• Record Label: Vagrant
  • Release Date: Jan 29, 2008
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 132

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Apr 1, 2008
    10
    Awesome. Just awesome
  2. Srious
    Mar 23, 2008
    10
    Anyone who calls this album "emo" or clearly has no clue what they are talking about. "Emo" has turned into some sort of blanket insult that covers any type of metal that doesn't meet the precise genre definitions as decreed by some closed-minded metal know-it-all.
  3. bob
    Mar 17, 2008
    5
    This website needs to raise its limit for the amount of reviews required to make an album considered the highest rated for 2008. Even looking at past years, its a joke that some of these albums have such high ratings when there are reviews that would lower the overall score that metacritic is too lazy to go back and correct.
  4. Iggyl
    Mar 31, 2008
    3
    90? Oh man...I hope more critics review this album, because this album doesn't deserve this high rating at all. The band is really good with instruments, but this album is just a mess. It sounds like all the other metalcore bands out there.
  5. MeYou
    Apr 1, 2008
    2
    Hey, it's average score is actually 85. Oh, and this album sucks. . . really bad.
  6. TakisL.
    Feb 18, 2008
    1
    Nonsense album,nonsense band,nonsense kind of music.. It's not metal, it's not hardcore, it's not punk.. Totally disgusting!
  7. MariaG
    Apr 13, 2008
    1
    Bad crap...what a hell is with this rating.
  8. DShaw
    Apr 3, 2008
    2
    It's pretty bad, I'm getting tired of this stuff, young guys ripping off old classics.
  9. GregF.
    May 10, 2008
    3
    Is this the unused sessions from "Kezia"? How is it that it takes 3 years to record the same thing again? "Palms Read" contains a heavily engineered and overly produced 5-second slap-bass slop fest, and there is more half-hearted and Pro-Tools-infected screaming, but Protest needs to stop acting like they are metal Gods. Maybe if they played metal, and maybe if they could release a Is this the unused sessions from "Kezia"? How is it that it takes 3 years to record the same thing again? "Palms Read" contains a heavily engineered and overly produced 5-second slap-bass slop fest, and there is more half-hearted and Pro-Tools-infected screaming, but Protest needs to stop acting like they are metal Gods. Maybe if they played metal, and maybe if they could release a different album in less than three years, but until they give song titles more effort than "Bloodmeat," they are nothing special in my book, that is, unless you think fast = amazing. In that case, go kill yourself listening to this album in the car. Expand
  10. NellyT.
    Apr 1, 2008
    1
    Septic stuff.
  11. FelipeP.
    Feb 29, 2008
    0
    the voice is horrible, and it's emo...
  12. RaelT
    Mar 17, 2008
    3
    It is simply, pure crap... This 90 average makes me sick... It is the worse rating of an album on Metacritic I can remember, and I read this website since its start
  13. ChrisN.
    Mar 24, 2008
    4
    Too much noise, anything "visionary" about this album is drowned out. It's almost impossible to listen to; I really don't get all the excitement. Also, Franklin T needs to get a life and move out of his mom's house.
  14. EddM.
    Apr 2, 2008
    8
    Although the 90% average is slightly high, this is definately an album well worth listening to for fans of metal, protest, or for people who just want to try something new.
  15. JiminyC.
    Apr 1, 2008
    10
    I'm always confused by those who lash out at this band. I read below that there is not much original in Protest the Hero's music, and I suppose that this is fair. But I assure you, the same is equally true for just about anything in anybody's record collection. Music builds upon that which came before it, so it's a strain to claim that much originality in almost any I'm always confused by those who lash out at this band. I read below that there is not much original in Protest the Hero's music, and I suppose that this is fair. But I assure you, the same is equally true for just about anything in anybody's record collection. Music builds upon that which came before it, so it's a strain to claim that much originality in almost any given record. I'm pretty excited by what I'm hearing in these songs, and I've been dedicated to aggressive music for the better part of 25 years. Even if I didn't really like it, I think that these kids deserve to have me spend my money - their aim is so clearly not trendy Their love for their craft is obvious. Expand
