G I R L - Pharrell Williams
G I R L Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 87 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Miley Cyrus, Daft Punk, JoJo, Alicia Keys, and Justin Timberlake are featured guests on the second full-length solo release for the rapper/producer that includes the Academy Award-nominated song "Happy" from the Despicable Me 2 soundtrack.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Feb 27, 2014
    The album is loaded with luscious orchestration, motivational mantras and playful sex metaphors. Its taught 10 tracks bring to mind the record Justin Timberlake could have made last year, if he had dared to leave anything on the cutting room floor.
  2. Mar 3, 2014
    It's fun, frivolous, and low on excess.
  3. Mar 7, 2014
    Girl is a simple, even slight record--and that's definitely meant as a compliment.
  4. Mar 7, 2014
    While the immaculately blended pop smoothie that is G I R L goes down easy, its complacency is disappointing.
  5. They're featherweight takes on retro-'70's pop soul, together creating just the summer album we need in a winter that won't quit. But if the album's puppydog need to please goes down with ease, it's effect evaporates nearly as quickly.
  6. 60
    Over 10 tracks, then, no sackcloth is in evidence, just a coy, elfin who-me face, and songs that tone down the smut'n'grind of Pharrell's more R&B-oriented productions and turn up the knobs on his Michael Jackson fetish.
  7. Mar 3, 2014
    All of this is borderline insulting to its target audience, myself included. For a moment in “Brand New,” Williams lets us see his hand, and it subtly reveals how incredibly marketed and capital-centric this album is.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 27
  2. Negative: 7 out of 27
  1. Apr 18, 2014
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Realmente bueno, me alegro de que mi dinero se haya ido en este álbum, tiene temas muy divertidos y no solo Happy, además los duetos con Alicia Keys y Justin se me hacen muy buenas combinaciones, la verdad recomiendo este álbum. Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2014
    I really enjoyed the funky sound of GIRL. I found it surprising that "Hunter" was not mentioned at all, seeing as how it was my personal favorite. I do agree that some songs seem to continue long after they should come to a close, but overall, viewing the album independently, I give it an 8. I feel as if a 67 is far under what Pharrell deserves here. Expand
  3. Mar 4, 2014
    It's certainly refreshing for man far more recognized for his rapping and production credits. Although it builds on the 70's disco revival he helped light up last year -- Robin Thicke's "Blurred Lines" and Daft Punk's "Get Lucky" were probably the most overplayed songs of 2013 -- it's not as refreshing in 2014 when everybody else has taken a bite of the hype (nu-disco is this year's EDM). Pharrell Williams' wannabe Prince falsetto helps glide listeners through a time of vinyls, Woodstock, and men dressed in shiny suits, it's all pleasant enough. Daft Punk make an uncredited appearance in "Gust of Wind", one of the album's most undeniably catchy tunes, which easily -- although surprisingly enough -- outshines the uncredited vocal appearance of Miley Cyrus on "Come Get It Bae". It's opener, "Marilyn Monroe", has the chance to be a top-ten hit -- at least overseas. None of it is exactly "Happy" Pt. II, but the album sounds too similar enough, let's not get carried away. It's a pop album that was intended to shine from the very beginning of its production and while it's not the shiniest (Daft Punk's suits shiny) it could have been, it's a good listen for anyone longing for subtle grooves and tame, yet sexual innuendo. Expand
  4. Apr 30, 2014
    Pharrell has been in the industry longer than any other popular artist out there, but the boom of popularity he enjoyed last year has achieved him a new, single album. Well, not actually single.
    G I R L opens with Marilyn Monroe, a tender homage to women in a way, using the world's most famous sex symbol in the title, but putting other names like Cleopatra and Joan De Arc. Then, the album turns into more-sexist-than-sexy funky tracks (Except "Happy", of course, which if you somehow managed to not have heard it yet, is a joyously infectious track that is simply mesmerizing at first but turns really, really, REALLY repetitive and tiring after a while) that gets big name in the feat. space such as Daft Punk, Miley Cyrus, Alicia Keys and Justin Timberlake. "Know Who You Are", with Alicia Keys, talks about Women's power, but it feels rather ironic when you hear it after Pharrell brags about how he gets so much pu**y in the disgusting "Gush", or how he hunts you down with countless sex references in "Hunter". The Miley Cyrus collaboration, "Come Get It Bae" is a somehow remix of "Happy", Justin Timberlake's friendly vocals in "Brand New" make us want to turn to the great assembled works of Timberlake instead, and the robotic voices of Daft Punk in "Gust Of Wind" are pretty outstanding, besides the entire song being pure pop cliches and not one-in-a-kind even in the slightiest of chances.
    G I R L does not work. It should be an album about how much we love women, and it is an album about sex. That means, nothing new, or at least nothing new done better. It is just another quick pop cash grab, and it feels like it. Next!
  5. Mar 16, 2014
    It has been a slow, slow year for music so far. I've been heavily relying on most of my older stuff lately, and this album does nothing to change that. Happy is of course a fun, cheery song. But the other tracks are junky, generic, and repetitive. Pass. Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2014
    I am very disappointed with this album. I was expecting some funk, and I got fluff. Where is the energy ? The vocal hooks are lacking. He could have just written simple catchy pop songs, instead we get difficult R&B overproduction.
    I think he has been too busy, and his record company pressured him to write an album. He is better than this. In My Mind was much better. At least the hooks were there, and the attitude, also.
  7. Mar 4, 2014
    The album doesn't sound very fresh at all. I've to agree with a review that said with the Neptunes, it was Chad Hugo that added the bite to the group. Did Pharrell really revive disco-influence music or was it the Marvin Gaye song that was bitten off heavily for Blurred Lines? Also, I've to say it was Daft Punk's creativity on Random Access Memories that explored the sound further. The lyrics on this album are banal and creepy at the same time. Pharrell's voice isn't falsetto. It's just a weak voice. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews