• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Ghost Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the debut album for San Diego-based trio led by Travis Trevisan.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. 74
    Resonating and radical, Ghost’s evocative and contradictory shades of noisy (“Dead Doctors Don’t Lie”) and dreamy (“Bat Lies”) soundscapes are a welcome and overdue escape from the “oppressiveness” of the Southern California sun.
  2. While there are some great moments and promising songs, the album is hindered by its refusal to either commit to a sound or commit to trying new things. The tone of the album seems indecisive, and Ghost ends up marginalizing its own strengths.
  3. Overall, Ghost may feel a little too loose, like it resists coming together when it really should. But listening to the overcast minor chords of closer “Bat Lies” proves Trevisan is clearly a voice to pay attention to.
  4. Ghost rarely does get the hint, often left too slight and too self-important for it's own good.