  16. JordanS.
    Apr 1, 2008
    8
    I love what these guys are doing here. It sounds brilliantly like, you know, 1980's speed-metal, only it's loads more original. The vocals are outstanding, almost to a humorous point sometimes. I'm sure I would have enjoyed "Fortress" more, however, if the drummer could hold back a bit. That doesn't mean I'll discredit it the rating it truly deserves, but it would I love what these guys are doing here. It sounds brilliantly like, you know, 1980's speed-metal, only it's loads more original. The vocals are outstanding, almost to a humorous point sometimes. I'm sure I would have enjoyed "Fortress" more, however, if the drummer could hold back a bit. That doesn't mean I'll discredit it the rating it truly deserves, but it would be easier for me to enjoy if that double bass drum wasn't so incessant. "Blood Meat," the album's first single, is genius and will be on my list of best songs of the year for sure. Expand
  17. TonyB.
    Apr 1, 2008
    8
    The emo vocals and their approach remind me of Faith No More but they have way much more technical musicianship that sets them on a higher level. The only issue I have with this band is that they have not figured out what they want to say with their music yet. I'll attribute it to them being still relatively young so they can waste their time , for a little while, with mindless The emo vocals and their approach remind me of Faith No More but they have way much more technical musicianship that sets them on a higher level. The only issue I have with this band is that they have not figured out what they want to say with their music yet. I'll attribute it to them being still relatively young so they can waste their time , for a little while, with mindless wandering as long as the music is good (which it kicks @ss in this case!!!). Once they get their heads out of their collectives @sses and take a stand on something other than D&D, medievel battles and video gamelike blood & gore...WATCH OUT!!! Then they will truly be a force to reckon with. Great listen! Expand
  18. PAbraham
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    Protest is simply one the most awesome bands ever. 10/10 !!! Those who cannot like this must be making conclusions on a single listen. Complex music deserves a few more spins obviously.
  19. MikeM.
    May 1, 2008
    9
    Great album, if you like metal at all give it a listen. Opinions are like culos, everyone's got one so judge this for yourself. This cd is one that I never leave the house without.
  20. JerM.
    May 8, 2008
    10
    I love how people criticize an album for its "emo" vocals etc. In order to properly judge an album and give it an unbiased rating people can't go into the review expecting something or alreay labelling the artists. Meerely listen, observe, and state your opinions and above all, know what you're talking about before you give something a mediocre rating.
  21. Chris
    Feb 16, 2008
    9
    Given that I had an extremely high tilt from their debut 'situationist-requiem' Kezia, I had high expectations for their sophomore. I was far from disappointed. I hold this album to the same plateau as their earlier album. With outstanding riffs mixed with melodies, this 'everything-but-the-kitchen-sink' metal album cannot disappoint. If it does, you'd be best to Given that I had an extremely high tilt from their debut 'situationist-requiem' Kezia, I had high expectations for their sophomore. I was far from disappointed. I hold this album to the same plateau as their earlier album. With outstanding riffs mixed with melodies, this 'everything-but-the-kitchen-sink' metal album cannot disappoint. If it does, you'd be best to find another genre all together. Good work boys. Expand
  22. Neil
    Feb 18, 2008
    10
    This album kicks major ass!! Great job eh...these Canadiens really rock. Excellent musicianship mixed with some really great melodies. I haven't been this pumped about a band since I first heard Killswitch Engage. Great job guys!!
  23. David
    Feb 22, 2008
    10
    This is already in the running for best album of the year from me... and it was only released in January!
  24. AlecMacD.
    Mar 23, 2008
    9
    This album does everything that most relevant metal bands are doing today, but combines all these elements into one package that is not only extremely tech., but also very fun to listen to.
  25. MattH.
    Mar 31, 2008
    10
    Definately different than Kezia, but still totally awesome. I don't understand why people who dont like a certain kind of music, rate a good band poorly. Jerks.
