Go Fly a Kite

Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Q Magazine
    Jun 20, 2012
    60
    Rather kite-flying itself, Kweller prides shooting the breeze over true direction, but there are enough emotional gusts here to ensure he regularly soars. [Jun 2012, p.106]
  2. May 14, 2012
    60
    Go Fly A Kite is a likeable album, but it sounds like Jet at its worst times and like an American alt-rock band past their sell by date at its best.
  3. May 1, 2012
    60
    Kweller's talent as a pop-rock songwriter is plainly evident, but despite the consistent cheeriness that's offered across Go Fly A Kite, it never manages to shake off the feeling of being merely an appetiser for a main course that never materialises.
  4. Feb 14, 2012
    60
    Sure, a couple tracks hit it just right, but by and large, once the album's over, it's not liable to pop back into my thinking.
  5. Feb 7, 2012
    60
    He hones his best Cars, Harry Nilsson and Wilco moves into a personally revealing breakup record.
  6. Feb 23, 2012
    55
    The most disappointing aspect of Go Fly a Kite is that it sounds so satisfied, almost smug, in its complacency.
  7. Under The Radar
    Mar 21, 2012
    50
    Bouncy and inexhaustible. [Mar 2012, p.87]
  8. May 11, 2012
    40
    It's not groundbreaking, and it's not that interesting.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Apr 26, 2012
    3
    New indie-pop album of Ben Kweller - "Go Fly a Kite" is a very average product. The very first songs "Mean To Me" and "Out The Door" did notNew indie-pop album of Ben Kweller - "Go Fly a Kite" is a very average product. The very first songs "Mean To Me" and "Out The Door" did not impress. Thanks that somewhat minimalist-pop compositions like "Gossip", "Justify Me" or carefree county song "Full Circle" saves the situation. In any case this is not a proposition of the highest quality - you can let it go. Full Review »
  2. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    Ben Kweller is back with his best album yet. Go Fly a Kite is exactly what a good album should be like. The songs are catchy, the lyrics areBen Kweller is back with his best album yet. Go Fly a Kite is exactly what a good album should be like. The songs are catchy, the lyrics are clever, and the songwriting is impeccable (as usual with Ben Kweller). He has graduated from adolescence (finally) and is really making great music. His influences are obvious (Tom Petty, Bruce Springsteen, Weezer) but it doesn't sound like a copy at all. Hopefully this will put Ben Kweller out more and give him some radio play. 10/10. Amazing. Full Review »