Human Conditions

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Human Conditions Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the second solo outing for the former Verve frontman.

Top Track

Check The Meaning
When I'm low, and I'm weak, and I'm lost I don't know who I can trust Paranoia, the destroyer, comes knocking on my door You know the pain drifts to... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    100
    Though elaborately orchestrated, the songs retain their intimacy, communicated in Ashcroft's vocals, which, over the years, keep getting warmer. [7 Mar 2003, p.72]
  2. It is the best of what Ashcroft does best: thoughtful incantations teeming with emotion, clarity, and vision.
  3. Further indulges his penchant for meticulously-crafted songs, exquisite production, and (sometimes painstaking) personal and spiritual introspection.
  4. Ashcroft's mastery of balladry makes "Buy It in Bottles" his best since the Verve's "Lucky Man."
  5. Uncut
    60
    At times he tries too hard, but there's much here to commend. [Nov 2002, p.114]
  6. Human Conditions suggests that Ashcroft has forgotten how to rock, choosing to indulge what appears to be a messiah complex.
  7. Easily 30 minutes too long and four symphony orchestras too many, Human Conditions feels like a soundtrack to Barnum and Bailey, with Ashcroft’s earnest vocals drowned out by a cast of thousands.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. EvyeniaC
    Nov 18, 2002
    10
    I love Richard Ashcorft's new album Human Conditions! I am always amazed how his music and lyrics only get better and better. Thank God I love Richard Ashcorft's new album Human Conditions! I am always amazed how his music and lyrics only get better and better. Thank God for this brilliant musical masterpiece!! I would recommend this to every person I know! Check the meaning is awesome! Collapse
  2. JuanR
    Aug 23, 2003
    9
    Directionless is the complete opposite meaning that goes with this piece of work. I thing that you really have to listen to it to understand Directionless is the complete opposite meaning that goes with this piece of work. I thing that you really have to listen to it to understand and relate to his feelings when writing. I personally like a little bit more the band's albums but I still like this on a lot. If you find his lyrics directionless, I thing the problem is in your miss understanding. Expand
  3. IñakiZ
    May 12, 2006
    9
    Pop Master! Brian Wilson sings on it!
  4. RickG
    Feb 27, 2003
    8
    Listen up, this is the real deal for a change from Richard. As a longtime Verve fan (having all EP's, CD's and even most on Listen up, this is the real deal for a change from Richard. As a longtime Verve fan (having all EP's, CD's and even most on vinyl...), I have to say I was quite surprised by how good this record is. It more on par with what I expect of him and is on par with the last Verve album. While it's no Storm in Heaven (let's be realistic here), it's has moments definately worth checking out, esp if coming from verve-fandom. Standout tracks such as 'Check the Meaning', 'God in the Numbers', and the ethereal 'Running Away' are hard to dismiss as 'crap' if you give them a serious listen. Now if he could only get Nick McCabe involved somehow... Expand
  5. Apr 24, 2012
    7
    Second solo record from the former Verve front man. Not a bad record - it's got some good stuff on it, opening Check the Meaning is a topSecond solo record from the former Verve front man. Not a bad record - it's got some good stuff on it, opening Check the Meaning is a top tune. There are a handful of other decent songs on here. There's also a few slow paced boring numbers that will help any insomniacs out there sleep soundly. Probably his strongest post Verve offering but nothing on here would get close to Urban Hymns. No doubt Ashcroft is a talented song writer but consistency ain't his strong point. Expand
  6. anshumans
    Oct 13, 2003
    7
    well, i had heard alot abt the verve...gotta know abt tem thru bitter sweet symphony.. what a track! well i liked this album at the first well, i had heard alot abt the verve...gotta know abt tem thru bitter sweet symphony.. what a track! well i liked this album at the first listen itself. meaningful lyrics,well balanced music,a good album man!! Expand
  7. LuisArturoV
    Jan 16, 2003
    2
    I guess Mr. ex-Mad Man Ashcroft has really big debts to pay, because the only thing that's heard in this overproduced rubbish, is "I I guess Mr. ex-Mad Man Ashcroft has really big debts to pay, because the only thing that's heard in this overproduced rubbish, is "I need more money, my wife wants a new car"..this album is commercial nonsense .. This record is a shame...the songs take forever to end, the two-voice studio effect wanted to send this cd out like a freezbe..the worst thing thas has come out from ashcroft definitely..dont buy it!!! please richard talk to the shining, they also need help with their vocals...no wonder nick mccabe told you where to go!!! Expand

See all 17 User Reviews