  26. JamesP.
    Apr 1, 2008
    9
    WOW, Rael and Liam must have their ears painted on. The riffage is insane, the vocals are interesting and varied (more than jsut the screaming/melodious style of metalcore), the concept is cool too. I can understand the constant riffing might drive you nuts, and I understand you might have to like mathcore to get into it, but there is no denying these guys are doing something which is WOW, Rael and Liam must have their ears painted on. The riffage is insane, the vocals are interesting and varied (more than jsut the screaming/melodious style of metalcore), the concept is cool too. I can understand the constant riffing might drive you nuts, and I understand you might have to like mathcore to get into it, but there is no denying these guys are doing something which is leaps and bounds ahead of most prog bands. Played it to my mate who doesn't like heavy music and he was even suitably impressed... I believe his words were.. "Jesus Christ!" Expand
  27. TomP.
    Apr 15, 2008
    6
    Okay, to start this off, I will admit that yes, they play well, and while this cd is entertaining to a point, that point does not deserve to bring this to a 90, I think we all know this deep down. This is Metacritic's flaw, a fluke, something that has allowed unworthy cd's, games, and movies undeservedly into the "Top of" lists time and time again. So sure, I guess we can throw Okay, to start this off, I will admit that yes, they play well, and while this cd is entertaining to a point, that point does not deserve to bring this to a 90, I think we all know this deep down. This is Metacritic's flaw, a fluke, something that has allowed unworthy cd's, games, and movies undeservedly into the "Top of" lists time and time again. So sure, I guess we can throw all the "mediocre-hardcore-power-metal" loving readers who are wetting their pants over this score a bone, but before you defend this band's "excellent" musicmanship, scroll to the top of the screen and look at that splendid FIVE below the score that represents the number of reviews it was based upon. Then go to a CD like Radiohead's In Rainbows, a far superior album, with a score of 88, based upon a much more reliable 42 reviewers, with a user score of 9.1, compared to the 7.1 this album currently has, and rethink your musical tastes. And don't try and pull out the "It's-mainstream-music-that-all-dumb-people-listen-to" card, because first of all, it's not, and it'll only make you look more ignorant. So go off, think you're so "different" and unconformist by listening to this slightly above average metal band, you're only conforming to the rest of the pathetic people just like you. There are more superior albums in the metal genre, Mezmerize, by System of a Down, (an album with an actual point and actual music) to name one of them. Just know that if I have to see this kind of rubbish at the #1 spot for 2008, there will be hell to pay. Besides, they sound like a mix between Avenged Sevenfold and Iron Maiden...(Not a winning combination.) Expand
  28. DeclanE.
    Apr 20, 2008
    8
    This album has so far been one of my favorites of 2008, which is saying a lot as this year has seen new albums from some of the best bands around, namely the mars volta and radiohead. They have shown a great deal of maturity over the course of their musical careers and Fortress is no exception. The musicianship is far greater than most bands in not only their genre, but overall. I just This album has so far been one of my favorites of 2008, which is saying a lot as this year has seen new albums from some of the best bands around, namely the mars volta and radiohead. They have shown a great deal of maturity over the course of their musical careers and Fortress is no exception. The musicianship is far greater than most bands in not only their genre, but overall. I just hope they continue down this path and don't stray too far into the realm of hardcore growlings which have become more prevalent since the days of Kezia. Expand
  29. SethV.
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    This band is simply AMAZING.
  30. GilbertT.
    Apr 22, 2008
    9
    The emo vocals take a while to get used to , but once I got past that I realized how awesome it is. If you are into technical metal you will love the guitar work on this, and I love how they switch genres so effortlessly without making it sound forced or gimmicky.
  31. ZackB.
    Apr 9, 2008
    9
    Protest have achieved a monolith of a metal album. Creative melodies and catchy hooks, adeptly weave into an insanely technical web of high-energy musicianship. They soar high above the sea of mediocrity that is currently the contemporary metal scene.
