Helplessness Blues

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Helplessness Blues Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 189 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Seattle indie-folk outfit return with the harmonious follow-up to their debut.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Rock, Indie Folk
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. May 4, 2011
    100
    Wide-eyed self-searching is this record's predominant mode, which Fleet Foxes do both lyrically and sonically, reveling in the process of discovery.
  2. May 3, 2011
    93
    No matter who appreciates or appropriates this music, who likes it or where you discover it, it is a testament to its power more than its populism.
  3. May 4, 2011
    90
    For now, Pecknold and his bandmates are important cogs in the indie-music scene - with a few more albums akin to Helplessness Blues under their belts, they may soon fit just as nicely into the canon of American folk music.
  4. Apr 29, 2011
    80
    In between the soul-searching, Fleet Foxes cranks out some pretty great singalong songs. And that's what it's all about, isn't it?
  5. May 3, 2011
    80
    So if there's one thing Helplessness Blues confirms, it's that he and his band are innovative and dynamic, capable of making music that rises above the disposability of the digital age and lasts a good long while.
  6. May 2, 2011
    80
    The result is almost laughably beautiful.
  7. They peddle the same sort of fake-rustic rootsiness that seems to be colonising our era: all these flatpack off-the-peg dreams of Ruritania that iPad-stashing mid-lifes have taken up as a counterpoint to their rabid technophilia.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 63
  2. Negative: 1 out of 63
  1. May 5, 2011
    10
    NME need to throw in the towel, a 7 for Britney Spears, but a 4 for Fleet Foxes? Was this written by some guy who someone keeps locked away inNME need to throw in the towel, a 7 for Britney Spears, but a 4 for Fleet Foxes? Was this written by some guy who someone keeps locked away in a basement somewhere? Perhaps they don't allow him sharp objects, so instead of pencils, he writes his reviews with his own fecal matter? Regardless, Helplessness Blues is an instant classic,it also translates really well live. There really isn't anything else that needs to be said, this album will go down in history. Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    Nearly perfect record ... adventurous and unique, this album will stand the test of time. It doesn't "rock", and there's no Stephen Stills inNearly perfect record ... adventurous and unique, this album will stand the test of time. It doesn't "rock", and there's no Stephen Stills in this band (as they are often compared to CSNY,) but it does something more. It conveys a mood brilliantly and it's parts bring together some of the most gorgeous, honest and original song writing to come along in a long, long time. Expand
  3. May 6, 2011
    10
    It's pretty funny that the only bad review is from NME, who is showing their true biased colors after getting into words with fleet foxesIt's pretty funny that the only bad review is from NME, who is showing their true biased colors after getting into words with fleet foxes after quote mining Robin and trying to make him sound like he said something he didn't. Of course he called the NME out on this on twitter and told them to remove the story. I guess they held that against them in their review. Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2015
    10
    What I have to say has already been said better by others.

    Highlights: This album is wonderful, an amazing expression of emotion. In
    What I have to say has already been said better by others.

    Highlights:
    This album is wonderful, an amazing expression of emotion. In addition, Helplessness Blues (the actual track) is my favorite song ever written. Nothing else hits as close to home and sounds so stunning as it does.

    Nothing else to say - 10/10, easily.
    Expand
  5. May 14, 2011
    9
    At first I was a little unhappy with this album, I wanted it to be more like the first, not that it's vastly different but after I absorbed itAt first I was a little unhappy with this album, I wanted it to be more like the first, not that it's vastly different but after I absorbed it for a little while, I found myself loving every song. There's not many albums I can listen to all the way through (In Rainbows is the only other that comes to mind) without at least one song I don't like so much, and while this album had some weak songs in my mind, overall the entire album is well worth actually paying for and owning forever, much less listening to. Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    A very solid follow up to their fantastic debut. Although it's predecessor had more catchy and instant tunes, this is a more expansive recordA very solid follow up to their fantastic debut. Although it's predecessor had more catchy and instant tunes, this is a more expansive record and retains the folky style you'd associate with the band. It still has plenty of melodies and harmonies going on and is a highly enjoyable effort from the. Very interested to see what these guys do next. Expand
  7. Dec 14, 2011
    2
    oh dear it would help if they wrote actual songs here but instead we' re are mistreated to song treatments, fragments if you will instead ofoh dear it would help if they wrote actual songs here but instead we' re are mistreated to song treatments, fragments if you will instead of the actual thing, all done in the inimitable style of CSN. hey deja vu all over again, it was bad the first time around, it's not getting any better this time. Expand

See all 63 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2011

    The Best Albums of 2011 Image
    Published: December 30, 2011
    We reveal our official list of the best-reviewed albums of 2011. Plus, get links to stream virtually all of our top albums, find out which LPs our users preferred, and see which 2011 releases scored the lowest with critics.
  2. 2011 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2011 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: November 29, 2011
    Between now and January, we'll be collecting top 10 lists published by major music critics, publications, and websites, and tallying their cumulative picks to determine the best albums of 2011. Check back here daily to get an updated scorecard.
  3. May's Best New Music

    May's Best New Music Image
    Published: May 31, 2011
    Find out more about the past month's best albums, which include new works from Fleet Foxes, Raphael Saadiq, and the Beastie Boys. Plus, listen to tracks from each one.