Gold Cobra - Limp Bizkit
Gold Cobra Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 69 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The nu-metal Florida quintet releases its sixth studio album; the first in more than a decade with the original lineup.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Jul 6, 2011
    80
    Let your guard down and jam some Bizkit.
  2. Jul 22, 2011
    77
    Gold Cobra reminds us of how much fun a tight, no-holds-barred rap-metal record can be in the right hands.
  3. Jun 28, 2011
    70
    So is it any good? Does it matter? Limp Bizkit are bigger than ever before so getcha groove on, stop taking things seriously.
  4. 60
    Gold Cobra props itself up as the best thing we've seen from our most hated band since even 1997, and the two albums following that had enough singles to fill a greatest hits compilation one record ahead of schedule.
  5. Jun 28, 2011
    60
    With the exception of the always inventive playing of guitarist Wes Borland, here Limp Bizkit sound like a band whose time has passed. Given that this is a group that boorishly exemplified the empty materialism and crass self-centredness that lurked at nu-metal's core, this is surely no bad thing.
  6. Sep 1, 2011
    50
    The album plays to the band's strengths, but there's simply nothing here as catchy as "My Way" or as infectiously fun as "Break Stuff."
  7. 10
    It's difficult to believe Limp Bizkit could return after all this time somehow even more hateful than before.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
  1. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    Fantastic music!!new sounds explored.awesome solo's. as usual limp bizkit haters who call themselves critics have started to rate them low. but that is okay, it is still going to be a hit!! Expand
  2. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    limp bizkit is constantly hated on by critics, and thats just not fair. This albums got some amazing sounds, that give you a feeling of hardcore awesomeness Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    Limp Bizkit is my fav0rite band and they deliver on this new album. Wes Borland has some amazing riffs and Fred Durst writes his best lyrics since Significant Other. Even if you don't like Limp Bizkit you should buy this album and give it a spin Expand
  4. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    I love this CD and have been waiting a long time for it!! It was well worth the wait...They have never sounded better and this is the best CD since Chocolate Starfish. It's original LB with some maturity in the voices and music now and so glad Wes is back!! I love it - awesome and have listened to over and over! It's addictive!! Expand
  5. Jun 29, 2011
    9
    Better then expected, some weak tracks. Would be great if they had taken the time to add some more fine tracks. But they still have the energy to make some bad-ass songs! Expand
  6. Feb 7, 2014
    8
    Instrumentally one of the strongest albums I've ever heard, lyrically decent by Bizkit standards (which isn't saying much) but vocally lacking. I appreciate the rawness but I also miss the 1999-2003 Bizkit sound (particuarly the more pop-oriented riffs, Fred's voice and Lethal's scratching).

    Almost every song stands out in some way, what with the riffs of "Bring it Back", "Douche Bag", "Autotunage", "Why Try", "Killer in You" and "Shotgun"; the amazing yet simplistic synth of "Loser"; the chorus of "Gold Cobra"; the climax and lyricism of "Walking Away" and finally Lethal's session on "90.2.10".

    "Shark Attack" is by far the weakest song on the album. Could be passable if Fred still retained his old voice.

    Standard bonus tracks are also amazing, particularly "My Own Cobain" for its ending.

    Exclusive tracks just make me cringe.

    A solid 8.
    Expand
  7. Jul 3, 2011
    0
    The 90s were an interesting decade. It provided us with greats such as Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Rage Against the Machine, Soundgarden and a host of others, but it also steam-rolled our ear-buds with Limp Bizkit. A band that had moments of brilliance, but for the most part it was dogged down by Dursts mediocrity. It comes no surprise that Gold Cobra isn't a step into the new millennium, but rather a collection of 90s nu metal, served in a shiny new wrapper. Great for annoying the Hannah Montana kids, but dismal for personal enjoyment. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews