FutureSex / LoveSounds

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Sep 12, 2006
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 332 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 332

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BB
    Sep 12, 2006
    7
    There are only 4 stand out tracks. I was expecting something a little more "futuristic". SexyBack set an expectation that wasn't fufilled.
  2. aL.ck
    Sep 13, 2006
    8
    I think it really deserved an 8.
  3. ShandaS
    Sep 30, 2006
    9
    I am only giving it a 9 b.c his next album needs space to grow for the ten SPOT! This album rocks. Period If you don't agree you're just a hater... and that's okay. Denial is the first step.
  4. TimL
    Feb 3, 2007
    8
    Honestly, one of the better albums of 2006. It has a fresh new sound, it doesn't sound like the same chewed up the industry seems to force feed us. Great production value as well. Anyone saying this album is horrible, is simply jealous because they either can't have Justin, or can't be him. Thats what happens when people let their biases through.
  5. PR
    Nov 8, 2006
    9
    pop may be dead, thanks god, stock aitken waterman anyone? but if quality produced stuff like this is its replacement then we should all surely be a lot happier. what I hate is the fact the new breed take themselves far too seriously - justin should not do interviews - those who know what proper music is all about are spoon fed pr so that we may fall into their trap. the problem is, i may pop may be dead, thanks god, stock aitken waterman anyone? but if quality produced stuff like this is its replacement then we should all surely be a lot happier. what I hate is the fact the new breed take themselves far too seriously - justin should not do interviews - those who know what proper music is all about are spoon fed pr so that we may fall into their trap. the problem is, i may not buy it, but i have heard it, and this album is probably the best pop album of 2006. Expand
  6. [Anonymous]
    Sep 11, 2006
    8
    Some obvious chart toppers here including: Sexyback, My Love, What Goes Around and Losing My Way. But not as well rounded as Justified. Some lengthly fillers and interludes. Overall a decent follow up, could of been better.
  7. ElizabethS
    Jan 6, 2007
    8
    I think it's one of the best albums of 2006!!Especially on production level...!!!
  8. Liv
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    Catchy and danceable. Very different from Justified - and it's for the better.
  9. KellyC
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    I LOVE JT! he's got it all. he's and amazing singer and soooo FIT! and his new album is just bare sex! summer love, what goes around and my love are the best tracks!!! xxxx
  10. ellenc
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    Fs/ls is The best cd put out in a long, long time. Justin Timberlake along with Timberland has given us a reason to listen to music again. Its fun, sexy and makes you want to move along with the music. The cd is addictive. Jt is a talented musician, who has given us a new sound and an exciting listening experience with his new cd FS/LS.
  11. Rani
    Oct 14, 2006
    10
    He's one of the mnay singers out there that can REALLY come up with AWESOME, ORGINALLY music!! that's easy listening, hot, and VERY SEXY!! I LOEV IT
  12. KellyanneW
    Oct 19, 2006
    9
    I was one of the few people who was disappointed with his debut album...but this album has a different sound and shows his true talent. I enjoyed the beat and his vocal range.
  13. MarinaL
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    his cd is absolutely amazing. It starts out very provacative has a lot of dancing songs and what not, and every now and then has a sensual love song every now and then. JT has completely outdone himself his cd is wayy better than his last one. Im so pround of him. and timbb did such a good job. amazing..outstanding
  14. doublea
    Oct 7, 2006
    10
    this album unarguably is one of the best released this year,compared to this years albums and espically from male artists ,this album has saved the music industry after all the shit we,ve been hearing in the last 2 or 3 years. future sex/love sounds is a great album with alot of differnet genres mixed into it,its differnt from the last album which was more specfic to r n b.this album has this album unarguably is one of the best released this year,compared to this years albums and espically from male artists ,this album has saved the music industry after all the shit we,ve been hearing in the last 2 or 3 years. future sex/love sounds is a great album with alot of differnet genres mixed into it,its differnt from the last album which was more specfic to r n b.this album has pop,rock,funk,house and r nb influnces in it and that wat makes so good to listen to,its not ur typical r n b artist album,usher has never done sth like this before,and hes probably killing himself now for this.the secret on this album is timbaland,good thing that there was a dispute over the clipse between jive and the neptunes or we would have seen a second album quite similar to the first one.Justin really found his groove with timbaland on this album and the tracks speak for them self.sexy back is how it all begins ,when i first heard on the day it came out i was like"okay,this is weird,wats all this stuff hes talkin about shackles and wipes",but after i heard it twice i knew this track was hot and the main thing"different".sexy back is a house track ,it grows on u after 2 or 3 times and that wat maks it so sparse. the tracks FUTURE SEX/LOVE SOUND and SEXY LADIES are quite similar,their electonic club funk tracks and their lyrics show you that jt is some" cocky sex god" where all the girls are just dying to bed him but their both great.MY LOVE has to be one of the best on the album ,even though its supposed to be ballad but its got that hip hop flava in it,a ballad which u can move to and t.i makes it even better ,i cant imagine anyone rapping on this track but him.awesome.LOVE STONED is another great track with that rock but funky vibe in it,its so cool how he manged to put so may instruments in to it including his mouth vocals in the back is just great .whats even better about this track is the prelude"i think she knows", ,the way the track was so funky and then suddenly turned so calm is just amazing.WHAT COMES AROUND is defentiley a cry me a river part two ,even though he denied this many times everyone knows its true;its a great pop/rock track and agin the prlude is just amazing; the track really heats up ,the only flaw on it is timbalands vocals ;they just dont work on these type of tracks.CHOP ME UP is a differnt side of jt the track is a crunk hip hop club track;he even sounds awful when hes rapping his verse ;but compared to other simliar tracks in the hip hop industry this is quite good;timbalands verse is the best and as for three six mafia;well there on there cause their from tennase other wise this track woudint exsist.SUMMER LOVE is one of my favorites also' its great how he manged to put such an idea or title on a greatt hip hop clapping beat through out the whole song ;even thoght the chorus is a bit superfical and the pre lude sucks its great.DAMN GIRL;this track i was expecting more of it,even though its okay the lyrics are pretty boring ;half the track he just keeps on saying damn girl and the rap half of it is baby and whoa;justin and will i am are supposed to be a production duo called the "jaw breakers" who have produced for uncle charlie and macy gray so i was expecting better.UNTIL THE END OF TIME is the most boring on the album,but when u look at it this way there hadent been one typical ballad on the album up to that and u know that there cant be a justin album without a typical ballad,its wat hes been doing most the last 10 years, also when compared to otherc r n b ballads its ok.LOSING MY WAY this is my second favourite(in my opinon) after my love,the way the it just starts out with this humming voice that keeps going through the whole track till the end is amazing,also the lyrical content is diffrent and touching in a way ,after this track you know that jt is the best male artist of this generation.ANOTHER SONG(ALL OVER AGAIN) is just another "never again" dissapointing how all justin could get out of rick rubin is a slow typical "quite dull" track,lets just hope he dosent do it one the next album also like hes done on these last two.Over all this album is damn good and the most important thing "differnt" Expand
  15. susanp
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    Best album I've heard in years.
  16. Marcie
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    It hooks you and grabs you and pulls you through to the end. It's a new sounds for JT and while people like to focus on Timbaland's influence, they don't realize that he and Tim are equals on this album. JT is the genuine thing and with this as the successor to Justified, I'm excited to see where he leads us next. Excellent sophomore entry!
  17. JayBeeN
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    Definitly a hot Pop album.. If Michael Is the King.. Justin is The Prince !
