Honest - Future
Honest Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second full-length studio release for the Atlanta rapper features guest appearances from Andre 3000, Casino, Drake, Pharrell, Pusha T, Kanye West, and Wiz Khalifa.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. 100
    ["I'll Be Yours" and "Move That Dope"] reinforces Future's status as the rap game's current MVP. [2 May 2014, p.63]
  2. Apr 28, 2014
    90
    Honest is transporting in ways that few records are, and no matter how strong the beat selection might be or how perfectly the guest list is curated, credit is due overwhelmingly to Future for being able to sustain and justify such a broad range of moods for the duration of the record.
  3. Apr 22, 2014
    83
    For an A-list rap album, Honest is refreshingly small in scope. It resists grandiose production flourishes, message songs, ambitious themes, run-on suites, and most of the other tropes rappers over-rely on to telegraph importance. Instead it just lets the bangers rip, freeing Future to cruise down his preferred lane unimpeded.
  4. Apr 22, 2014
    80
    Future’s lyrical sensitivity wouldn’t work without the album’s pitch-perfect production.
  5. May 5, 2014
    70
    Future stays true to himself and clearly shows where he stands. Even when he goes simple, there is an appeal, at least somewhere in there.
  6. Apr 23, 2014
    70
    An early contender for this year’s big summer rap album, we won’t be surprised if we are still hearing about Honest when the winter cold returns.
  7. 58
    Honest is a good deal more middle-of-the-pack for a post-Yeezus 2014 than its creator wants to admit.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. May 24, 2014
    10
    One of the best albums to come out in this year, great Beats great lyrics. Nice features all around a really nice album to vibe to at any time of the day. Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2014
    10
    best album all year. every song is a classic. some bangers some soft songs it has it all. and im just being honest. so great man i listen to this album BANGING in my whip. t shirt soty Expand
  3. Apr 22, 2014
    10
    Future really evolves from Pluto and has a great mix of bangers and R&B songs. The songs "I won" and "Benz Friendz" are two of the bet songs this year and really carry the album along with "Honest" and "Move That Dope" Expand
  4. Apr 30, 2014
    8
    I can always appreciate a rapper who pushes the limits of what's acceptable. Old-school rap fans will not like most or all of this album. Honest is, however, unmistakably and refreshingly bold. Future is beginning to perfect his skills. The record is not without weak spots, but the best few tracks propel Honest into the conversation of AOTY (so far) with ScHoolboy Q's "Oxymoron" and Freddie Gibbs & Madlib's "Piñata." There will be more albums like this one in the post-Yeezus rap game. ~ 8.2/10

    Also, "Side Effects" from the deluxe edition is a must-listen.

    1. "Look Ahead": Future's bold and talented. Look ahead, and be ready for the takeover. (5/5)

    2. "T-Shirt": It's intense, but lacking clarity. (3/5)

    3. "Move That Dope" (ft. Pharrell, Pusha T & Casino): Mike Will does it again with a dope beat. Pharrell's and Pusha T's verses were particularly impressive. (4/5)

    4. "My Momma" (ft. Wiz Khalifa): Nice wordplay prevents this from being a big weak spot. (3/5)

    5. "Honest": He addresses accusations that he's lied about his net worth and his lifestyle. I like the switching between auto-tuned Future and his raw vocals. (4/5)

    6. "I Won" (ft. Kanye West): The album really picked up with this track. He and Kanye brag that they won, as they are with Ciara and Kim K, respectively. (5/5)

    7. "Never Satisfied" (ft. Drake): Would've been longer if Drake hadn't asked Future to drop his verse because he didn't like it. (4/5)

    8. "I Be U": He narrates a molly-fueled sexual experience with Ciara. The murmured lyrics augment his storytelling. (4/5)

    9. "Covered N Money": If he actually wants to be "Future Hendrix," he needs to stop making songs like this one. (2/5)

    10. "Special" (ft. Young Scooter): "I took all my problems and I turned it all into hits // I can channel my anger now I can go make me some billions" (5/5)

    11. "Benz Friendz (Whatchutola)" [ft. André 3000]: This is probably the best track on the album, with a big assist from André. (5/5)

    12. "Blood, Sweat, Tears": Future's made it, but not without pain along the way. (5/5)

    13. "Big Rube Speaks": Big Rube's poetry is a nice ending to the album. Future was born to reign. (4/5)
    Expand
  5. Apr 29, 2014
    7
    A little too long and has a bit too much auto-tune. But aside from that, the lyrics, rapping, and production are pretty good. I enjoyed a lot of tracks from this album (Move That Dope, I Won, I Be U, and Side Effects), and will probably be listening to them for quite some time. Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2014
    6
    I found the tracks that preceded (besides the opener) 'I Won' to be slightly underwhelming (especially disappointing with Pharell and Pusha T being present on 'Mope that dope'). However, after the appearance of Kanye West in 'I won', the album definitely picks up with appearance of Drake and Andre 3000 (the latter of which gives a very impressive turn). Future, when by himself, manages to carry some of the tracks, such as 'Blood,sweat,tears', but fails to hold interest and truly show his persona in most of the others. The strangest track of the album would be the closer, (undoubtedly due to Weezy's presence - who gives a serviceable turn)

    My main problem with this album would be its length, at 1 hour and 6 minutes I found it slightly overlong and I would have probably enjoyed it more if 2/3 (or maybe 4) tracks were cut out.

    All in all the weak tracks don't overshadow the great tracks so I would grade this a 7.2.
    Expand
  7. Apr 28, 2014
    0
    A Summary of this album some retarded dude making retard noises into auto-tune over the same recycled beat. This is something that would be used to torture someone. Sad what hiphop music has become. This is soulja boy bad Collapse

See all 12 User Reviews