush production that sometimes pushes the echo a bit. And though it holds shades of the stranger Beach Boys and a little CSN dust, there are still some incredibly delicious original songs here that never grow stale.
  62. Pedro
    Dec 21, 2008
    7
    Awesome? Yes... Overrated? A bit... I should say that I think some of the songs are boring, but I won't instead I will say that some songs are the BEST of 2008... "White Winter Hymnal" and "He Doesn't Know Why" are the most beautiful songs of the century (ok, that's a little too much), the Fleet Foxes are way too good for pop lovers, anyone that is a fan of Fleet Foxes, is Awesome? Yes... Overrated? A bit... I should say that I think some of the songs are boring, but I won't instead I will say that some songs are the BEST of 2008... "White Winter Hymnal" and "He Doesn't Know Why" are the most beautiful songs of the century (ok, that's a little too much), the Fleet Foxes are way too good for pop lovers, anyone that is a fan of Fleet Foxes, is obviously smart. Expand
  63. JonathanP
    Dec 27, 2008
    10
    Blows away everything I've heard in a long time. Probably only Biffy Clyro or Lightspeed Champion have come close for me personally.
  64. AndriaM
    Jan 17, 2009
    10
    This album, and everything by this group, is just amazing. Reminiscent of Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young, but with their own unique sound, I just can't stop listening.
  65. ChrisC.
    Jan 18, 2009
    9
    I feel like this is one of those bands that come out of nowhere and make an album of atmospheric beauty like 70's albums from the Band or Dylan. The vocal harmony, lyrics, and the backwoodsy feel. It's refreshing to hear a band just play songs without using overproduced polish.
  66. GloriaC.
    Jan 23, 2009
    10
    What a great sound coming out of this band. Harmonies flow and haunt you long after you've listened.
  67. JessicaJ.
    Feb 7, 2009
    10
    Absolute perfection. I *cannot* listen to a single song without mentally placing myself in a Robert Frost poem or on a late fall road trip through a wooded nowhere.
  68. TyloH.
    Feb 7, 2009
    10
    This is my new favorite band, hands down. Every last song they have is amazing. I hate to use that word, but it is. Just listen for yourself if you haven't already.
  69. EdW
    Feb 26, 2009
    10
    Superb, utterly superb. I have long waited for this type of sound and these guys deserve every accolade.
  70. BillG
    Mar 27, 2009
    10
    When I first heard this I thought it was way too twee for me. But after a few listens the shear brilliance won me over. Not previously my cup of tea at all, I am definitely a convert.
  71. FranciscoR
    Apr 12, 2009
    10
    Excellent harmonies created with the voices.
  72. AlexL
    Apr 17, 2009
    10
    I listened to it when it first leaked, bought the vinyl when it was released, and continue to return to it more than any other album from 2008. The entire album is full of twists, brilliant vocals, and such distinct emotion that your mood can change the instant Red Squirrels stops its awkward chanting (I must say that part is the 10 or so seconds I dislike from the entire album). The I listened to it when it first leaked, bought the vinyl when it was released, and continue to return to it more than any other album from 2008. The entire album is full of twists, brilliant vocals, and such distinct emotion that your mood can change the instant Red Squirrels stops its awkward chanting (I must say that part is the 10 or so seconds I dislike from the entire album). The guitar melodies are beautifully constructed to unsuspectingly pop in your head every so often-- which explains my addiction to it. I honestly think the best part about this album is that it's perfect "background" music. That's typically regarded as a bad thing, but I can walk, talk, work, think, or just plain listen to it. Brilliant stuff. The only bad thing is that I just don't see how they can possibly to top this sound in their sophomore effort. But I guess we'll just have to wait and see. Expand
  73. WillW
    Apr 18, 2009
    9
    I saw the band live before I heard their CD. Very tight harmonies with great singable melodies. Very talented band.
  74. JeremyShantz
    May 3, 2009
    10
    Best album of 2008.
  75. ScottW
    May 5, 2009
    9
    Stepping in to the music of The Fleet Foxes is about as folk as folk gets. A camp fire band if you could say. Bunch of Bards playing and singing before your ears. The bands first album is truly a satisfying one to listen to. It would be almost perfect, if they just cooled off on the complex elements waving together through some of the songs. This can tend to drag a great complex peace Stepping in to the music of The Fleet Foxes is about as folk as folk gets. A camp fire band if you could say. Bunch of Bards playing and singing before your ears. The bands first album is truly a satisfying one to listen to. It would be almost perfect, if they just cooled off on the complex elements waving together through some of the songs. This can tend to drag a great complex peace down if you go over the top. They do tend to do this at times and it makes it hard to focus on the music. Other then this the album is great for mature listeners. Expand
  76. BradNienas
    May 9, 2009
    9
    Hexum the people ur bashing make perfect sense, ur just to thick to understand them, awesome album by the way
  77. DavidS
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    Instantly became one of my most favorite albums, but it's not for everybody since some people don't feel "cool" listening to folk-ish music the only problem i see with this band is, well, can they really make an album better than this one? i doubt it.
  78. MattK
    Aug 6, 2009
    10
    Timeless folk music. Sumptious harmonies with carefully crafted instrumentation. Stick it on repeat and you won't regret it!
