• Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Jun 5, 2007
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 368 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 368

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EdwardE
    Jul 14, 2007
    10
    The best R&B album of this decade. It's that good.
  2. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    This album is mostly flawless from start to finish. Songs like "Question Existing", "Good Girl Gone Bad", "Sell Me Candy", "Lemme Get Dat", and a few others despratly need taken off this album. Highlights include "Hate Myself For Loving You", "Umbrella", "Push Up On Me", "Breakin' Dishes", "Shut Up And Drive", "Rehab", "If I Never See Your Face Again", "Disturbia", "Take A Bow"!
  3. FatimaI
    Jun 10, 2007
    9
    I think people are afraid to give Rihanna the credit she deserves. This is surprisingly a great album, made even more impressive when you realize how far she has come in 2 years. Umbrella, Breakin' Dishes, and Sell Me Candy are my songs for the summer. Whatever critics may think.
  4. AlfredoM
    Jun 20, 2007
    9
    Way better that her previous records!!. "Don't Stop The Music" and "Sell Me Candy" are outstanding!!.SO MUCH FUN!!
  5. BlakeD
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    By far the coolest album I've heard this summer. It's just so goddamn catchy, energetic, wild, edgy and addictive, just the way I like it. Rihanna has truly progressed tremendously both as a singer and song-writer, and she looks good doing it. Beyonce move over...the real star of R&B is right here. The best R&B album of this year, no contest.
  6. ChristopherM
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    This album definitely outdid all of my expectations. Rihanna has finally started to sound like a mature woman with a strong voice and quite a great career in front of her. Keep it up!
  7. DenisS
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    Best of the year!
  8. TomS
    Jun 19, 2007
    9
    unlike other users who've rated this zero based on Umbrella without listening to the album, i've listened to it start to finish and it's great, only one dud track and that's the bland 'Say It'. Rihanna may not have the best voice, but she knows how to work what she's got, especially on guaranteed hits (and next singles) Shut Up And Drive, and Don't unlike other users who've rated this zero based on Umbrella without listening to the album, i've listened to it start to finish and it's great, only one dud track and that's the bland 'Say It'. Rihanna may not have the best voice, but she knows how to work what she's got, especially on guaranteed hits (and next singles) Shut Up And Drive, and Don't Stop The Music. Even the slower songs work well, with Rehab and Good Girl Gone Bad being among the best tracks on the CD. This is the kind of album that the likes of Beyonce should be making but aren't, and Rihanna's edging ahead of them, in terms of music quality anyway. Expand
  9. nancym.
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    This is easily Rihanna's high point thus far in her freakishly sucessful career. The ablum is well-rounded with infectious beats and in-your-face lyrics. 3 top tracks: 1 umbrella, 2 shut up and drive, 3 breakin' dishes
  10. taraji
    Jun 7, 2007
    9
    Surprising a great musical treat best song on here 'Sell Me Candy'
  11. fredrice
    Jun 7, 2007
    9
    Impressive!!
  12. Logan
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    A lot better than I expected, considering I'm not into this kind of music. But Rihanna is quite the charmer, so it was hard to resist. Good Girl Gone Bad has bit of everything from R&B, Pop Rock, Funk, Reggae, Dance and some electronic. Is truly a remarkable record for her. Loaded with tons and tons of R&B jams from Rehab, Sell Me Candy, Hate That I Love You, Good Girl Gone Bad, Push A lot better than I expected, considering I'm not into this kind of music. But Rihanna is quite the charmer, so it was hard to resist. Good Girl Gone Bad has bit of everything from R&B, Pop Rock, Funk, Reggae, Dance and some electronic. Is truly a remarkable record for her. Loaded with tons and tons of R&B jams from Rehab, Sell Me Candy, Hate That I Love You, Good Girl Gone Bad, Push Up On Me, and her hit single Umbrella. Overall, terrific album from Rihanna. Expand
  13. JeffN.
    Jun 12, 2007
    8
    "Good Girl Gone Bad" will not stand among 2007's best albums, or best R&B albums, for that matter. In truth, it features primarily superficial subject matter, and Rihanna can't manage to fully reign supreme, as sizzling production often muffles her very attempts to reveal her authentic voice. But Ms. Fenty's earned herself several dazzlers for her album's effort; there "Good Girl Gone Bad" will not stand among 2007's best albums, or best R&B albums, for that matter. In truth, it features primarily superficial subject matter, and Rihanna can't manage to fully reign supreme, as sizzling production often muffles her very attempts to reveal her authentic voice. But Ms. Fenty's earned herself several dazzlers for her album's effort; there are actually moments where one can hear something remarkable from the beauty. She's got a long way to go, vocally (JoJo, four years her junior, trumps her) and artistically (she hasn't written or arranged anything herself, and she fails to completely shine in any one producer's direction). Regardless, she's still loveable, and she's still just nineteen. With three albums tucked away, here's hoping Robyn'll rest for a while and enjoy the arena of life, which will have her woodshedding and answering the queries of "Question Existing--" "Who am I living for?" "Is this my limit?" No friggin' way. "Can I endure some more?" To that, I am anxious to hear the answer. Expand
  14. Dave
    Jun 13, 2007
    10
    this album is really good and these types of songs really suit her
  15. AlexiaF
    Jun 18, 2007
    10
    I would have to say its the very best of her 3 albums!! Way to go girl! Don't lidten to "Dem Haters"
  16. Kirby
    Jul 14, 2007
    10
    The best album of this summer. I haven't had this much fun listening to music in quite sometime. So many cool, energetic songs from start to finish. Sell Me Candy has the potential to be the anthem of the summer. Buy this album, trust me you won't regret it.