  32. TommyR.
    Jun 1, 2008
    8
    Amazing band. Amazing album. Not as good as Kezia in my personal opinion, but still a spectacular record.
  33. SamY
    Aug 16, 2008
    10
    This album is spectacular. As a singer versed in a variety of different genres and styles, I give this album a ten because rody has an amazing range, luke and tim shred relentlessly, and arif and moe keep the beat popping like nobody's business. Before you rate this album low or dismiss it entirely, I would like to ask that you try and hit all the notes he does esp the growls and This album is spectacular. As a singer versed in a variety of different genres and styles, I give this album a ten because rody has an amazing range, luke and tim shred relentlessly, and arif and moe keep the beat popping like nobody's business. Before you rate this album low or dismiss it entirely, I would like to ask that you try and hit all the notes he does esp the growls and screams. Not so easy is it? What makes him even more remarkable is that he has developed enough vocal endurance to sing this style of music for a long time (during shows he rarely falters). Arif writes all the lyrics and can keep up with luke's shred with his own tapping and sweeps which garners a lot of respect from me. Protest would not be the metal onslaught it is today without arif and rody, two of the youngest powerhouse rockers of the new millenium. Expand
  34. diediediehard
    Feb 15, 2008
    1
    I listened to this album after a friend said I may like it. My initial opinion was that the guitars sounded terrible, too much treble and over - produced. This led me to believe that this style of music has been milked many times before, so I deleted the file, in my opinion there are far better bands than this within the same genre - dillnger escape plan to name one.
  35. AgustínL.
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    I had to give it a 10 to balance out the mess that diediedie hard did but overall this is a great album sometimes i have my doubts of some transitions as some one before said, and the voice its not precisely my cup of tea, but in a whole the album is awesome.
  36. JoshB.
    Feb 19, 2008
    10
    Being a big fan of Kezia, I had high expectations for this album. They were met and exceeded.
  37. TobyW.
    Feb 22, 2008
    9
    I had never heard of this band but I picked up the album based on the reviews. I really like it. I find a lot of metal heads tend to be extremely closed-minded, listening only to their one or two little niche sub-sub-genres and proclaiming every other kind of metal to be "crap". I suspect as this album stradles quite a few different sub-genres that it will get panned by a lot of these people.
  38. Evan
    Feb 27, 2008
    10
    I liked most of Protest's first album, Kezia, and was quite hopeful that Fortress would be pretty good too. However, I was actually blown away by how much the band had changed, for the better, and it was almost like listening to a different band altogether. Already a player for my favorite CD of the year.
  39. BrandonS.
    Feb 27, 2008
    7
    These guys are great instrumentalists, but the dio type singing destroys this album for me, I just can't get into it.
  40. AleS.
    Mar 11, 2008
    2
    Not Impressive.
  41. LiamS.
    Mar 17, 2008
    3
    these guys fall somewhere towards the bottom of the trendy emo/metalcore pile. i can't hear anything original in what they're doing.
  42. FranklinT.
    Mar 18, 2008
    10
    When a band comes out with an album like this at their age, you don't sit on your mediocre asses and guffaw at "emo vocals". This album is visionary, you sons of bitches. Bow your heads in shame. The Metal Divines are sending us an invention--invention relies on the furious creativity of return (to old Metal) and abandon (the New Sound)--of Sound. If you can't see or accept that When a band comes out with an album like this at their age, you don't sit on your mediocre asses and guffaw at "emo vocals". This album is visionary, you sons of bitches. Bow your heads in shame. The Metal Divines are sending us an invention--invention relies on the furious creativity of return (to old Metal) and abandon (the New Sound)--of Sound. If you can't see or accept that then you're either deaf to the music of the spheres or, as is typical of you mortal dirt-bags, jealous. Expand
  43. XavierL.
    Mar 18, 2008
    10
    If you give lower then a perfect score then you should never listen to music again. This is not only the best album of the year, but is the greatest album of all time.
