Goblin - Tyler, The Creator
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 112 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 112
  2. Negative: 14 out of 112

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    A creation of pure genius. If you listen to the lyrics and the message Tyler sends, it is not for the weak, but it is a strong message opposing government, injustice, and the common word.
  2. Jul 22, 2011
    9
    One of the best album of the year. Underground hip hop music is always the best hip hop and Tyler proves that. This album is on of the best hip hop album in a while and one of the best abums of the year. EVery track on the album is something special. Other people may argue that there is too much profanity in this album and other may get offending by this album . This album isn't for people that is uptight if you not up tight then you could give this album a shot . If you are very religion pleas don't listen to this album because he take a lot of shot at god. Tyler the creator is a very good producer one of the best producer and director. The song Yonker is a very brilliant song and video. Most of the songs on the album is Hardcore Rap and Alternative Hip Hop. If you love hip hop music then i don't see o you cant love this album. I love the style of this album. Some of the songs seem like a movie. The songs tell stories. This is a album to get. I think hip hop fans and also fans of good music should give this artist a chance , maybe you will love it. I heard one song and i started to love this artist. OFWGKTA has a bright future ahead of them. Expand
  3. May 12, 2011
    10
    The people giving this bad reviews don't know rap, alternative hip hop, and the direction behind the art. "It's not **** horrorcore faggots" as Tyler would put it, but it's more then that. If you have been a GOLF WANG fan since the days of the original OF tape YOU WILL LOVE THIS. If you jumped on the yonkers bandwagon, but are starting to see more to the group, YOU WILL LOVE THIS. If you know the difference between a simile and a metaphor, and how a real rapper tells a story (fictional or not) YOU WILL LOVE THIS. Tyler has swagged all over this album, and it shows with his deep hypnotic graveyard beats, his witty f*ck everybody" lyricism that goes over the heads of 90% of the critics. I think the way Tyler views this album is summed up in the first track alone when he says "They don't get it, cuz it's not made for them/ the n!gg@ that's in the mirror rapping this is made for him". Standout tracks (aside from yonkers and sandwitches which have been out for a while) would be Tron Cat, Fish, Radicals, and Transylvania, however the whole album is worth countless playthroughs. The message he presents is do yourself and **** anybody who says otherwise, which is the truest message anybody can tell, and Tyler tells it viciously deliciously. GOLF WANG or lick a pimple covered d*ck faggots. P.S. n*ggas who wanna call d*ck riding, eat a d*ck yourself, its swa6 music for people who like getting swa666ed out, killpeopleburnsh*tf*ckschool Expand
  4. May 11, 2011
    10
    Best OF release to date. Some of the tracks just seem like filler, and I was disappointed to see that one of the 3 bonus tracks was some minute long instrumental. Other than that though, this is a very solid album for someone who produced the previous one on his own. Golden is by far the best and hardest hitting song on the album, i wish there was another like it.
  5. Jun 6, 2011
    9
    Easily the best rap album of the year and completely blows bastard out of the water, the only song I can't stand on the album is BDS, that's the only compaint I have about it, amazing album.
  6. Sep 2, 2011
    9
    I really did not wanna listen to this album, I was convinced this is a rapper who feels himself way too much, uses beef to get known and would be trash. But after listening to his album he is just mis understood. He hates the dumb downed music which is now selling and he's trying to change that. "Goblin" is a great album, unlike many artist who get noticed Tyler did not go commercial at all on this album. His lyrics were phenomenal, he never tried to be someone that he is not. To me he is a little like Eminem when he first started. This is by far one of the best rap albums of they year. If it was a little less **** the world" then I would give the album a perfect 10 but its still a great album. Expand
  7. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    Fresh, original and vicious. Odd Future Wolf Gang Kill Them All have burst into our consciousness, and their fanbase is growing and growing by the day. Tyler's second album is just as brilliant as ever, despite being peppered with complaints about the fame thats been thrust upon him. Not for the easily offended, and probably not for Bruno Mars fans either.
  8. Sep 28, 2011
    10
    This guy is one of the most lyricall guys out in the game rite now and has a odd twist and rare flavor to his music but, he has a sound that now a days people search for in the hiphop world and just say wow!, thats different but its good. Dispite his lazy effort and **** atitude this guy lives his life how ever he feels at the time in and out the studio.
  9. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    This album is a masterpiece. As another kid from LA that grew up poor i can relate to OFWGKTA. If you are some rich ass republican from Connecticut then you will obviously not understand this music because most of the topics are discussed at your dispense. Their music is stellar and many ignorant listeners will probably not pick up on all of the subtle messages. If you like hip hop then you should like this album because it really could not have been more perfect. Expand
  10. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    The way he tells this story of himself (Tyler) and his split personality (Wolf Haley) is pure genius and should go down in history of story telling in rap. Also a rap album without purely songs about weed and is always nice.
  11. Aug 22, 2014
    10
    Must be understood in the context of Tyler's musical inspiration, such as surrealist rapper MF DOOM, who puts himself into absurd situations - only Tyler does the same with intentional meaning. Look beyond whatever potential so-called "shock value" there is.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    60
    Irksome and intriguing, compelling and calculated, Goblin confounds at every turn. [Aug. 2011, p. 104]
  2. Sep 20, 2011
    80
    This album then delivers anger, honesty and arrogance, all in sporadic scatter-gun fashion: the overriding feeling is confused, uncertain, often unreasonable, but ultimately well intentioned.
  3. Aug 17, 2011
    60
    It's a shame that the the young skate rat seems to be so caught up in his own hype, as beneath the bluster and amped-up angst, there is something interesting going on. [Jul 2011, p.54]