FutureSex / LoveSounds - Justin Timberlake
FutureSex / LoveSounds Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 290 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Timbaland, will.i.am and Rick Rubin are among the producers on the singer's second solo set.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. There's going to be a coronation very soon, and anyone who cares to invest will be handsomely rewarded by the future king.
  2. It is this excess of ambition over achievement, as opposed to any real consistency, which makes FutureSex/LoveSounds more of an album than Justified was. Songs which sound puzzlingly self-indulgent in isolation-- most obviously, the smirking, tenuously tuneful first single "SexyBack"-- are cloaked in a compelling intensity and purposefulness when played in succession.
  3. Even the lesser efforts are superior to typical chart fare.
  4. How well do Mr. Timberlake and Timbaland work together? So well that they can make even the world’s most irritating percussion instrument, the human beatbox, sound pretty good.
  5. The enjoyable, forgettable FutureSex/LoveSounds may be a just-okay Timberlake album, but it's a great Timbaland demo reel.
  6. A set of forward-thinking pop reminiscent of Sign O' The Times-era Prince. [Oct 2006, p.115]
  7. The Sexyback single makes wise use of filtered vocals to artificially deepen his tone and support his macho pose, but only so much can be done with studio gimmicry. He's soon back to tweeting his game in a prepubescent chirp; the more suggestive his come-ons, the funnier it gets.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 130
  1. venessas
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    WOW I like loved it.. Really good cd.. I'm so glad I took back beyonce's B'day and got this CD instead
  2. colleenj
    Oct 13, 2006
    10
    Timbaland and Timberlake have out done themselves. Every song on the album could be a single. i loved it!!! i would recommend it to anyone.
  3. Feb 9, 2015
    10
    At this point this album is considered a pop classic that brought a new sound to music industry. It's always a pleasure coming back to thisAt this point this album is considered a pop classic that brought a new sound to music industry. It's always a pleasure coming back to this album and it never gets boring. It has so many gems it's hard to pick a favorite. Created in 2006 but still sounds fresh and amazing. Ahead of its time. Expand
  4. undisclosedundisclosed
    Sep 30, 2006
    9
    FS/LS is an album that will if anything else turn heads, from his first single "Sexyback" which has risen to the #1 spot and has remained FS/LS is an album that will if anything else turn heads, from his first single "Sexyback" which has risen to the #1 spot and has remained there for five consectutive weeks it's clear to see JT isn't going the easy way. He could've easily released a polished pop love song with sweet beats, and that falesto voice people love and hate, but instead JT embraked himself on a journey not even he could have precieved would've turned out this successful. His risking taking venture puts him ahead of the pop pack. His lyrics are bold, and the beats are equally as agressive. First listen you have to wonder "Was that really him?" It's a hard guess with his vocal changed up by a guitar amp. With crazy beats and just as good lyrical content JT has taken himself to the next level mixing pop with r&b with songs like "My Love" his next single and "What Goes Around" a pop song with an ending that may suprise some with questionable lyrics follwed by him laughing at a pretend ex for her foolish mistakes. Taking a an almost political stance with songs like "Until the End of Time," a piece more than likely dealing with the war in a round about way, finding true love through all the troubles of everyday. "Loosing My Way" touches upon the ever popular drug addiction, but if you think JT is going to come off as gansta or some hip=hop head or maybe just a junkie you couldn't be more wrong. Instead, he shows that their are no typical sterotypes this is an issue wwether you're a family man or the guy homeless on the strreet background means little. Ending the album Justin promises with "Another Song "All over Again," that his next album like this track is inspired by his hero Donny Hathway. This only Rick Rubiin produced track takes Justin's first try in raw format as he plays piano, yes JT can play insturments and quite well, and makes your heart quiver as he asks for forgiveness from a lover he has hurt, and hopes o tie things up with. I highly recomend this record to anyone who likes and can reconize good music. Expand
  5. ElizabethS
    Jan 6, 2007
    8
    I think it's one of the best albums of 2006!!Especially on production level...!!!
  6. mikes.
    Sep 12, 2006
    7
    I am biased because I actually hate Justin Timberlake's personality and find him to be immature. That being said, this album surprised I am biased because I actually hate Justin Timberlake's personality and find him to be immature. That being said, this album surprised me. The production is absolutely excellent, although Timbaland overproduces artist; Justin benefits from this because its less creative input from him and more from the producer. This is the best Justin Timberlake album and it is probably the best he'll ever do. AMG underrated this album and it is only slightly less impressive than the excellent Nelly Furtado collaboration with Timbaland. Timberlake gets points off for the pointless interludes that demonstrate he is just trying to hard. At first listen, the album absolutely shimmers with ear candy. With repeated listenings the production still stands up on its own merits and Justin gives an inspiring performance. Expand
  7. RafaelP
    Sep 12, 2006
    0
    Timberlake can not sing... Props to Timbaland...

See all 130 User Reviews