• Record Label: Arista
  • Release Date: Jul 26, 2005
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. If there's one thing the R&B phenomenon demonstrates on Grown & Sexy, is that growing up is sexy.
  2. Those who were left disappointed by ['Face2Face'] will probably be happy to have the Face of old back with Grown & Sexy, a back-to-basics album that sounds a lot more natural in comparison.
  3. A pleasing collection of midtempo songs and ballads brushed with, but not obscured by, a contemporary sheen. [30 Jul 2005]
  4. [His] mature eroticism is undone by overwrought production, eventually drowning every track in layers of instrumentation, vocals and other sonic drama. [31 Jul 2005]
  5. 50
    Grown feels more like an extended elevator ride than a true adult movement. [Sep 2005, p.236]
  6. Dragged down by radio-courting melodies and ready-made rhymes, this album's first half is particularly calculated.
  7. It all makes one yearn for the simpler days of mid-'90s R&B.
  8. Like a lot of current pop, he could use a middle ground between thuggishness and sentimentality. [15 Aug 2005]
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. PatrickK
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    I simply love this song, and for me it is one of the best of Babyface that I've ever heard before. Today in the taxi The driver played I simply love this song, and for me it is one of the best of Babyface that I've ever heard before. Today in the taxi The driver played it once and I asked him to play over and over untill I'll get off his car... Full Review »
  2. BethL.
    Mar 18, 2006
    10
    Babyface is the best male R&B songwriter/producer/singer. He is so creative and has the most talent out of anyone in the business. His recent Babyface is the best male R&B songwriter/producer/singer. He is so creative and has the most talent out of anyone in the business. His recent album, Grown and Sexy brings back the R&B that has been missing in this generation. Every song is great, and I never get sick of listening to the album. I could listen to it over and over again. He is a remarkable man and he will continue to succeed with every album he produces. He is irreplaceable and number 1! Full Review »
  3. MarcL
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    This album is one of his best. It's just a shame that most people are too overwrought with recycled beats and only listen to the crap This album is one of his best. It's just a shame that most people are too overwrought with recycled beats and only listen to the crap that MTV tells you to listen to. You want an honest, creative, and love-driven album? Then Grown & Sexy is the album for you. Buy this album, hell...buy it more than once... Full Review »