Honkey Kong - Boots Electric
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. 75
    Honkey Kong retains an essential lightness that keeps the music on the right side of parody.
  2. Oct 27, 2011
    70
    Honkey Kong is the kind of record they used to make––as it recalls the fabulously flawed records of the '70s, whether the New York Dolls, the better Stones records, the Stooges or Nilsson.
  3. Sep 21, 2011
    70
    In addition to proving once and for all that Hughes can stand on his own as a rock & roller, Honkey Kong meets the main requirement of all of the previous albums Hughes has appeared on. It's a rockin' good time.
  4. Sep 20, 2011
    70
    A blend of electronic beats, keyboard-heavy dance grooves and hip-shaking pop underpinned by distorted guitar lines, this is funky and enjoyable stuff.
  5. Sep 20, 2011
    70
    Honkey Kong exhibits Hughes' versatility as a songwriter and performer, but it's at the expense of sonic continuity. [Oct 2011, p.106]
  6. Nov 8, 2011
    60
    Jessie, "The Devil" Hughes merges tub-thumping keyboards, '70s glam stomp and the sense that music making is a bit of a hoot on his solo debut. [Nov. 2011, p. 128]
  7. Oct 4, 2011
    60
    Boots Electric rarely comes off as transcendent, only really succeeding with prior knowledge of Jesse Hughes' image.
  8. Sep 29, 2011
    60
    Its lo-fi, organ-heavy, cheap drum machine-driven jams reveal his ear for fusing classic team-dream rock'n'roll with demented pastiche. [Sept 17 2011, p.51]
  9. Sep 20, 2011
    60
    You can't take it too seriously--if you did you'd find an album riddled with clichés and vulgarities. Just take it as it was intended: 30 minutes of fun from one of the world's most entertaining rock stars.
  10. Sep 20, 2011
    20
    Rock rears its head on "speed demon," but by that point, the riffs are drowned out by the sound of a joke having fatally gone too far. [Oct 2011, p.81]
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    I am just discovering this album and checking the hype about it. Seems there is none or very little. I am surprised - this is hand down my best musical moment in years and most seems to just miss this gem.

    I'd say : take it seriously - I mean musically seriously. I'd say : compare it to Beck if you need too, but don't fail to mention that the songwriting is musically better than nearly everything Beck did. Those notes, those notes !

    It's not as constantly brilliant as EODM debut album (PeaceLoveDeathMetal) but tracks like "Oh Girl" will stay with you forever next to your best Pixies moment. Yes, some tracks have this kind of musical depth.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    For those of you unfamiliar with Jesse Hughes (half of Eagles of Death Metal), here's a candy coated introduction: Honkey Kong is his first solo effort. I can't stop talking about and listening to this record. The 'Drowned in Sound' review here on metacritic is supremely apt (I'm super jealous of Robert Cooke for writing it so perfectly). My favorites include 'Complicated' (a fun 3 minute romp that sets the perfect tone for the record) and 'You'll Be Sorry' (a song so perfect, I wish I wrote it myself). 'Speed Demon' (about cars and sex) might be my new theme song, and 'Boots Electric Theme'. is just raw sex in a song. For me, 'Honkey Kong' is an instant classic. Don't take it too seriously, play it loud, enjoy the grooves and dance your ass off. Well worth the buy and well played Jesse Hughes. Full Review »