Has Been

Has Been Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 39 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Yes, it 'has been' a long time since the last William Shatner album (and with good reason), but the veteran recording artist returns for this collaboration with Ben Folds. Other guests include Joe Jackson, Aimee Mann and Adrian Belew, but sadly, no Leonard Nimoy.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Somehow, it just might be the pop album of the year.
  2. It may not be an album that's as funny or timeless as The Transformed Man, but Has Been is every bit as bizarre.
  3. For an album I approached ready to shrug off as sheer novelty, its humor and candor give it a fair amount of staying power.
  4. It's that sobering confessional quality that gives the album an unexpected dose of depth and grace.
  5. New Musical Express (NME)
    60
    Listen once, chuckle lightly, rip 'Together,' then run a fucking mile. [9 Oct 2004, p.57]
  6. Q Magazine
    60
    Great non-rap spoken-word albums comprise a list shorter than Wiiliam Shatner's critically acclaimed film roles. Yet [Shatner and Folds] have got closer here than most. [Dec 2004, p.144]
  7. The problem, of course, is that Shatner knows he’s Shatner now. And so does everyone else. It’s the joke that stops being funny after you hear the premise.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Aug 11, 2016
    10
    If there is one album that truly deserves the full-on vinyl treatment in a glorious gate-fold, and Shatner-tastic splatter colored wax, thisIf there is one album that truly deserves the full-on vinyl treatment in a glorious gate-fold, and Shatner-tastic splatter colored wax, this is it! It's a shame that this has not happened yet. The depth of the lyrics, the perfect timing of the delivery, and the guest stars - EXQUISITE! I just keep biding my time, knowing that eventually Jack White or some other visionary (Jello Biafra are you listening?) will pick up the gauntlet and make this happen. Then, all will be right, once again, with the Earth! But seriously, the entire album has such a feeling of life, its experiences and the weight and joy it can bring. Perfectly played. 10 outta 10! Expand
  2. RobertJ
    Aug 15, 2006
    10
    Quite surprisingly, it's a wonderful album.
  3. StephenH
    Jan 16, 2009
    10
    Wonderful, funny and touching -- words that one would not immediately ascribe to Mr. Shatner's on-stage personas, but which apply to the Wonderful, funny and touching -- words that one would not immediately ascribe to Mr. Shatner's on-stage personas, but which apply to the breadth of emotion and talent he has loaned to this album. It moved me. Expand
  4. GC
    Oct 23, 2004
    9
    look, and im as surprised as the next person, this album is actually (dare i say it) - art. it elevates, amuses, moves, and certainly causes look, and im as surprised as the next person, this album is actually (dare i say it) - art. it elevates, amuses, moves, and certainly causes one pause. yes, i said it captain - art. Expand
  5. NateA
    Aug 5, 2006
    9
    A one of a kind experience to say the least, and It's a lot better than it has any right to be. Sure, it's hit and miss at times, A one of a kind experience to say the least, and It's a lot better than it has any right to be. Sure, it's hit and miss at times, but when it hits...brilliant. Common People, Has Been, and I Can't Get Behind That (a hilarious rant-fest w/ Henry Rollins) are worth the price of admission alone. If you're reading this you're obviously interested in this CD...try it, you won't be disappointed. Expand
  6. MatthewP
    Dec 19, 2004
    9
    I really enjoyed it. My wife remarked, "Man, this guy is a romantic, huh?" I've already listened to it more than I though I would.
  7. Jul 4, 2012
    7
    I bought this record after hearing his version of Common People with Joe Jackson. Pulp's original version was always one of my favourite songsI bought this record after hearing his version of Common People with Joe Jackson. Pulp's original version was always one of my favourite songs so I was surprised at how much I enjoyed the version on this record. It's a fantastic opening and really is a whole new reintereptation of the track. The rest of the album is surprisingly good. I never imagined I'd enjoy a William Shatner record but the songs are all pretty clever and the collaborations are really good. That's Me Trying (with Ben Folds), Familiar Love and Together (with Lemonjelly) are the other highlights for me. Listen to it with an open mind and you'll find moments to enjoy. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews