Hurley - Weezer
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 44
  2. Negative: 5 out of 44

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 17, 2010
    10
    I have to say he seldom disappoint. He sounds more like this new band i heard. Though new but they have really pulled it off with some of te greatest music

    http://itunes.apple.com/us/preorder/heartbeats-ep/id388971775
  2. Sep 26, 2010
    9
    Easily their best since "Maladroit". Haven't been able to take it out of the CD player. The songs are very fleshed out, sonically layered, and Rivers has matured as a vocalist.
  3. Sep 14, 2010
    9
    I've been a =w= fan since blue and have bought all of their albums - i honestly believe this to be their best album since Pinkerton. They've have had *lots* of wicked songs, but *no* wicked albums. I can listen to this one front to back without a hitch. I think the lyrics are much better, and although their is only 1 guitar solo (Smart Girls) I still think the instrumentation is good. Rivers definitely let's his vox shine! Next single for me: "Time Flies" - a catchy foot stomper that good friends would love to sing together. Expand
  4. Sep 14, 2010
    9
    For all those Weezer fans hoping to here a shift in the bandâ
  5. Sep 16, 2010
    9
    After last year's Ratitude, Weezer ultimately can claim that Hurley is their best sounding album in recent years with memorable lyrics and an uplifting rock sound Weezer can please fans and newbies alike,
  6. Sep 17, 2010
    9
    Hurley marks Weezer's return to writing solid albums with lyrics that are far superior to any other their last three releases. Hurley, to me, was an album that was good after the first listen but that grew to be a very good album with more spins (or nowadays, "clicks"). Memories, the first single demonstrates that Rivers has more emotion in his vocals foregoing the perfect glassy sheen that auto-tuned voice delivers, but delivers a more human element to the album that was present on Pinkerton and Maladroit. Overall, the album is a concise, short and solid which may lack in obvious singles but stands on the strength of its well constructed, rock songs that makes the whole bigger than the sum of its parts. Expand
  7. Sep 14, 2010
    9
    The best overall Weezer album since Pinkerton except for maybe Maladroit. From start to finish the album is great and unlike Raditude, it has some great lyrics and epic rock. If you were turned off from Weezer because of Raditude definitely give them another chance with Hurley. The deluxe edition is a little disappointing but for a few extra dollars it shouldn't be a problem. This should be the start of a good direction for the band as we're getting Death To False Metal and Pinkerton Deluxe in November. A great time to be a Weezer fan. Expand
  8. Sep 14, 2010
    9
    Probably their best album since 2002's Maladroit (their most underrated record, in my opinion), Hurley gives fans what they wanted... Weezer returns to form with this nice collection of fun and catchy songs...
  9. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    It's taken me 3 years to like Hurley, but I do now. Hurley is Weezer. Since, Weezer has fallen off the map recently, it's refreshing to know they're still out there, as being the best Alternative band of our generation.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Dec 13, 2010
    60
    The "sonically exploratory" nature of Hurley occasionally serves Weezer's boredom threshold better than it does the songs. [Nov 2010, p.103]
  2. Dec 13, 2010
    50
    Eight years ago this might have been a decent debut for a Weezer-rip-off pop-punk band, but now, even at their best, Weezer too often come off now as self-parody.
  3. If there is a compliment to be paid to Hurley, it is that the band refrains from delving into the sort of WTF territory they've explored of late.