Hoodstar

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Sep 19, 2006
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Spin
    60
    The most memorable songs on his third album are decidedly buzz killers. [Oct 2006, p.96]
  2. 50
    Mostly he just sounds bored, a pretty boy tired of being denied his inner turmoil.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    42
    The best production can't hide Hoodstar's lack of imagination. [22 Sep 2006, p.95]
  4. Hoodstar only makes it all the more apparent that the St. Louis MC's overnight popularity was like lightning in a bottle.
  5. Aside from a few catchy club tracks, there is nothing all that exciting about Chingy's third album.
  6. Vibe
    40
    Generally, Chingy is blank, as flat as tap water. [Oct 2006, p.150]
  7. Q Magazine
    40
    The majority of tracks scream "poor old bored celeb." [Nov 2006, p.139]
User Score
2.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 11 out of 16
  1. ashlee
    Dec 20, 2006
    10
    chingy's my #1 fan and all ya hataz coudn't do no betta u juz kno how to be dissin him like ya kno u got it like that. shit chingy's my #1 fan and all ya hataz coudn't do no betta u juz kno how to be dissin him like ya kno u got it like that. shit y'all needa shot yo mouths till u could back it up Full Review »
  2. AlexW
    Nov 8, 2006
    1
    Damn this CD is horrible. I didnt expect him to do this bc i before i liked alot of his music when he was with DTP. This CD just sucks
  3. smellys
    Oct 17, 2006
    2
    HAHA! Young-MC or Hammer would crush this guy!! That's the true rap...that's the stuff that matters.