For My Parents


Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
Buy On
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    Huge swathes of uplifting, chest beating, and grandiose magnificence populate this album, and it is almost impossible not to get swept up in the sheer pomp of the performance.
  2. Kerrang!
    Sep 25, 2012
    Another startling offering, then, from one of the most consistently perfect bands in post-rock. [1 Sep 2012, p.51]
  3. Alternative Press
    Sep 6, 2012
    With strata of classical strings, reverbed guitars, epic piano chords and seemingly every piece of Yasunori Takada's drum kit simultaneously being hammered in salutation to the happy medium between tender, childlike phrasing, and grandiose movie soundtrack. [Oct 2012, p.90]
  4. Sep 6, 2012
    For a band so heavily influenced by modern classical music, Mono are not at all restrained, and that's what's great about them.
  5. Sep 6, 2012
    The near perfect balance of cinematic classical and rock music here may put some off some headbangers, but it will no doubt appeal to anyone with an open mind, and more importantly, an open heart.
  6. Sep 6, 2012
    To those who care about the small differences, it's another tremendously strong album from a career already littered with them.
  7. Magnet
    Oct 1, 2012
    For My Parents de-emphasizes stylistic juxtapositions for a more holistic approach to epic soundscaping. [No.91 p.57]
  8. Uncut
    Sep 14, 2012
    For My Parents is an sentimental as it is majestic. [Oct 2012, p.84]
  9. 70
    For My Parents isn't likely to go down with your Slow Riot for New Zerø Kanadas or Spiderlands, but there are times when it seems to break new ground.
  10. Sep 6, 2012
    this is a Mono album through and through, so much in fact that this reviewer felt déja-vu during some of the more lulling parts. Depending on one's feelings towards the band, this will be a key factor in whether or not this is a worthwhile listen.
  11. Sep 6, 2012
    Recent records have seen the band veer dangerously close to the saccharine. Thankfully --and despite its dubious title--For My Parents manages, for the most part, to avoid these pitfalls.
  12. Under The Radar
    Nov 30, 2012
    It remains a worthwhile investment for any post-rock fan. [Oct/Nov 2012, p.127]

There are no user reviews yet.