Girl Who Got Away

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Mar 26, 2013
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
Buy On
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    80
    Halfway through, Girl Who Got Away sucks you into its sway, its comforts as alluring as they are elusive.
  2. Mar 1, 2013
    80
    As an album, it doesn’t break any new ground--it doesn’t try to. What it does do though is sweep itself up in a groundswell of beautiful, heart-tugging nostalgia so strong it’s as if 2003 lies just beyond the window again, shimmering in the haze of the morning dew.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    Mar 29, 2013
    83
    [Dido] carries it with her creamy alto and her sweetly ethereal allure. [5 Apr 2013, p.67]
  4. Mar 1, 2013
    70
    Admittedly, the album contains the odd soporific song like No Freedom, but these turns are outweighed by tracks with a strong tune or an unexpected hint of sadness.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jul 8, 2013
    10
    Maybe people are giving low notes to this album because they can't accept that Dido has the right to venture into different music styles andMaybe people are giving low notes to this album because they can't accept that Dido has the right to venture into different music styles and make her perfect and unique songs. She's doin' it since "Stoned" and "Sand In My Shoes", just pedants are trying to criticize her for make what she wants to do. Girl Who Got Away is one of the most beautiful albuns in this year and nothing can change it. Full Review »
  2. Mar 30, 2013
    6
    I don't know a lot of artists who sounds the same either at the studio and the stage, but I'm sure that Dido is one of them. The new album isI don't know a lot of artists who sounds the same either at the studio and the stage, but I'm sure that Dido is one of them. The new album is ears-pleasing as usual, but suffers from heterogeneity of songs. Some of them sounds great, others you'd rather to fast forward. Dido keeps singing with the same passion as in her earlier releases, she's dedicating herself to every word she sings, but sometimes it seems that the lyrics downgrading her vocal skills. Still, this album is well produced and nice to have in your own discography for late starless nights (5 Songs Per Artist Blog) Full Review »
  3. Apr 17, 2014
    7
    After four years long break Dido is back. Album is called Girl Who Got Away. You might call it a come-back album, but most of it was recordedAfter four years long break Dido is back. Album is called Girl Who Got Away. You might call it a come-back album, but most of it was recorded almost two years ago. It is not amazing, nor life-changing album, but it is very good. Interesting one. I would put it behind her debut, but above her last two albums.

    At one moments it is melancholic and nostalgic and then it becomes optimistic. but Dido stayed true to herself, to her unique voice and echoing sound. Her music to me always has been like chiaroscuro - like singing light from the dark. And always will be. Songs that really stand out from first time you heard 'em are Let Us Move On with rapping provided by Kendrick Lamar, Blackbird and Simon&Garfunkel-esque Sitting On The Roof Of The World. No Freedom is grandiose but to me it would be perfect if it could be somewhere in between crazy Benny Benassi remix and its original version. Songs that will like every gentle and romantic soul are Loveless Hearts and Happy New Year. Free birds will adore Girl Who Got Away, Love to Blame and Go Dreaming. All those who broke-up maybe will find their hymns in End of Night and Blackbird. Album ends with quiet and evocative Day Before We Went to War. If you love Dido, you will LOVE the whole album. If you don't you will love The Blackbird.
    Full Review »