  44. A.A.
    Mar 19, 2008
    10
    Epic enough said.
  45. NickC.
    Mar 24, 2008
    10
    Anyone who cannot appreciate this album is quite unfortunate. This is by far one of the most talented bands on the planet whether you like this style of music or not.
  46. DanielT.
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    Even better than Kezia
  47. Devin
    Mar 3, 2008
    2
    Utterly intolerable, over-the-top opera metal that should be banished to the 80s where it belongs. An ability to play one's guitar or drums very quickly does not an artistic album make, and this kind of hollow theatrical nonsense is about as far as one can get.
  48. DougH.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    Best metal album this year.
  49. Stefan
    Apr 13, 2008
    10
    This album defines a lot of boundires of music. People say there vocals are whiney whatever but in reality are some of the best vocals in contemporary metal. The guitars have taken much influence and create a unique sound not only in mathcore but also metal. This bands album has show how well they have progressed if you listen to there early stuff it shines on political messages anti flag This album defines a lot of boundires of music. People say there vocals are whiney whatever but in reality are some of the best vocals in contemporary metal. The guitars have taken much influence and create a unique sound not only in mathcore but also metal. This bands album has show how well they have progressed if you listen to there early stuff it shines on political messages anti flag would be proud of. Now they created music which show be appreciated by everyone! Expand
  50. MattA.
    Apr 30, 2008
    1
    Thank God for the cokemachineglow review to even out the score from the metal dicksucking reviews from everyone else. Admittedly, metal has never been my cup of tea, but the good reviews prompted me to check it out, and this album simply reaffirmed my distaste for the genre. Only listen to if you like to play Warcraft on Friday nights and cut yourself.
  51. JonoB.
    May 2, 2008
    9
    This is a great album. Very original riffs, vocal melodies, and some great drumming. For all of those saying this release is "average" and "mediocre", I want to know exactly what you are listening to. You must have the most godly collection of music on the planet, or you yourself must be a virtuoso who's taking time away from your violin to critique a metal-core album. Whatever it This is a great album. Very original riffs, vocal melodies, and some great drumming. For all of those saying this release is "average" and "mediocre", I want to know exactly what you are listening to. You must have the most godly collection of music on the planet, or you yourself must be a virtuoso who's taking time away from your violin to critique a metal-core album. Whatever it may be, this is the best metal-core release ever, and one of the better metal releases in the last few years. Expand
  52. JustinS.
    May 4, 2008
    1
    For god's sake, look at the reviewers who rated this album. No credibility Terrible record.
  53. KevinH.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    This band is ingenious. Unique, heavy, progressive, melodic and lyrical. They aren't the most digestible band ever, but they are highly digestible for a metal band. Hence the criticism. Frankly, I don't care for an opinion from someone who thinks either Simple Plan or Cannibal Corpse deserve a better rating. The fact is, these guys do what they do well and no one can touch it. This band is ingenious. Unique, heavy, progressive, melodic and lyrical. They aren't the most digestible band ever, but they are highly digestible for a metal band. Hence the criticism. Frankly, I don't care for an opinion from someone who thinks either Simple Plan or Cannibal Corpse deserve a better rating. The fact is, these guys do what they do well and no one can touch it. Keep pissing people off boys. Expand
  54. Mislav
    Jul 13, 2008
    10
    Truly epic music. The musicians are excellent, and the singer is great too. He has a good vocal range and voice as well as a scream and growl. It's not the kind of music everyone will appreciate, but it's awesome. I suggest listening to samples to see if you like it.
  55. MattF.
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    Some of the lyrics are a bit weak, and some songs (Bone Marrow) have jarring random parts and really don't transition well between them, but overall, this is one of the most interesting, enjoyable albums I've heard in years.
  56. Sean
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    This is probably one of the best albums I've ever heard. This is better then Kezia (Kezia is still amazing though). It's a lot more heavier. The lyrics are amazing. The guitars are so technical. Everything about this album rocks, all the songs are great.