  18. MikeM
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    I really enjoyed this album a lot. I listened to it on the leak on MTV.com. I listened to the whole thing from start to finish and loved every minute of it and I'm not a big Justin. There are two interludes that are about 8 minutes long those are actually really good songs. My favorite songs are the last 2 songs Losing My Way and Another Song(All over Again). Losing My Way is my I really enjoyed this album a lot. I listened to it on the leak on MTV.com. I listened to the whole thing from start to finish and loved every minute of it and I'm not a big Justin. There are two interludes that are about 8 minutes long those are actually really good songs. My favorite songs are the last 2 songs Losing My Way and Another Song(All over Again). Losing My Way is my favorite. The worst songs on the album are Sexyback and Sexy Ladies(it'll probally be the 2nd single) but even those are pretty good. I really liked this album a lot and Timbaland deserves a producer of the year award for producing two of the best albums of the year this and Nelly Furtatudo's Loose and one of the best songs of the year Danity kane's Ride 4 You. Expand
  19. MichelleM
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    It is refreshing to hear a "pop star" actually try and create something new with their music. This album is leaps and bounds above nearly all of the less-than-stellar music on the radio today. While he may not be Shakespeare when it comes to lyrics, Timberlake's ear for great melodies, his gift for arranging vocals and his soulful falsetto make for some great listening. I definitely It is refreshing to hear a "pop star" actually try and create something new with their music. This album is leaps and bounds above nearly all of the less-than-stellar music on the radio today. While he may not be Shakespeare when it comes to lyrics, Timberlake's ear for great melodies, his gift for arranging vocals and his soulful falsetto make for some great listening. I definitely recommend this album to everyone. Those who loved Justified and new fans alike. Expand
  20. GinnyW
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    I am very impressed with the musical growth Justin has shown on his new album. I love all his songs but my favorites are probably Love Stoned and What Goes Around. Justin co-wrote every single song and co-produced all but one. It's an amazing album.
  21. NameWitheld
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    Easily the best pop album of the year. If Rolling Stone dubs him the new King of Pop, I have to respectively agree. This album is brilliant, especially for a "former boybander". He has a long career ahead of him.
  22. JonG
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    Absolutely amazing! Great for laughing, dancing, crying, singing, and lovemaking!
  23. FM
    Sep 20, 2006
    9
    This album is hot. I liked it the first time around and I am still playing it out. No doubt Timberlake is on his way to becoming the leader of the pack. Move over BEYONCE!
  24. BlairR
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    This is an amazing album. From the first track to the last there is something intriguing and wonderful in every song. Each time I listen to the cd I hear something new and different. Lovestoned is fun and he Interlude is almost hypnotic and very beautiful. Losing My Way is so sad but it too is beautiful. Another Song is raw and wonderful. I love this song. It's Justin and a piano. This is an amazing album. From the first track to the last there is something intriguing and wonderful in every song. Each time I listen to the cd I hear something new and different. Lovestoned is fun and he Interlude is almost hypnotic and very beautiful. Losing My Way is so sad but it too is beautiful. Another Song is raw and wonderful. I love this song. It's Justin and a piano. The cd is full of fun songs and it really shows Justin's growth as a musician. Give it a listen. Expand
  25. BridgetT
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    I have to admit that I wasn't too sure about Justin's new music when I heard SexyBack for the first time. But that song grew on me quickly and his new cd is off the hooK. Wow. Every track is great. Each time I listen to it I find something else that is amazing. The way each track flows into the next makes for a very fullfilling musical experience. Justin's voice and musical I have to admit that I wasn't too sure about Justin's new music when I heard SexyBack for the first time. But that song grew on me quickly and his new cd is off the hooK. Wow. Every track is great. Each time I listen to it I find something else that is amazing. The way each track flows into the next makes for a very fullfilling musical experience. Justin's voice and musical style have matured so much over the last 3 years. Lovestoned is amazing. It takes hold of me and I can't get enough and the Interlude is just beautiful. Another Song is so raw and emotional. A real departure for Justin. I hope to hear more like this on his next cd., Losing My Way is beautiful. I could go on but just listen for yourself. You won't be sorry. Expand
  26. Jess
    Feb 7, 2007
    9
    I saw him in Toronto and thought he did the best job ever. I love every minute of the album. Best yet!
  27. Iman
    Feb 8, 2007
    9
    J.T. awsome last night at MSG. If not god absolutely the son and the holy ghost
  28. KathieS
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    Sexy back best sound in a long time...
  29. KyleB
    Oct 1, 2006
    9
    Style and flare pieced together with some of the best beats this decade.
  30. SeamusS
    Nov 27, 2006
    9
    To make things short: Though not as full as Justified, just as infectious and maybe, just maybe, too ambitious. At times, the blackcent gets old. Fortunatley, that happens less than the alternative.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. It's a lot like Justified in that it's a solid collection of expertly produced pop songs whose flaws will be devoured by its almost guaranteed string of hits.
  2. The enjoyable, forgettable FutureSex/LoveSounds may be a just-okay Timberlake album, but it's a great Timbaland demo reel.
  3. By its closer... FutureSex/LoveSounds feels like an entirely different and far less interesting album than the one you started listening to.