• Band Name: Dido
  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Mar 26, 2013
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 13, 2013
    Dido defines the term "middle of the road." To her credit, she has never given in to pressure to follow current music trends for commercial success and has insisted on releasing albums when she feels ready, but these days, she's really paying for insistence to do things her way. No Angel and Life For Rent gave her amazing sales, although singles sales and positions weren't so hot. But the public can take one big break and one duplicate of the last album. But Dido has kept the same musical style for four albums in a row and has taken big breaks between all four of those albums. The public haven't got time for that. They moved on and her third album barely hit 1 million copies, a stark contrast to her record breaking previous efforts. Unsurprisingly, her latest release has suffered the same fate. Any experimentation she has ever done is only in one or two tracks and anything a bit out there has been relegated to the deluxe edition bonus tracks. Lead single, Let Us Move On really benefited from a guest rap from Kendrick Lamar, bonus track All I See benefited from a guest rap from Pete Miser and the club remix of Everything To Lose turns it into something amazing. Aside from these little acts of experimentation, final track, Day Before We Went To War is a beautiful ballad and the only classic Dido track that wasn't boring. Dido's lack of challenging herself and her years of effort to make an album that sounds the same as the last one makes me wonder how passionate she is about music. She'd better buck up her ideas if she still wants a career after this because if this is the best work that she can produce after a 4 year labour, she'll be forgotten about real soon. Expand

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Apr 10, 2013
    Surprises include End Of Night, nicely brutish electro-pop where Dido's automaton vocal really works; funked-up raga/calypso Love To Blame; and Sitting On The Roof Of The World.... Otherwise, Musak coming soon to a changing room near you. [May 2013, p.88]
  2. 83
    [Dido] carries it with her creamy alto and her sweetly ethereal allure. [5 Apr 2013, p.67]
  3. Mar 25, 2013
    The electronics are there, however, and they lift the album’s better songs out of the sad-sack zone.