  79. JimZ.
    Sep 14, 2009
    10
    The album is exceptional, perhaps the best I've heard in the past few years. I saw them live at All Points West Music and Arts Festival and I was blown away. Imagine four of the five band members harmonizing perfectly. On the cd you may think they sound off key, but it's intentional, it sounds unique and they wanted you to hear Robin Pecknold primarily. Truly one of the The album is exceptional, perhaps the best I've heard in the past few years. I saw them live at All Points West Music and Arts Festival and I was blown away. Imagine four of the five band members harmonizing perfectly. On the cd you may think they sound off key, but it's intentional, it sounds unique and they wanted you to hear Robin Pecknold primarily. Truly one of the innovative bands we have seen in this era. For all of you Kids that only like metal or straight rap, get out of here. This place is for those who seek truthful insight. From those who have actually listened to the music, and not some punk who gave it a zero just because everyone likes it so much and it's "mainstream." Expand
  80. marko
    Sep 25, 2009
    10
    Joe blow = typical pretentious opinion i'm glad there are at least some people who listen to the music for the music, not to be as obscure as possible to bolster their hipster cred.
  81. Mar 2, 2011
    9
    Fleet Foxes is a wonderful record. Each song stands out for me. Robert Pecknold has the perfect voice for the melodies created in this album. The lyrics are are great and listening to this album makes me wanna grow a beard and live high up in the mountains. Each track is catchy and makes you wanna hum to it. All In All, Fleet Foxes is a wonderful album that needs to b e listened too. A-
  82. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    If you don't like this album it's just not for you. That is all. This album is perfectly achieved in every way. If you don't like football, don't go to a football site and just start leaving nasty "football sucks" comments everywhere. These guys are our Simon and Garfunkel, they make hauntingly perfect music paired with wonderful melodies. Their new album is due out in May. Judging fromIf you don't like this album it's just not for you. That is all. This album is perfectly achieved in every way. If you don't like football, don't go to a football site and just start leaving nasty "football sucks" comments everywhere. These guys are our Simon and Garfunkel, they make hauntingly perfect music paired with wonderful melodies. Their new album is due out in May. Judging from the single they've released, I shan't be disappointed. Expand
  83. Sep 6, 2011
    7
    Fleet Foxes creates a atmosphere of wonder and mystique in something which is somewhat not all that uncommon; they play it the drifting way, the organic style, with echos and oddities of strings and melody, sounding like something that's come brushed out of the old ages. But most importantly, they do what they do true and they capture your senses as you get carried along.
  84. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This album is so beautiful it sometimes brings me near tears. People who dont like it dont really listen to it and absorb it. They just reject it because it is unfamiliar and something very far form the music we hear today. Just give it a listen and stay in that moment.
  85. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    Amazing full length debut. One of the albums of the 00's in my opinion and a great live band too. The first 3 tracks are classic and the rest of the album more or less keeps the stand up all the way through. Oliver James is a great closing track as well. A very mature sounding record for a debut and great to see such a talented bunch of artists get the recognition they deserved.
  86. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    A folk blast that has plenty to feel, plenty to hear and a warmth, tho it sounds just like my morning jacket in places, I don't know which one came first.
  87. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    This album is nothing less than a brilliant and triumphant masterwork of some of the most talented musical artists of the past decade. Every song on here is beautiful and well composed, each in its own regard. The instrumental structure is simply divine on all fronts, thus, this band ends up bringing the folk/baroque genre (if I may call it that) to a whole new level. Buy this album rightThis album is nothing less than a brilliant and triumphant masterwork of some of the most talented musical artists of the past decade. Every song on here is beautiful and well composed, each in its own regard. The instrumental structure is simply divine on all fronts, thus, this band ends up bringing the folk/baroque genre (if I may call it that) to a whole new level. Buy this album right now, and if you're so inclined, I suggest buying the vinyl. Expand
  88. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    This album was one of the most catchy albums I've ever listened to... Wonderful songs, great harmonics and lovely lyrics. One of the best albums of 2008, certainly.
  89. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    Absolutely superb album. It does more than merely sound good - it *feels* good. There is lyrical genius scattered throughout, as well as wonderful compositions, melodies, and harmonies. I can find nothing I would consider to be a fault. An album very close to perfection. A must have.
  90. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    Made a Metacritic account just to say how much I loved this album. Every track is an inconceivable aural delight as Robin Pecknold has an undeniable talent for taking his songs in unexpected but beautiful new directions.
  91. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    Probably the lushest, most purely beautiful indie folk album I have ever heard, Fleet Foxes is an amazing achievement in a genre that largely gets overlooked because of country and indie pop/rock. The album would worth owning just for "White Winter Hymnal," and is made incredible by its other ten tracks, each of which are fantastic for their own reasons.
  92. Jan 13, 2015
    7
    I would split up this album: the first part (first 5 songs) that gets wholly into Americana and Country and felt to me as honestly [though cohesively] tasteless and flat; and the second part (next 6 songs) that sinks into a more melodramatic indie folk suffering, that felt utterly heartbreaking and profound. All accompanied by celestial choruses and mostly an old-days spirit.
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Helplessness Blues is one of the few things reminding me that behind the liquor stores and condominiums is a little freedom and a lot of hope.
  2. Throughout the album, the band sounds wise beyond its years, so it's not really that surprising that Fleet Foxes is such a satisfying, self-assured debut.
  3. With their self-titled debut, Fleet Foxes have attained this and have delivered one of the best albums of the year.