How to Become Clairvoyant

How to Become Clairvoyant Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The former Band guitarist returns with an album that looks back on his five-decade long career, featuring guests such as Eric Clapton, Steve Winwood, Tom Morello and Trent Reznor.
Buy On

Top Track

When the Night Was Young
With eyes of fire No one can see The smoke from the sweet grass Covers me I am drawn I am drawn to her Like a moth to flame She leads me... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Apr 15, 2011
    The set is an enveloping mix of melody, mood and texture that speaks to Robertson's triple-threat virtues as a performer, composer and producer.
  2. Apr 4, 2011
    How to Become Clairvoyant is Robertson's first record in more than a decade and a return to the ambitious aural cinema and textural explorations of 1987's Robbie Robertson and 1991's Storyville.
  3. 80
    Robertson recruited heavyweights such as Steve Winwood, bassist Pino Palladino and co-producer Marius de Vries to record twelve tracks that wade in soulful atmospheric moods and personal lyrical introspection on this generally inspired comeback.
  4. Apr 5, 2011
    With Peter Wolf and Robert Plant out making records that push the needle in the revered oldster lane, Robertson and his famous friends could easily have taken more names.
  5. Mojo
    May 18, 2011
    Robertson sings each with a parched intimacy that seems unaffected by the passing of time. [May 2011, p.111]
  6. Uncut
    Apr 13, 2011
    Much of the rest, alas, suggests a gift not for clairvoyance but invisibility. [May 2011, p.94]
  7. Q Magazine
    May 31, 2011
    Tasteful and muted, it's one for the connoisseur, not the casual fan. [Jun 2011, p.120]

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Apr 30, 2011
    I can't believe that a month after its release, I'm the first to review this album. I'll simply say this â