  57. EricC.
    Feb 28, 2008
    8
    I have to completely agree with Brandon S. The vocals really to hurt this album. They're basically emo vocals, which is too bad, since everything else is basically flawless. It's a good album, but I really hesitate to call it the classic that some people see it as. Also, the metascore is so high because there are only 5 reviews (as I right this), so that one really good review I have to completely agree with Brandon S. The vocals really to hurt this album. They're basically emo vocals, which is too bad, since everything else is basically flawless. It's a good album, but I really hesitate to call it the classic that some people see it as. Also, the metascore is so high because there are only 5 reviews (as I right this), so that one really good review is really pulling it up. Just thought I'd point that out. Expand
  58. JeffD.
    Mar 16, 2008
    10
    An excellent follow-up to Kezia, expanding on that album's scope and technical proficiency. A must-listen for fans of Protest's previous work and those who like their metal at light speed with a healthy dose of genre-bending attention deficiency.
  59. Philth
    Mar 21, 2008
    9
    Remember when "emo" actually meant something and wasn't just some arbitrary catch-all insult to be hurled at bands you don't like regardless of their actual genre? Anyways, this is a very impressive album by a very talented young band who combine all sorts of elements from many of the various subgenres of metal and punk. It isn't "emo", it isn't "opera metal", and it Remember when "emo" actually meant something and wasn't just some arbitrary catch-all insult to be hurled at bands you don't like regardless of their actual genre? Anyways, this is a very impressive album by a very talented young band who combine all sorts of elements from many of the various subgenres of metal and punk. It isn't "emo", it isn't "opera metal", and it deserves the high rating that it currently has on this site. Expand
  60. AlexandreM.
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    Absolutely insane from beginning to end. A breath of fresh air in the metal universe.
  61. SoupS.
    Mar 27, 2008
    1
    This album is terrible. This band is an embarrassment to what metal is really about. It's just standard, boring, haircore. The same thing that's been sucking the soul out of metal for the past five or six years or so. Where are the reviews from real magazines, anyway?
  62. kgc
    Apr 14, 2008
    10
    This is an amazing album and took a long time to make and those of you saying it is bad and you are 'tired of this stuff' you might as well keep it to yourselves because you have no idea what you are talking about. i have no idea what kind of music you like but iron maiden is an awesome band and is better than most.
  63. Ilovepth
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    I have something very important to say. No one should classify any part of PTH's music "emo". Their lyrics and musical style are no such filth. They are progressive/metal/post hardcore/punk. Don't be ignorant about the musicianship either. I have been playing guitar (metal) for about 7 years and believe me the riffage on this album is AMAZING. This album deserves to be at the I have something very important to say. No one should classify any part of PTH's music "emo". Their lyrics and musical style are no such filth. They are progressive/metal/post hardcore/punk. Don't be ignorant about the musicianship either. I have been playing guitar (metal) for about 7 years and believe me the riffage on this album is AMAZING. This album deserves to be at the top. If don't understand what PTH is about maybe you should research what both Kezia and Fortress are about before you label it as mediocre. Let the real musicians and those who know great music decide where this album belongs. Expand
  64. Sep 3, 2010
    7
    Really melodic stuff. It's in fact a strong mix of different genres (i think form harcore there only few beatdown parts left). There is a strong infuence of heavy metal and everything you can ever imagine
  65. Sep 13, 2012
    10
    Quite possibly my favourite album of all time. This is the album that opened my mind to the metal genre and got me listening to everything I could get my hands on. I used to strictly enjoy one genre of metal but because of this glorious ban enjoy a bit of everything. Took me a few listens to really enjoy it but boy was it worth it.
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. It's a scarily mature album for a bunch of 21 year olds to have recorded, and the pairing of its ambitious lyrical concepts and motivated songwriting is something to be admired.
  2. Protest the Hero is having fun with their creativity here, and Fortress is a better album for it.
  3. Fortress stands out as gratifyingly heavy and heady.