God Hates Us All Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 67 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Produced by Matt Hyde, 'God Hates Us All' is the eighth studio album (and first in three years) for the Southern California thrash-metal band. Originally set for a July 2001 release, the album was delayed so that American Recordings head Rick Rubin and producer Sean Beavan could remix each of the tracks. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. The most powerful, viscerally brutal album the quartet have released to date. [Sep 2001, p.100]
  2. Slayer remains an elemental metal band, continuing to surge on something high-grade and uncut.
  3. They're still racing through their riffs with the velocity of a NASCAR winner. [21 Sep 2001, p.84]
  4. 80
    Don't worry--eight albums into their reign, Slayer still sound like Slayer. [Sep 2001, p.158]
  5. 80
    Sounds like a tighter, more focused version of past glories.
  6. God Hates Us All is Slayer's most brutal record since 1986's immortal (or undead) Reign in Blood.
  7. 60
    It's not as good as 1988's South of Heaven, but there's enough speaker-shredding guitar noise to make up for any vocal deficiencies. [Aug/Sep 2001, p.128]

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37
  1. Feb 8, 2014
    Well, this album doesn't deserve that score. Songs does not have that unique Slayer atmosphere in my opinion, it sounds so generic. Riffs are not enough fast, wicked and complex. They all sound same and all of them are repetitive. Tom is just yelling, it's not his style. I can't hear "real Tom" in this album. I just can't hear the brutality. Solos suck as usual. The only song that I love is Disciple. That's it. It would be good album for a generic band maybe but not for Slayer. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews