Happy Hollow

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KennyM
    Sep 5, 2006
    10
    The most lyrically and musically progressive album that has come out in a long time...even if you don't dig the direction cursive has gone in since the ugly organ, you must agree this album is epic, well-written, and important to the advancement of alternative rock...and it has some bitchin' horns.
  2. MitchM
    Sep 5, 2006
    10
    A fun ride the whole way through. Better than Ugly.
  3. Ethan
    Aug 22, 2006
    10
    The first few times i listened i thought the cd was okay but it got better every time i listened. Into the fold is one of the best cursive songs yet/
  4. Jeremy
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    I love how someone will hate hardcore on well written music because they don't like the style chosen. The music is still very very good on this album and every song has a different flavor just like any other album they've written. Get off your pretentious high horses and actually enjoy music when you listen to it...jesus. I have never heard an album like this before. Regardless I love how someone will hate hardcore on well written music because they don't like the style chosen. The music is still very very good on this album and every song has a different flavor just like any other album they've written. Get off your pretentious high horses and actually enjoy music when you listen to it...jesus. I have never heard an album like this before. Regardless if I didn't happen to feel the new sound, I would at least acknowledge that is still way creative, well written, and constructed music...Any fan of cursive should remember the line in the butcher song..."I'm writing songs...to entertain. But these people, they just want pain." Think about that line for a second...they are trying to be a form of entertainment and all people can seem to do is butcher it up and pretend like they know what music is supposed to be...like there is even a clearcut definition of what music is supposed to be even at all... If you can't understand that, then don't bother listening to cursive. You miss the freakin point. Excellent work on the album. Expand
  5. JohnN
    Sep 1, 2006
    9
    Powerful and writhing. An interesting and necessary idealogical attack on America's heartland. Still, I miss Greta's haunting strings.
  6. BenS
    Mar 21, 2007
    9
    The lyrical content on this album left much to be desired; it was angstful to the point that I stopped trying to look for redeeming quality in the lyrics. Still, the musical content (including Kasher's voice usage) was impeccable. It was powerful, the beats were complex and original, the horns were a nice touch, although still not as good as the strings from Ugly Organ, and The lyrical content on this album left much to be desired; it was angstful to the point that I stopped trying to look for redeeming quality in the lyrics. Still, the musical content (including Kasher's voice usage) was impeccable. It was powerful, the beats were complex and original, the horns were a nice touch, although still not as good as the strings from Ugly Organ, and everything blended together well very nicely. If Kasher would've opted to stick to lyrics that make him appear older than 14, I would have given it a 10. Expand
  7. DrewB
    Aug 21, 2006
    10
    under the radar said it best, some bitchin
  8. CodyKiller
    Aug 23, 2006
    9
    When i first read that they added a horn section I shuttered. I then actually go the album threw it on and was amazed on how well the horns were used. I feel the album is stronger that Ugly Organ, and is a great step for them.
  9. Dan
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    The cd is basically a desperate plea for change, on first listen its hard to know if the lyrics have any meaning what so ever, but, on further listening one realizes it is deeply rooted in philosophy, namely labeling god as a crutch in current soceity more than what the idea of god should be, suggesting that humans should strive to reach their greatest potential rather than, strive to The cd is basically a desperate plea for change, on first listen its hard to know if the lyrics have any meaning what so ever, but, on further listening one realizes it is deeply rooted in philosophy, namely labeling god as a crutch in current soceity more than what the idea of god should be, suggesting that humans should strive to reach their greatest potential rather than, strive to adhere to currently inconceivable notions on existance. I love this fucking cd. Expand
  10. Andy
    Aug 25, 2006
    8
    By any other band, this album would be incredible. However, Happy Hollow just doesn't match the perfection of their three previous full lenghts; Storms of Early Summer, Domestica, and Ugly Organ. The music is great but there is a slight fall-off in the lyrical content; the political views set forth I completely agree with, but the execution is a little weak on certain songs.
  11. Lancy
    Aug 26, 2006
    10
    This album takes a few listens to "get." After a couple days of listening to Happy Hollow to and from school and work, I have to say I am totally hooked. As far as the sound is concerned, it's no Ugly Organ. But the lyrics (and I listened carefully to all the lyrics) are amazing; they are smart and biting and focused. It's nice to hear Tim wail about something other than lost This album takes a few listens to "get." After a couple days of listening to Happy Hollow to and from school and work, I have to say I am totally hooked. As far as the sound is concerned, it's no Ugly Organ. But the lyrics (and I listened carefully to all the lyrics) are amazing; they are smart and biting and focused. It's nice to hear Tim wail about something other than lost loves and bar-crawling. Cursive just gets better with each album. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Filter
    84
    [Kasher's] storytelling is still right up there with the very highest of Saddle-sitters. [#21, p.97]
  2. Blender
    80
    Musically, his furiously gear-shifting punk-pop, full of horn blasts and arty production tricks... never fails to rock the sermon. [Aug 2006, p.107]
  3. The painful punning of Bad Sects is just one of the many cringeworthy moments on an album that sees grown men wallowing in a teenage wasteland from which they really should have moved on.