Herd Runners

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Herd Runners Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 7 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length release for Simon Aldred's solo project was mixed with Dan Austin.
Buy On

Top Track

Drinking for Two
A milk lit moon, it floods the room, and lights a path. Right to the door, they sweep the floor, I drain my glass. A night of waiting patiently for... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Mojo
    May 15, 2014
    This a masterful, emphatic stuff, brimful of poignant insights and unforgettable melodies. [Jun 2014, p.92]
  2. Q Magazine
    May 20, 2014
    Herd Runners is ambitious and emotionally enthralling throughout. [Jun 2014, p.106]
  3. Jun 5, 2014
    Herd Runners is another excellent record by a disastrously underrated songwriter who doesn't believe in love, but doesn't get enough of it either. There's only so long he can wait.
  4. 75
    It’s certainly one of his best, and like numerous tracks on the LP, it plays with a glossy melancholia; a dark edge to the lush, string augmented tracks can be found in the lyrics, in these tales of downtrodden souls in pursuit of an elusive salvation.
  5. May 19, 2014
    Aldred is in top form here, and with Elliot's help he's unearthed a music box filled with undeniable loveliness, but the songs are as fleeting as they are lustrous; museum pieces without placards.
  6. Uncut
    May 12, 2014
    Aldred's third album as Cherry Ghost is so unashamed in its embrace of the warm croon, the twinkling keyboard, the swelling orchestra and the poignant chorus that its 10 songs might stretch the patience of anyone who wants some jagged edge in their melancholy MOR classicism. [Jun 2014, p.73]
  7. May 14, 2014
    Hearing one of these songs by chance would be perfectly inoffensive, but listening to an entire album of them just feels like a chore.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of