Follow Me Down - Sarah Jarosz
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. May 19, 2011
    87
    Rather than hone the traditional Appalachian discipline, the sensualist singer explores the possibilities of acoustic/roots music--conjuring songscapes, erotic tableau and enough tension to hold listeners transfixed throughout Follow Me Down.
  2. Dec 6, 2011
    80
    Jarosz's talent is wondrous and in no way normal, and her developing musical maturity continues to be a wonder to watch.
  3. Jun 21, 2011
    80
    Austin's "newgrass" prodigy moves ever onwards. [July 2011, p. 108]
  4. Jun 10, 2011
    80
    Mostly introspective, lower-key fare fills out the album's remainder, resulting in an occasional lag in momentum. This, however, is offset by inventiveness and instrumental wizardry, offering those who accept Follow Me Down's tempting invitation entry into a wonderland of musical riches.
  5. May 23, 2011
    80
    Let's hope the slightly odd CD cover image does not put anyone off discovering the music held within because Jarosz has produced a fine album.
  6. Her first UK release is a polished, bluegrassy thing of no small wonder.
  7. May 19, 2011
    80
    Jarosz's first album showcased her ability to take on folk, country, and bluegrass music head on as well as cover rock songs with creative gusto. Jarosz does the same on her latest album, but she has expanded her musical palette and does much more.
  8. 80
    With the release of a beautiful new record Follow Me Down, it's time to proceed past the astonishment of Jarosz's remarkable age and acknowledge her place among the prestigious group of musicians currently pursuing acoustic music to exciting and progressive new heights.
  9. May 19, 2011
    78
    The multi-instrumentalist's second album for Nashville, Tenn.'s premier roots and bluegrass label measures the giant steps her songwriting has taken on Follow Me Down, even as her ear for covers lends itself to Bob Dylan's "Ring Them Bells" and Radiohead's "The Tourist."
  10. May 19, 2011
    70
    Traditionalists may bristle at the notion that they've lost yet another promising young talent to a more contemporary sound, but Follow Me Down proves that Jarosz has an intuitive grasp of traditional folk and bluegrass structures and a taste for more adventurous, modern song choices and arrangements.
  11. Jun 3, 2011
    60
    Her aching voice is more lived in than her years suggest. [Jul 2011, p.92]
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    Really really REALLY just damn perfect. In every way possible. I have nothing critical to say about this album. She does 2 covers, one of Radiohead's "The Tourist" and Dylan's "Ring them bells". "Tourist" is done with a very bluegrassy sound and what we get is a haunting, slower version of the OK COmputer closer. Her cover of "Bells" owns Dylan. Which is not easy to do. Granted it was 80s Dylan not 60s Dylan but still... Full Review »