Folker - Paul Westerberg
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. The album is Westerberg at his extremes. [#7]
  2. Rough-and-tumble folk rock with a winning--if self-conscious--DIY approach. [17 Sep 2004, p.76]
  3. There's a disarming simplicity and artlessness... with an increased emphasis on persistent pop melody over crafty wordplay.
  4. 70
    Marks a major leap along the road to recovery. [Nov 2004, p.96]
  5. Folker may not be the definitive answer to devotees' prayers, but it is a notable addition to his oeuvre.
  6. 60
    It only reveals its strengths after a dozen or more plays. [Nov 2004, p.112]
  7. It's hard not to walk away with the feeling he's capable of better than this.
  8. 60
    Sounds sometimes Dylan and most of the time Starbucks. [#12, p.102]
  9. Pleasant but alternately catchy and bland.
  10. The lyrics on Folker make the tripe in Westerberg's early solo material... read like T.S. Eliot. [Oct 2004, p.144]
  11. 10
    A poorly-recorded collection of lazily-written songs recorded by an artist whose muse deserted him long ago. [Oct 2004, p.131]
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Mark
    Jan 25, 2006
    8
    It's amazing how much this album grew on me over the course of a year or so. It feels so natural and uncalculated, (forget self-consciously ramshackle!), and over time the vocals seem to become clearer, the guitars more purposeful, the melodies more memorable (the drums just as off!). As Far As I Know and What About Mine? are beautifully-conceived songs, but for me it's How Can You Like Him? and Gun Shy that bring about tears of joy that a human being can create and communicate such startling emotion through music. The man is frighteningly good. Full Review »
  2. RobertB
    Nov 16, 2005
    8
    This one is a grower.
  3. JohnO
    Apr 7, 2005
    7
    I would give Stereo/Mono and Come Feel Me Tremble each a 10. Having said that, Folker has some gems and some filler, where the previous two records are end-to-end marvels. Gun Shy and My Dad are my favs. If you're just getting to know Paul, I wouldn't suggest this as your first purchase. With regards to the DIY stuff getting old (from a prior post), get used to it - he's not going back to the old way. Full Review »