Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. So it is in just nine short songs, Kinsella has crafted something deeply resonant, deeply impacting and most importantly, timeless.
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    80
    They are an emotionally rich dialogue that is so easy to relate to, it's hard not to get lost in his sentiments.
  3. Jan 17, 2012
    78
    Luckily, as his focus on formative heartbreak has slowly graduated to the trials of marriage and children, Owen's catalog has likewise matured in sound.
  4. Nov 9, 2011
    70
    Kinsella's tried-and-true delicately delivered cynicism combined with a new approach to instrumentation is refreshing after all these years.
  5. Nov 9, 2011
    67
    It's not a marked deviation from past discs, but it does show signs of Owen's gentle, stately erosion.
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    60
    Owen leave behind the emotional outbursts of his collaborations with his brother Tim in Cap'n Jazz, Joan Of Arc and Owls, but keep a quieter, suburban rage alive on his sixth album. [Dec 2011, p.121]
  7. Nov 9, 2011
    60
    Overall, Owen's Ghost Town plays like a well-crafted folk/pop atmospheric album, reminiscent of artists who do maudlin atmosphere better, such as Mark Kozelek, or Iron & Wine.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    there is yet to be an Owen album that i dislike; his music is arguably getting better as the years go by. in this one, we find him expandingthere is yet to be an Owen album that i dislike; his music is arguably getting better as the years go by. in this one, we find him expanding his musical range into more orchestral backing, and having more intricate melodies. the lyrics are memorable and, most importantly, relatable. but what can i say -- i'm a huge sap for Owen's songs. Full Review »