  17. [Anonymous]
    Jul 15, 2007
    9
    The album is great, and an incredible improvement form the plastic sound of A girl like me. Although the title may sound misleading, the album's name is not an attempt to categories the type of tracks on the album. There is much variation from the banging beats of Umbrella and Please don't stop the music, to the more melodic guitar strumming of Hate that I love you and Good girl The album is great, and an incredible improvement form the plastic sound of A girl like me. Although the title may sound misleading, the album's name is not an attempt to categories the type of tracks on the album. There is much variation from the banging beats of Umbrella and Please don't stop the music, to the more melodic guitar strumming of Hate that I love you and Good girl gone bad. The one downer is the fact that the best songs on the album are left down the end, making the listener underestimate the album. it's possible that a listener could overlook the last three gems on the album, simply because they are disappointed by the first few tracks (minus umbrella). Expand
  18. DamienD
    Jul 19, 2007
    10
    Great, great pop album. Has abit of everything for anyone looking for a fun album.
  19. Shay
    Jul 26, 2007
    9
    By far the catchiest album I've heard this entire year!
  20. Drake
    Aug 2, 2007
    10
    The best R&B album of the year!
  21. ClintM
    Jun 12, 2007
    8
    Absolutely LOVE it. 4 of the first 5 songs are a guaranteed hits! And there plenty of others to keep the party going! I knew Rihanna had it in her to come out w/this album and I must say ... I'm so glad she did!
  22. FábioN
    Jun 15, 2007
    10
    Rhianna is fantastic.
  23. T
    Jun 23, 2007
    8
    I'm really not a fan of most pop music, but the album is quite good, although very calculated. Almost any of the songs except for 1 or 2 could be singles. Rihanna has found her niche, and she is best suited for dance-type tracks rather than ballads such as "Unfaithful". This will be one of the better R&B albums of the year.
  24. JoseL
    Jul 23, 2007
    10
    Awesome all the way through. Good Girl Gone Bad is a winner. I recommend it to anyone.
  25. RuanH
    Aug 12, 2007
    8
    A record packed with hits - ranks among r&b greats such as "Dangerously In Love" and "The Emancipation of Mimi"
  26. Miguel
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    Much, much better than her previous two albums combined! A breath of fresh air from alot of the other R&B/Hip-Pop crap that's out there right now. Truly awesome!
  27. Thompson
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    Cool. That pretty much sums up this amazing album.
  28. AC
    Aug 22, 2007
    9
    Very, very solid album I must say from little miss hottie, Rihanna. "Sell Me Candy", "Push Up On Me", "Rehab", "Good Girl Gone Bad" and "Breakin' Dishes" are to me the standout tracks but all the songs are catchy, no fillers whatsoever. All in all, this is just a wonderful album to listen to. Really upbeat and with lots of great hooks and melodies. I highly recommend it! This is Very, very solid album I must say from little miss hottie, Rihanna. "Sell Me Candy", "Push Up On Me", "Rehab", "Good Girl Gone Bad" and "Breakin' Dishes" are to me the standout tracks but all the songs are catchy, no fillers whatsoever. All in all, this is just a wonderful album to listen to. Really upbeat and with lots of great hooks and melodies. I highly recommend it! This is going to be stuck in your head for weeks, trust me on that! Expand
  29. CassB.
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    I'm not usually into this sort of music, but I heard Umbrella and found myself loving it. So I bought the album and to my surprise everything on it was awesome.
  30. MusicMan
    Mar 11, 2008
    10
    This review, I will say is very, very late. Especially with regards to the best R&B and Pop album of 2007. Rihanna delivers on every single track. There's no need to mention Umbrella, the last year's monster-hit or any of her other smash-up singles that followed (up to Don't Stop The Music) because they all packed a fiery punch, vocally, lyrically and production-wise. All This review, I will say is very, very late. Especially with regards to the best R&B and Pop album of 2007. Rihanna delivers on every single track. There's no need to mention Umbrella, the last year's monster-hit or any of her other smash-up singles that followed (up to Don't Stop The Music) because they all packed a fiery punch, vocally, lyrically and production-wise. All the Timbaland tracks, mainly Sell Me Candy are brilliant and the remainder of the album is exceptional as well. Say It, which is often criticized as a filler and as the worst song on the album actually isn't half as bad as people think it is. Give this Good Girl Gone bad a listen; you're not gonna want her to stop the music. Collapse
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. This CD sounds as if it were scientifically engineered to deliver hits.
  2. Billboard
    60
    Focusing more on catchy hooks and Fergie-style chants than lyrics helps disguise her vocal limitations. [9 Jun 2007]
  3. Rihanna works with edgier and wittier verse than on her two previous albums.