Gossamer

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Jul 24, 2012
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
Buy On
  1. Aug 9, 2012
    80
    It's an extraordinarily consistent pop album.
  2. Aug 8, 2012
    80
    The music shines brighter than most of his pop contemporaries. In fact, the album is so successful on this level that I could choose any given song and laud it as one of the best tracks on the album.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    Jul 27, 2012
    75
    If you can get behind all the cheery falsetto and high-on-life lyrics, their shiny, Flaming Lips-y thing works. [3 Aug 2012, p.74]
  4. Jul 26, 2012
    80
    The end result is an infectious pop album every bit as bright and dreamy as Manners yet far more straight-up, dark, honest and vulnerable.
  5. Jul 26, 2012
    80
    It is a modern pop record to be cherished.
  6. Jul 26, 2012
    80
    Passion Pit finds the perfect balance of being risky while still being lighthearted.
  7. Jul 25, 2012
    80
    Though the environment that birthed the appropriately titled Gossamer may be a bummer, the end product is winningly majestic as it is obviously spun by the most malevolent of spiders.
  8. Jul 25, 2012
    78
    It is both heart-wrenchingly introspective and jubilant.
  9. Jul 24, 2012
    85
    An album that required a painstaking process to complete but sounds infinitely effortless in its pop arrangements and flicked-off soul ruminations.
  10. Jul 24, 2012
    70
    Their second disc is roomier and more varied.
  11. Jul 24, 2012
    91
    Despite the emphasis on struggle, Gossamer couldn't sound more assured.
  12. 80
    One quibble is that Gossamer never really comes down off its Haribo rush, which gets exhausting. That said, when they do ease up, as on the boudoir-funk 'Constant Conversations', it resembles the two-a-penny synthpop that clogs the blogosphere.
  13. Jul 24, 2012
    84
    Passion Pit is only getting better.
  14. Jul 23, 2012
    84
    Anyone can manufacture hope through a slogan, but there's an empathy and humanity that simply can't be faked as Angelakos tries to figure out how to stay atop his life. It's hard to think of a more noble goal for a pop album.
  15. Jul 23, 2012
    70
    "Gossamer" opens up the music and lets it breathe. For all the artificial splendor, there's clearly a very human, very troubled voice at the center of these songs.
  16. Jul 23, 2012
    70
    Gossamer has enough going on musically to shift the focus away from the occasionally mawkish lyrics.
  17. Gossamer is hard to fault, besides the fact that it's more of the same.
  18. Jul 23, 2012
    70
    While this second album seems genuine, and at times very good, it just doesn't excite and satisfy in quite the same way as the spontaneous creativity of the debut. 'Gossamer' is one giant juxtaposition that can't quite sit comfortably.
  19. 70
    Gossamer's X-ray confessionals offer just enough intrigue to ignore its faults.
  20. Jul 23, 2012
    80
    At its best Gossamer is, like its namesake, delicate at first glance but possessed of incredible molecular strength.
  21. Jul 23, 2012
    88
    The onetime bedroom artist now makes first-rate pop anthems, gleaming rocketships of sound that wouldn't sound out of place on the radio next to Rihanna or Nicki Minaj. The tone might seem out of step with the lyrics, but it speaks to a certain resilience.
  22. It has clearly come from a very damaged part of Angelakos' psyche, but Gossamer is a step up in sophistication and songcraft, and one of the year's stronger pop albums.
  23. Jul 20, 2012
    80
    Gossamer is huge, bombastic, and all over the place, spraying synths and outsized choruses like confetti over some deranged future-pop festival.
  24. Jul 19, 2012
    80
    A big moment is the ethereal R&B pastiche Constant Conversations, with Swedish a cappella trio Erato, but there are virtually no duds here.
  25. Uncut
    Jul 19, 2012
    80
    Luckily they are one of the few bands with stadium heft and the tunes to pull it off, rendering their big-heartedness euphorically justified. [Aug 2012, p.78]
  26. Alternative Press
    Jul 19, 2012
    80
    Gossamer is still full of incredibly catchy choruses, dozens of layers of funky instrumental tracks, spazzy electronic flourishes and of course Michael Angelakos' sky-scraping falsetto. [Aug 2012, p.88]
  27. Jul 19, 2012
    80
    While retaining this overactive production style, Angelakos manages to make Gossamer feel more effortlessly human, more like the self-realised artistic vision of an individual than Manners ever came close to being.
  28. Jul 19, 2012
    88
    The revelation in Gossamer is Angelakos's inner voice.
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    Passion Pit's best! This album really rocks! This gotta have to be in the best albums of 2012! Alonh with Lana del rey's Born to Die andPassion Pit's best! This album really rocks! This gotta have to be in the best albums of 2012! Alonh with Lana del rey's Born to Die and Kimbra's Vows! Full Review »
  2. Jul 29, 2012
    3
    For me, this album is very bad. I know that's a bit harsh, but hey, I was just way disappointed. I didn't like the the music behind theFor me, this album is very bad. I know that's a bit harsh, but hey, I was just way disappointed. I didn't like the the music behind the lyrics. What he had to say was very in the now, and I think the lyrics impressed the most about this album, but that is about it. There were too many times I found myself. skipping to the next song and then to the next song. I gave it 3 tries, but in the end it just didn't work for me. Full Review »
  3. Jul 27, 2012
    10
    Superbe album de Passion Pit ! ideal pour partir en vacances c'est frais et joyeux!
    Je le trouve encore meilleur que manners.Un de mes albums
    Superbe album de Passion Pit ! ideal pour partir en vacances c'est frais et joyeux!
    Je le trouve encore meilleur que manners.Un de mes albums preferé de l'année!!!
    Full Review »